Author |
Message
|
mq__quest |
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 6:26 am Post subject: switching from bindings to client mode |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 21 Aug 2017 Posts: 49
|
Hello guys,
I'm trying to understand what an application on WAS jvms need to change while switching from bindings mode to client mode in connecting to ibm mq. Appreciate any help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JosephGramig |
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 7:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 Posts: 1244 Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA
|
Here is an article about this topic with an interesting twist.
The dude's shirt is truly outrageous but... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:01 am Post subject: Re: switching from bindings to client mode |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
mq__quest wrote: |
I'm trying to understand what an application on WAS jvms need to change while switching from bindings mode to client mode in connecting to ibm mq. Appreciate any help. |
If not using MDBs you'll need to catch MQRC 2009 and MQRC 2538 errors and deal with them, as explained HERE. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mq__quest |
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 7:48 pm Post subject: Re: switching from bindings to client mode |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 21 Aug 2017 Posts: 49
|
exerk wrote: |
If not using MDBs you'll need to catch MQRC 2009 and MQRC 2538 errors and deal with them, as explained HERE. |
you mean the application guys need to write some code to catch the errors and reconnect to the mq servers automatically ?
Thanks for your time. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:39 am Post subject: Re: switching from bindings to client mode |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
mq__quest wrote: |
you mean the application guys need to write some code to catch the errors and reconnect to the mq servers automatically ? |
That's exactly what I mean.
So, for the MQRC 2009, disconnect, connect and open, and for MQRC 2538, wait a reasonable time, retry connect, and then after n attempts give up or try a different server. Ideally you should use queue manager groups for a client connection anyway (that's a preference of mine, not a hard and fast rule). _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JosephGramig |
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 7:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 Posts: 1244 Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA
|
Queue Manger Groups is what was at the link I posted earlier. It has been around for a very long time but I don't see people use it very much. The auto reconnect thing is interesting but doesn't always work, so you have to code for it anyway. Auto reconnect is not supported by JMS as they expect the connection factory to do that work. Whoever "they" is... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
JosephGramig wrote: |
...The auto reconnect thing is interesting but doesn't always work, so you have to code for it anyway... |
Interesting. Can you qualify that with any examples please? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JosephGramig |
Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 5:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 Posts: 1244 Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA
|
When I build MI Qmgrs on UNIX, I test with the sample programs exactly as outlined in the KC on this topic. Sometimes the switch happens exactly as you would think and sometimes the program just bombs with a 2009. I can repeat the test several times in a row and not get the same results. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|