ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportHow to Page Data in IIB

Post new topicReply to topic
How to Page Data in IIB View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
EricCox
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:25 am Post subject: How to Page Data in IIB Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 289

Team,

How do I effectively page data in IIB? Say the backend returns 349 records to IIB but we page 100 records at a time to the service consumer. In this case there would be two additional pages of 100 records and a 3rd which returns the 49. How can I get IIB to hold this 349 record set of data in cache and wait for the three additional paging calls?

Thanks,
EMC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:28 am Post subject: Re: How to Page Data in IIB Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25247
Location: Ohio, USA

EricCox wrote:
How can I get IIB to hold this 349 record set of data in cache and wait for the three additional paging calls?



    Shared Variable (poor man's cache)
    Global Cache (clue's in the name)
    eXtreme Scale (rich man's cache)
    Java object in the JVM (evil voodoo witch doctor's cache)
    ....


Pick a method that fits your needs and your coding style
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 2:27 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19758
Location: LI,NY

If those are queried so often, use a DB Cache. Only retrieve from the DB the 100 rows you do need. In the next call retrieve the next 100 with a key greater than the last key of the previous batch... and so on...
Extreme scale may be faster but will be less flexible if the content of the "batch" you retrieve is prone to change.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
EricCox
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 2:37 pm Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 289

I'm with you here. It's not an easy ask in MW plain and simple.

Thanks Vitor and FJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSmith
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:17 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 20 Mar 2008
Posts: 211

fjb_saber has a point
Quote:
if the content of the "batch" you retrieve is prone to change.
, unless you are saying and can guarantee that these result-sets have not been changed then to cache this data would / could be an untrue representation of the data, you would also have to weigh up the performance you really are going to gain from caching over "3" separate requests each detailing the next row of the result-set
_________________
-------- *
Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportHow to Page Data in IIB
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.