ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportMQ explorer hangs

Post new topicReply to topic
MQ explorer hangs View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 2:51 am Post subject: MQ explorer hangs Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5417
Location: UK

MQ explorer 7.1.0.7

I find when using MQ explorer with a large list of queue managers (even if none of them are connected), that it hangs a lot.

This has always been a weakness of MQ explorer - but I seem to remember that it helped to increase the JVM maxheapsize or something like that.

Can anyone tell me how to do this for MQ explorer (the one that comes with a full Windows MQ install)?

Any other tips to improve the reliability/performance of MQ explorer would be appreciated.
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 2:59 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6070
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

I can appreciate where you are coming from. At least (in my experience) it is better than the WAS Console.

Sadly, (AFAIK) both are Java/Eclipse based apps and the performance for large data sets is not going to be brilliant.
Going to a web based managmement app is IMHO not the way to go. The dataset has to be stored and worked on somewhere.

(come back MBXExplorer, all is forgiven)
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17182

The issue you describe - a slow down when using an Eclipse workspace with a large number of queue managers is an issue with available memory.

While I can not "recommend" it, nor can I say in any way that it may or may not be supported....

In the MQ Bin folder there is an "MQExplorer.ini" file. You can add something like
Code:
../java/jre/bin
-vmargs
-Xmx512M

or other JVM or eclipse command line options.
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat


Last edited by mqjeff on Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:50 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:24 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5417
Location: UK

Thanks - can you pls change your /cod to /code ...

Ah yes - MQExplorer.ini - that was the place to change it!

Would this be OK?

Code:
-vmargs
-Xmx1024m

_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:51 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17182

zpat wrote:
Thanks - can you pls change your /cod to /code ... [/code]


_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougdrak
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 4:32 pm Post subject: Help me increase the memory to MQExplorer Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Davidson, NC, USA

MQExplorer.ini contains this: What do I add to increase the memory for the tool?

Code:
-startup
plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.1.1.R36x_v20101122_1400.jar
--launcher.library
plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.2.R36x_v20101222
-startup
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\MQExplorer\eclipse\plugins\org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.1.1.R36x_v20101122_1400.jar
--launcher.library
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\MQExplorer\eclipse\plugins\org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.2.R36x_v20101222

_________________
Doug Drake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17182

dougdrak wrote:
MQExplorer.ini contains this: What do I add to increase the memory for the tool?

-startup
plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.1.1.R36x_v20101122_1400.jar
--launcher.library
plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.2.R36x_v20101222
-startup
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\MQExplorer\eclipse\plugins\org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.1.1.R36x_v20101122_1400.jar
--launcher.library
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\MQExplorer\eclipse\plugins\org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.2.R36x_v20101222


mqjeff wrote:
In the MQ Bin folder there is an "MQExplorer.ini" file. You can add something like
Code:
../java/jre/bin
-vmargs
-Xmx512M

or other JVM or eclipse command line options.

As I said, add the above - with 512M or 1024M or 104857600M (not a recommended value ) to the end of MQExplorer.ini

So you would have
Code:
-startup
plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.1.1.R36x_v20101122_1400.jar
--launcher.library
plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.2.R36x_v20101222
-startup
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\MQExplorer\eclipse\plugins\org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.1.1.R36x_v20101122_1400.jar
--launcher.library
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\MQExplorer\eclipse\plugins\org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.2.R36x_v20101222
../java/jre/bin
-vmargs
-Xmx512M

This tells MQExplorer to use the java runtime inside the MQ install, and then tells it to use a maximum of 512M. The more you increase the -Xmx value, the more room MQExplorer has to work with a larger set of objects (qmgrs, queues, etc...)
You have to put this at the end, because the -Xmx is an argument for the java runtime, not for Eclipse...
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat


Last edited by mqjeff on Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:05 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:37 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19093
Location: LI,NY

zpat wrote:
Thanks - can you pls change your /cod to /code ...

Ah yes - MQExplorer.ini - that was the place to change it!

Would this be OK?

Code:
-vmargs
-Xmx1024m


If you want a faster start of the MQExplorer you can set it up like this:
Code:
-vmargs
-Xmn512m
-Xmx1024m

By setting a minimum size of the heap memory you bypass a number of memory allocate calls at startup. It really does speed up startup quite a lot...

And remember -Xms if you need a bigger stack as well...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:50 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1121
Location: Derby City, USA

@mqjeff,

Ya know, my linix install has this:
Code:
-vm
/opt/mqm/java/jre64/jre/bin
-vmargs
-Xmx512M

at the end of the file and I think the "-vm" is significant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 12:08 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19093
Location: LI,NY

JosephGramig wrote:
@mqjeff,

Ya know, my linix install has this:
Code:
-vm
/opt/mqm/java/jre64/jre/bin
-vmargs
-Xmx512M

at the end of the file and I think the "-vm" is significant.

The -vm is not significant in the Heap / Stack respect.
What is more significant is the line following the -vm. It tells the system where to find the executable (java/javaw) to run eclipse with.

As a command line parameter it would look like
Code:
-vm /opt/mqm/java/jre64/bin

On windows the location is relative to the MQ bin64 directory:
Code:
-vm ../java/jre/bin


The .ini file needs the -vm to determine where to find the executable and the
-vmargs to know which arguments to pass to the executable command line...

A good startup value for the heap to allow for a quick load of the MQE would be -Xms128M. Your mileage may vary...


Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
k_usa
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 3:16 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 41
Location: NewJersey

I had the same issue with 7.5 Explorer
The only solution that worked for me is installing WMQ8 Explorer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulClarke
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 9:57 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 17 Nov 2005
Posts: 792
Location: New Zealand

The other solution, if you value your RAM at all, is just not to use Java
_________________
Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportMQ explorer hangs
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.