ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportMQ 7.0.1 to 8 multi stage migration question

Post new topicReply to topic
MQ 7.0.1 to 8 multi stage migration question View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
nosnhoj
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2016 10:24 am Post subject: MQ 7.0.1 to 8 multi stage migration question Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Markham On.

Hi, I currently have version 7.0.1 and V8 co-existing on my server. I want to migrate the queue managers one at a time from V7 to V8.

The actual migration seems simple enough:
o shut the queue manager down
o setmqm -m qmgr -n installation
o start it back up

And that seems to work just fine

My question is regarding the applications, and everything I have read regarding library loading. I have found that for applications local to the server, I need to first run setmqenv -s -k first to make them work. I have not been able to test remote client applications yet - do i need to change anything for them once I migrate a queue manager (keeping in mind there is both V7 and V8 running on the same server)? Typically a client will only connect to 1 queue manager (either V7 or V.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 12:43 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 639
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

If nothing has changed in the client environment, only that the queue manager you are now pointing it at is at a higher level (same IP address and port) then, no, there is nothing you should need to change on the client.

The IBM MQ Client is designed to be able to work with any version above or below it.

There is no need to use setmqenv if you weren't using it before, because the client environment hasn't changed from before and still only has one installation of the MQ Client on it.

Of course, that doesn't mean you shouldn't test it out before rolling into production, but there shouldn't be anything you need to change if the client hasn't changed anything.

Cheers
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
smdavies99
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:01 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6059
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

hughson wrote:


Of course, that doesn't mean you shouldn't test it out before rolling into production, but there shouldn't be anything you need to change if the client hasn't changed anything.


apart from the changes to the Queue Manager that are needed to allow for the different security model. I know that Morag would take them as a given but some people forget that the security model is far more comprehensive in V8 than in V7. but as she says, there should be NO changes needed at the client end.

I can vouch for this are being true. I did a migration from V7.0.0.x to V8.0.0.x last year and the only changes were at the Server end. In fact on this site, I had no access to any of the client system so I could not have made any changes even if I wanted to. (owned and run by 3rd parties).
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nosnhoj
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:22 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Markham On.

Thanks for the responses. I thought as much... just the line in the migration instructions "setmqenv -s -k" that threw me.

Thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportMQ 7.0.1 to 8 multi stage migration question
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.