Author |
Message
|
fbronx |
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 2:28 am Post subject: systemd |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 11 Apr 2007 Posts: 22
|
I'm trying to add a Websphere MQ queuemanager start / stop to systemd on Red Hat 7.
We run WebSphere MQ 7.5.0.5
I've created a mq@.service as follows:
Code: |
[Unit]
Description=Websphere MQ %i
[Service]
Type=forking
User=mqm
Group=mqm
ExecStart=/opt/mqm/bin/strmqm %i
ExecStop=/opt/mqm/bin/endmqm -i %i
KillMode=none
LimitNOFILE=10240
LimitNPROC=4096
TimeoutSec=30
[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
|
I've used this as example: http://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/234702/how-to-start-and-stop-a-listener-service-together-with-a-custom-service
It works when I start / stop a queuemanager on the commandline:
systemctl start mq@PIGEON
but when I reboot the server, I get 'Status not available' when running dspmq for the PIGEON queumanager and I can't use the queuemanager.
systemctl status mq@PIGEON :
Code: |
mq@PIGEON.service - Websphere MQ PIGEON
Loaded: loaded (/etc/systemd/system/mq@.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
Active: active (running) since Fri 2016-02-19 10:53:40 CET; 29min ago
Process: 1040 ExecStart=/opt/mqm/bin/strmqm %i (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
Main PID: 1881 (amqzxma0)
CGroup: /system.slice/system-mq.slice/mq@PIGEON.service
+-1881 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzxma0 -m PIGEON
+-2021 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzfuma -m PIGEON
+-2042 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzmuc0 -m PIGEON
+-2135 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzmur0 -m PIGEON
+-2136 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzmuf0 -m PIGEON
+-8654 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqrrmfa -m PIGEON -t2332800 -s2592000 -p2592000 -g5184000 -c3600
+-8655 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzdmaa -m PIGEON
+-9011 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzmgr0 -m PIGEON
+-9023 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqfqpub -mPIGEON
+-9073 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzlaa0 -mPIGEON -fip0
+-9074 /opt/mqm75/bin/runmqchi -m PIGEON -q SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ -r
+-9076 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqpcsea PIGEON
+-9077 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqfcxba -m PIGEON
+-9081 /opt/mqm75/bin/runmqlsr -r -m PIGEON -t TCP -p 1421
Feb 19 10:53:19 <hostname> systemd[1]: Starting Websphere MQ PIGEON...
Feb 19 10:53:20 <hostname> strmqm[1040]: WebSphere MQ queue manager 'PIGEON' starting.
Feb 19 10:53:20 <hostname> strmqm[1040]: The queue manager is associated with installation 'Installation1'.
Feb 19 10:53:20 <hostname> strmqm[1040]: 5 log records accessed on queue manager 'PIGEON' during the log replay phase.
Feb 19 10:53:20 <hostname> strmqm[1040]: Log replay for queue manager 'PIGEON' complete.
Feb 19 10:53:20 <hostname> strmqm[1040]: Transaction manager state recovered for queue manager 'PIGEON'.
Feb 19 10:53:39 <hostname> strmqm[1040]: WebSphere MQ queue manager 'PIGEON' started using V7.5.0.5.
Feb 19 10:53:40 <hostname> systemd[1]: Started Websphere MQ PIGEON.
|
qmstatus.ini states that the queuemanager is running ...
Any idea what can be wrong? Is systemd supported for WebSphere MQ because I can't find that much information about it ... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 5:33 am Post subject: Re: systemd |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Sounds to me that when you try to use the qmgr after reboot, you are set up for the wrong installation.
Did you source the MQ Environment before issuing the dspmq command?
What is the version of your installation? Is your installation the primary installation?
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fbronx |
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 5:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 11 Apr 2007 Posts: 22
|
This is the output of dspmqver:
Code: |
[mqm75]$ dspmqver
Name: WebSphere MQ
Version: 7.5.0.5
Level: p750-005-150424
BuildType: IKAP - (Production)
Platform: WebSphere MQ for Linux (x86-64 platform)
Mode: 64-bit
O/S: Linux 3.10.0-229.20.1.el7.x86_64
InstName: Installation1
InstDesc:
Primary: Yes
InstPath: /opt/mqm75
DataPath: /var/mqm
MaxCmdLevel: 750
LicenseType: Production
|
After installation we've executed this (there is only one installation):
Code: |
/opt/mqm75/bin/setmqinst -i -p /opt/mqm75
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 6:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Before executing dspmq, on your command prompt source the mq environment:
Note the dot space at the beginning.
