ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » How to fill MQServer varibales in VB6

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 How to fill MQServer varibales in VB6 « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
sumangeorge
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 6:43 am    Post subject: How to fill MQServer varibales in VB6 Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 26 Feb 2017
Posts: 2

We are moving IBM Websphere MQ to a different server(VB6 app will be in different server). I need to populate SET Server field. I am using MQAX200.DLL to connect to MQ.

Please let me know how can i connect to different server from vb6.

Below is the code we are currently using to connect to Queue Manager:

With MQAX200.MQQueueManager
'Set the Name of the Queue Manager (or allow to default)
.Name = Form1.strManagerQueueName
.ChannelAutoDefinition.ChannelName = "%CL.SELECTA.SELQMD1"
.ChannelAutoDefinition.ConnectionName = "selmqrhd11"
'Connect to Queue Manager
.Connect
'Get Connect Method Results & Display
mlngConnectionHandle = .ConnectionHandle
'Check Completion Code
If .CompletionCode <> MQCC_OK Then
Form1.txtstreamLog_File.WriteLine Date & " " & Time & " ERROR: Failed to connect to Queue Manager: " & Form1.strManagerQueueName & vbCr & _
"Reason Code: " & .ReasonCode & vbCr & _
"Reason Text: " & .ReasonName
ConnectQueueManager = False
Exit Function
End If
End With 'mconMQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

Be aware:

- VB6 is well out of support
- the ActiveX technology you're using to connect to MQ is out of support
- if as part of this move of MQ is an upgrade of MQ version then either or both of the above points will cause failures

sumangeorge wrote:
I need to populate SET Server field.


No you don't. You're setting the connection properties in the ActiveX control, which will override the MQSERVER variable. Ensure the MQ construct you're pointing at (however that channel is defined) properly references the new queue manager and it's host name/DNS name/IP address.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

And please upgrade your app to VB.NET
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

fjb_saper wrote:
And please upgrade your app to VB.NET


Vitor wrote:
VB6 is well out of support

_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

You don't set these properties in your code.

You set the relevant MQSERVER/MQCLNTCHL properties in the environment that your code runs under.

*IF* Vb6 lets you modify the environment variables inside your code, *then* you can set these in your code.

but again:
fjb_saper wrote:
And please upgrade your app to VB.NET


Vitor wrote:
VB6 is well out of support

_________________
chmod -R ugo-wx /
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » How to fill MQServer varibales in VB6
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.