Author |
Message
|
KJCB |
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:34 am Post subject: MQ and IIB Character Codification Problem |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Dec 2017 Posts: 26
|
Hi all,
I have a flow that is reading XML messages from an MQ Queue as the entry point of the flow.
I have the following configuration:
- MQ Server has the character set (CCSID) set to 819, which corresponds to ISO- 8859-1 codification that supports Spanish characters.
- My MQInput node has XMLNSC as the Input Message Parser, and the "Convert" checkbox is not selected in the Advanced tab.
When testing the flow in IIB v9 with the "Test Message Flow" option, I'm pasting this XML with a string containing an accent:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
<FullProject>
<Title>Integración</Title>
</FullProject>
When the flow stops after the MQInput node, this is what "Title" element has:
Title:CHARACTER:Integración
Which is the error or configuration problem I am doing?
Thanks for your help |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
timber |
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 25 Aug 2015 Posts: 1292
|
Check the bytes of your input message. What byte value is being sent for the accented character? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KJCB |
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Dec 2017 Posts: 26
|
timber wrote: |
Check the bytes of your input message. What byte value is being sent for the accented character? |
Hi Timber,
Thanks for your answer. How can I check the bytes sent of my message? I'm quite new in the usage of MQInput node in IIB.
Thank you |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Look at the message on the queue.
Ensure your queue browsing tool is not converting the data.
Or unload it to a file with MO71, or qload (dmpmqmsg) and look at the hex. _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KJCB |
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 4:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Dec 2017 Posts: 26
|
zpat wrote: |
Look at the message on the queue.
Ensure your queue browsing tool is not converting the data.
Or unload it to a file with MO71, or qload (dmpmqmsg) and look at the hex. |
Hi,
Right, the message is already bad formatted in the queue. I guess the problem is located then in the "Test Message Flow" utility of IIB.
Am i missing some special configuration regarding character encoding in this utility?
Thanks a lot for your help |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
KJCB wrote: |
Am i missing some special configuration regarding character encoding in this utility? |
IMHO it's more likely the rather simplistic Toolkit function isn't up to the task of testing your flow. Remember it's basically an Eclipse plugin running on Windows.
You might be able to do something changing the settings on the Windows OS, but if I was in your position I'd add a correctly formatted / encoded message to the input queue with qload (or equivalent utility of your choice) and test the flow that way. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KJCB |
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Dec 2017 Posts: 26
|
Vitor wrote: |
KJCB wrote: |
Am i missing some special configuration regarding character encoding in this utility? |
IMHO it's more likely the rather simplistic Toolkit function isn't up to the task of testing your flow. Remember it's basically an Eclipse plugin running on Windows.
You might be able to do something changing the settings on the Windows OS, but if I was in your position I'd add a correctly formatted / encoded message to the input queue with qload (or equivalent utility of your choice) and test the flow that way. |
Hi Vitor,
Yes, you are right, I'll test this feature sending the messages directly to the queue rather than using this Toolkit Functionality.
Thanks a lot |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
KJCB wrote: |
Yes, you are right, I'll test this feature sending the messages directly to the queue rather than using this Toolkit Functionality. |
Don't forget you can still use the Toolkit debugger (urgh) even if you add the message manually.
Also don't forget the debugger is really terrible with CCSID problems (for the same sort of reasons you've found) and a user trace is going to be a better bet for problem solving messages with exotic content. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|