You might want to add that to your profile...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fbronx |
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 6:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 11 Apr 2007 Posts: 22
|
No change:
Code: |
[system]$ . setmqenv -s
[system]$ dspmq
QMNAME(PIGEON) STATUS(Status not available)
[system]$
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 7:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Is this an MI queue manager?
can you see the relevant mq processes running? _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 7:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
mqjeff wrote: |
Is this an MI queue manager?
can you see the relevant mq processes running? |
If this is indeed an MI queue manager his exec start and exec stop are all wrong...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fbronx |
Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 10:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 11 Apr 2007 Posts: 22
|
Code: |
$ ps -ef | grep mq
mqm 1906 1 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:02 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzxma0 -m PIGEON
mqm 2092 1906 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:01 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzfuma -m PIGEON
mqm 2103 1906 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:01 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzmuc0 -m PIGEON
mqm 2261 1906 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:04 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzmur0 -m PIGEON
mqm 2262 1906 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:02 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzmuf0 -m PIGEON
mqm 8712 1906 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:00 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqrrmfa -m PIGEON -t2332800 -s2592000 -p2592000 -g5184000 -c3600
mqm 8713 1906 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:00 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzdmaa -m PIGEON
mqm 9028 1906 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:00 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzmgr0 -m PIGEON
mqm 9040 2262 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:01 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqfqpub -mPIGEON
mqm 9083 1906 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:10 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqzlaa0 -mPIGEON -fip0
mqm 9084 9028 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:01 /opt/mqm75/bin/runmqchi -m PIGEON -q SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ -r
mqm 9087 9028 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:01 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqpcsea PIGEON
mqm 9088 9040 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:00 /opt/mqm75/bin/amqfcxba -m PIGEON
mqm 9090 9028 0 Feb19 ? 00:00:00 /opt/mqm75/bin/runmqlsr -r -m PIGEON -t TCP -p 1421
|
And qmstatus.ini has CurrentStatus=Running |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
What userId are you using after system restart to work with the queue manager?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fbronx |
Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 11 Apr 2007 Posts: 22
|
I'm using my admin user. We use Centrify here ... Could this be the problem? Although it's weird that it works when I start/stop the service manually. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
fbronx wrote: |
I'm using my admin user. We use Centrify here ... Could this be the problem? Although it's weird that it works when I start/stop the service manually. |
When you do it from the service, please make sure of the following points:
Before issuing the strmqm command or endmqm command make sure that the environment is set by sourcing it. Typically this type of setup does not carry the same environment as when you login...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fbronx |
Posted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 11 Apr 2007 Posts: 22
|
When I'm using this script in ExecStart, it still doesn't work on reboot ...
Code: |
#!/bin/sh
whoami
. setmqenv -p /opt/mqm75 -l
/opt/mqm75/bin/strmqm $1 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 5:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
fbronx wrote: |
When I'm using this script in ExecStart, it still doesn't work on reboot ...
Code: |
#!/bin/sh
whoami
. setmqenv -p /opt/mqm75 -l
/opt/mqm75/bin/strmqm $1 |
|
And what is the error?
have you tried
Code: |
#!/bin/sh
. /opt/mqm75/bin/setmqenv -p /opt/mqm75
|
Nothing tells me that the path to setmqenv would be known in the shell trying to execute it...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
arthurbarr |
Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 9:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 04 Feb 2016 Posts: 4
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NickSz |
Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:06 am Post subject: systemd and multi instance mq |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 26 Jul 2008 Posts: 12 Location: Zurich
|
Hello all,
i followed Arthur's post on developerworks to put up a templated systemd script for starting and stopping mq and it works well.
I then raised a PMR for same issue with multi-instance but it was denied as it is something that does not need to be provided by IBM.
Then i tryied to request a RFE but it was already denied because it does not belongs to MQ
Now i'm asking myself if really nobody is using multi-instance mq on modern linux with systemd?
T. Rob describes it very interesting but also disapointing:
https://t-rob.net/2017/10/22/mq-startstop-woes/
Do i really have to spend many nights until i achieve something fairly robust?
Do you have any hints?
Thanks
Nicolaie _________________ best regards
Nicolaie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|