Author |
Message
|
paustin_ours |
Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:10 pm Post subject: html request and response on the same screen |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 667 Location: columbus,oh
|
I have a very simple html page with forms, when i fill in a few fields and click submit, it invokes a web service on my broker. I see the http request come in.
I have a following compute node that only does copy entire message and then a httpreply node.
I am trying to get the http response in the same browser where i submitted the request.
i eventually want to get a http request in, use the form data to form a response and then reply back on the same browser screen.
this link seems a little confusing
https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSMKHH_9.0.0/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/ac20450_.htm
Quote: |
If you design a message flow that includes both an HTTPInput and an HTTPReply node, the identifier value is set into the local environment by the HTTPInput node, but the HTTPReply node does not use it. Therefore, if your message flow includes both HTTP nodes and a Compute node in the same flow, you do not have to include the local environment tree when you specify which components of the message tree are copied from input message to output message by the Compute node (the Compute mode property) |
if it does not look for the request identifier in the local environment variable, should i pass it along some other way?
currently the response is coming back from the flow as a file for me to open in windows a pop comes up asking me to open the file. i can then open in IE and i see the source to be a html block but i am trying to get this to show up on the same screen where i submitted the request.
Last edited by paustin_ours on Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:49 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
timber |
Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 25 Aug 2015 Posts: 1292
|
Quote: |
it says when i use httpinput, compute and http reply all in the same flow i cannot change the incoming data? |
I don't see anything on that page that says that. Please fix up your broken link and then quote the piece of text that you are referring to. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paustin_ours |
Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 667 Location: columbus,oh
|
Wonder if I have to use GET instead of POST |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
paustin_ours wrote: |
Wonder if I have to use GET instead of POST |
No you don't.
I'm with @timber - I don't see anything on that page that says what you seem to think it's saying.
paustin_ours wrote: |
currently the response is coming back from the flow as a file for me to open in windows a pop comes up asking me to open the file |
Then this whole business with the request identifier is a red herring - the flow has correctly identified your session using the identifier and sent the output to you. If it's not being rendered as a page by IE but presented as a file then something in the response you're sending is making IE behave like that. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paustin_ours |
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 667 Location: columbus,oh
|
I feel stupid..had to add the reply header. been out of touch with development for while...thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
paustin_ours wrote: |
I feel stupid..had to add the reply header. been out of touch with development for while...thanks! |
It's happened to us all at one time or another. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|