ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexClusteringWhat happens to a auto-defined clussdr chl?

Post new topicReply to topic
What happens to a auto-defined clussdr chl? View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
cra1gl1
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:18 am Post subject: What happens to a auto-defined clussdr chl? Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 25 Apr 2018
Posts: 30

Hello,

I'm playing with MQ clusters with 2 qmgrs.
I created CLUSRCVR on both qmgrs. And then created a CLUSSDR on 1st qmgr. And I noticed a auto-defined CLUSSDR on the 2nd qmgr too. I know this is how MQ clusters work, but what happens to this auto defined CLUSSDR if i define another CLUSSDR manually.
I did try it and noticed only 1 CLUSDR after manually defining it.
My question is, how to tell the diff b/w a manually defined CLUSSDR and auto-defined CLUSSDR?
How do I know if the displayed CLUSSDR is auto-defined instance or the one that I manually defined?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:29 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5899

Read THIS for a very detailed explanation of how to determine the difference...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:30 am Post subject: Re: What happens to a auto-defined clussdr chl? Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2050

Search for: CLUSSDRA and CLUSSDRB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:36 am Post subject: Re: What happens to a auto-defined clussdr chl? Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25126
Location: Ohio, USA

cra1gl1 wrote:
Hello


Hi - still [url=http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=75315&highlight=[/url] working through the MQ docs I see.

cra1gl1 wrote:
I created CLUSRCVR on both qmgrs. And then created a CLUSSDR on 1st qmgr. And I noticed a auto-defined CLUSSDR on the 2nd qmgr too. I know this is how MQ clusters work, but what happens to this auto defined CLUSSDR if i define another CLUSSDR manually.


If it's to the other FR in the cluster, it probably disappears.

cra1gl1 wrote:
I did try it and noticed only 1 CLUSDR after manually defining it.


Told you.

cra1gl1 wrote:
My question is, how to tell the diff b/w a manually defined CLUSSDR and auto-defined CLUSSDR?


Each queue manager in a cluster should have a manually defined CLUSSDR. I think you're asking how you tell if the channel has been automatically defined, and those channels have a different type that you won't see in a cluster with only 2 queue managers (which must of course both be FRs.

cra1gl1 wrote:
How do I know if the displayed CLUSSDR is auto-defined instance or the one that I manually defined?


From the type that's being displayed.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cra1gl1
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:20 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 25 Apr 2018
Posts: 30

Thanks for your replies.

While verifying the cluster objects, i noticed that all the channels(from dis chs(*) conname where(cluster eq cluster1) ) have the ip address in CONNAME field. but I defined all the manual channels with FQDN. (CONNAME('FQDN(PORT)')).

Question is, does the cluster automatically update this ip addresses on the auto-defined chls when any of the qmgr's IP address changes(but the hostname remains same).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:38 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8114
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

cra1gl1 wrote:
i noticed that all the channels(from dis chs(*) conname where(cluster eq cluster1) ) have the ip address in CONNAME field. but I defined all the manual channels with FQDN. (CONNAME('FQDN(PORT)')).

Question is, does the cluster automatically update this ip addresses on the auto-defined chls when any of the qmgr's IP address changes(but the hostname remains same).

This is the usual behavior of channels (cluster and non-cluster) at channel attach time - if you don't specify an ipaddress in the CONNAME field, MQ software will attempt to resolve the name you do specify.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cra1gl1
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:45 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 25 Apr 2018
Posts: 30

bruce2359 wrote:
cra1gl1 wrote:
i noticed that all the channels(from dis chs(*) conname where(cluster eq cluster1) ) have the ip address in CONNAME field. but I defined all the manual channels with FQDN. (CONNAME('FQDN(PORT)')).

Question is, does the cluster automatically update this ip addresses on the auto-defined chls when any of the qmgr's IP address changes(but the hostname remains same).

This is the usual behavior of channels (cluster and non-cluster) at channel attach time - if you don't specify an ipaddress in the CONNAME field, MQ software will attempt to resolve the name you do specify.


cool, thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexClusteringWhat happens to a auto-defined clussdr chl?
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.