Author |
Message
|
smeunier |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:53 am Post subject: Very strange MQRC 2540 |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 19 Aug 2002 Posts: 305 Location: Green Mountains of Vermont
|
I have scoured the internet and these forums for this particular issue, but have not come to anything close in similarity.
I have a Linux MQ Client V7.5, trying to connect to my Linux MQ Server V8.0.0.4 using the MQSERVER environment variable. The client gets a 2540 (Channel Unknown), but that is not the issue, well it is, but it isn't.
MQSERVER=API.SVRCONN/TCP/10.42.9.1(1415) is set, but the server reports this error:
AMQ9519: Channel 'MQSERVER=API.SVRCONN' not found.
EXPLANATION:
The requested operation failed because the program could not find a definition
of channel 'MQSERVER=API.SVRCONN'.
ACTION:
Notice that the the channel being reported contains the MQSERVER= in its description. I have tried using a different channel name, with the same results. MQRC 2540, but it reports the MQSERVER= as part of the channel name. Anyone see this before?!?!?! Obviously that is not the channel name I'm supplying. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Use the SET command with no parameters to display env variables, then post results here. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
Use the SET command with no parameters to display env variables, then post results here. |
Code: |
set | find /i "MQServer" |
_________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smeunier |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 19 Aug 2002 Posts: 305 Location: Green Mountains of Vermont
|
Code: |
-sh-3.2$ export "MQSERVER=API.SVRCONN/TCP/10.42.9.1(1415)"
-sh-3.2$ set | find /i "MQServer"
find: /i: No such file or directory
find: MQServer: No such file or directory |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smeunier |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 19 Aug 2002 Posts: 305 Location: Green Mountains of Vermont
|
Issuing the command this way had better results:
Code: |
-sh-3.2$ env | grep -i mqserver
MQSERVER=API.SVRCONN/TCP/10.42.9.1(1415) |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Oh right, you're on unix. That "find /i" is windows, not unix.
On unix, yes, "grep -i".
But I'd write it
Code: |
env|grep -i "mqserver" |
_________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Grep also for other MQ env variables that might be set, like MQCHLTAB. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
smeunier wrote: |
Code: |
export "MQSERVER=API.SVRCONN/TCP/10.42.9.1(1415)" |
|
Shouldn't it be:-
Code: |
export MQSERVER="API.SVRCONN/TCP/10.42.9.1(1415)" |
i.e. you have the quotes in the wrong place?
Cheers
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
hughson wrote: |
i.e. you have the quotes in the wrong place? |
Agree. Some UNIX shells need quotes, some don't, depending on special meaning of ( and ). Ksh needs quotes. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smeunier |
Posted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 19 Aug 2002 Posts: 305 Location: Green Mountains of Vermont
|
Right you are Morag! I completely glazed over the input being enclosed entirely in quotes. It also explains why, when the phrase is parsed, it take it up to the first / as the channel name. Thus, captures the MQSERVER= along with the channel name.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|