ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportHow to query MAX CHANNELS and MAX ACTIVE CHANNELS parameters

Post new topicReply to topic
How to query MAX CHANNELS and MAX ACTIVE CHANNELS parameters View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
trifo
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:30 am Post subject: How to query MAX CHANNELS and MAX ACTIVE CHANNELS parameters Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 25 Mar 2008
Posts: 15

Hi All,

I've been googling around the world to find a way to query MAX CHANNELS and MAX ACTIVE CHANNELS from an MQ instance. Is there an MQSC command which can show them? Or anything else?

I would need them to set monitoring alerts when there are too many connections.

My MQ-s are mostly version 6

Thanks,

--Trifo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 5:46 am Post subject: mq Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8077
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

MQ V6 is long out of support.

Navigate down the MQ file system to your queue manager name directory. You will find the qm.ini file.

This is from https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_7.5.0/com.ibm.mq.con.doc/q015750_.htm

Navigate down the MQ file system to your queue manager directory. For example, on UNIX:

/var/mqm/qmgrs/QMNAME/qm.ini

Quote:
An excerpt of a qm.ini file follows. It specifies that the TCP/IP listener is to listen on port 2500, the maximum number of current channels is to be 200, and the maximum number of active channels is to be 100.

TCP:
Port=2500
CHANNELS:
MaxChannels=200
MaxActiveChannels=100

_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trifo
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 6:43 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 25 Mar 2008
Posts: 15

Thanks.

But config files may not be consistent with the running qmanager. Is there a way to ask this info from the running instance?

--Trifo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rammer
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 6:57 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 357
Location: England

trifo wrote:
Thanks.

But config files may not be consistent with the running qmanager. Is there a way to ask this info from the running instance?

--Trifo


Queue Manager reads the config file when it starts... has your config file changed since Queue Manager was last restarted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 7:35 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8077
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

rammer wrote:
trifo wrote:
Thanks.

But config files may not be consistent with the running qmanager. Is there a way to ask this info from the running instance?

--Trifo


Queue Manager reads the config file when it starts... has your config file changed since Queue Manager was last restarted?

You could examine the last changed date of the .ini file to see if it has been modified since qmgr startup - which is written to the qmgr error log file.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:37 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 775
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

bruce2359 wrote:
rammer wrote:
trifo wrote:
Thanks.

But config files may not be consistent with the running qmanager. Is there a way to ask this info from the running instance?

--Trifo


Queue Manager reads the config file when it starts... has your config file changed since Queue Manager was last restarted?

You could examine the last changed date of the .ini file to see if it has been modified since qmgr startup - which is written to the qmgr error log file.

QMgr start time is also available in DISPLAY QMSTATUS command.
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rammer
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:46 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 357
Location: England

hughson wrote:

QMgr start time is also available in DISPLAY QMSTATUS command.


Was it available in V6? I cant remember that far back
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 10:19 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 775
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

rammer wrote:
hughson wrote:

QMgr start time is also available in DISPLAY QMSTATUS command.


Was it available in V6? I cant remember that far back

Blew the dust off my MQ V6 PDF manuals and found that DISPLAY QMSTATUS is in V6, but that STARTDA and STARTTI are NOT in MQ V6. Doh!
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 8:44 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7431

A chance to campaign for some more votes for one of my RFEs:

http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=66101
Request For Enhancement: Have the Queue Manager produce a read only message showing all the parameters its running with
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportHow to query MAX CHANNELS and MAX ACTIVE CHANNELS parameters
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.