ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportCCDT clarification

Post new topicReply to topic
CCDT clarification View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
smeunier
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 11:59 am Post subject: CCDT clarification Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 19 Aug 2002
Posts: 268

I will be setting up a F5 LB to front our MQ Servers for connection loadbalancing. I realize that i could just use CCDT's at the application level, but such would rather deal with connection distribution(CCDT) at a singular level.............anyway I digress.

Client connectivity will occur by the MQCONN having a blank MQ Manager name. I have the CCDT channel(s) set up with a ' ' group, one pointing to each of the QMGRS. Two things here:

1) I will have multiple SVRCONN channels pointing to the singular F5 IP address. A unique SVRCONN channel of each application. This means I need a matching CLIENT CONN channel, right?

2) If the above is true, then I can only have one CLNYCONN entry by that name. How do I specify the other QMGRS in the Qmanager Group then? By having multiple connname (qmgr1(1414),qmgr2(1414),qmgr3(1415) )?

if 2 is true, then that would mean that the Load Balancing and Affinity parameters would be the same.

I hope the question is clear. In short, a SVRCONN could relate to multiple CLNTCONN definitions, but if the names need to be the same, how do multiple CLNTCONN definition relating to the same SVRCONN get specified?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 1:17 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19147
Location: LI,NY

Multiple entries in CONNAME should be restricted to multi-instance qmgrs.

If you front your qmgrs with an F5 you will need to have the SAME SVRCONN channel defined on all of the participating qmgrs. Remember that once the connection has been established it needs to stick.

If you use a channel table (CCDT) you need a slightly DIFFERENT SVRCONN definition for each participant. Each participant needs to have a UNIQUE entry in the channel table.

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
exerk
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 2:04 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5653

fjb_saper wrote:
...If you front your qmgrs with an F5 you will need to have the SAME SVRCONN channel defined on all of the participating qmgrs. Remember that once the connection has been established it needs to stick.

If you use a channel table (CCDT) you need a slightly DIFFERENT SVRCONN definition for each participant. Each participant needs to have a UNIQUE entry in the channel table...

And use a symbolic name for the QMNAME attribute value, or blank QMNAME attribute value, in the CLNTCONN.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 5:38 pm Post subject: Re: CCDT clarification Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 680
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

smeunier wrote:
How do I specify the other QMGRS in the Qmanager Group then? By having multiple connname (qmgr1(1414),qmgr2(1414),qmgr3(1415) )?
If you're using a F5 connection balancer, then you won't be putting all the queue manager connames into the the CCDT, you'll be putting the F5 address into the CCDT.

Perhaps what you're missing here is that each queue manager will need to have a listener on the same port - create a new listener for this purpose, leaving the existing ports available for your other channels that already use them.

Then your CCDT entry will look like this:-
Code:
DEFINE CHANNEL(APP1.SVRCONN) CHLTYPE(CLNTCONN) CONNAME('f5-address(common-port-number)') QMNAME('logical-qmgr-name')

and each queue manager will have the same SVRCONN definition thus:-
Code:
DEFINE CHANNEL(APP1.SVRCONN) CHLTYPE(SVRCONN)

smeunier wrote:
then that would mean that the Load Balancing and Affinity parameters would be the same.
That's true. You're using F5 for your load balancing, the CCDT is just providing a place to pick up the channel attributes. If you want to use CCDT load balancing features, don't also use F5 for load balancing. Then you can have three separately named CLNTCONN channels, e.g. APP1.QMn.SVRCONN.

Cheers
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
smeunier
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 6:31 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 19 Aug 2002
Posts: 268

Quote:
If you're using a F5 connection balancer, then you won't be putting all the queue manager connames into the the CCDT, you'll be putting the F5 address into the CCDT.


F5 will be used as a MQ Client Connection Load Balancer. The CCDT, was a F5 configuration element to allow the F5 to monitor MQ heartbeats to insure MQ is alive and well. For this, it needed a CCDT, I assumed which would identify the MQ Servers for it to monitor. The CCDT, was not for clients to connect to the F5, that I was going to leave up to the existing clients methodology, which may be environment variable(MQSERVER) or other application configuration files. This is a lift and shift from a IBM Edge Server Load Balancer to a a F5. For the Edge Server I had written a customer MQ java adviser to handle the heartbeat checks. With F5, it is a part of the package. Thus the CCDT.

The backend MQ servers, both have the same listener ports, and the same SVRCONN channels defined. I think that the CCDT used by F5 would have two entries, one for each server, which could then be used by F5 internally. I'm speculating on this. I meet with the F5 guy later today, which hopefully clarifies this all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
hughson
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 1:12 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 680
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

smeunier wrote:
I meet with the F5 guy later today, which hopefully clarifies this all.
Be interesting to hear the clarification. Never knew F5 made use of a CCDT!
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportCCDT clarification
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.