Author |
Message
|
deecee |
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 11:58 am Post subject: ODBC on Linux with IIB 9 |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Sep 2014 Posts: 51
|
Hello,
I am trying to connect to Oracle using ODBC on IIB9.0 on Linux.
I have set all the environment variables.
I have filled in odbc.ini and odbcinst.ini correctly.
I have run mqsicvp -n <datasource> - u <username -p <pwd> and it runs successfully and connects to the database.
mqsicvp <broker> runs succesfully
Yet, when I run my flow, it throws child sql exception im002.
I have run out of ideas to debug this issue. Can someone please give some inputs.
Is there a separate file to fill up the system DSN or would odbc.ini suffice? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 12:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
well, the child sql exception should mean that it has actually connected to the database.
So, maybe, troubleshoot the full exception and look at the bip code and a usertrace and all the rest of normal troubleshooting. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deecee |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 6:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Sep 2014 Posts: 51
|
Hi mqjeff,
I did usertrace and I get the following error.
Quote: |
DatabaseException BIP2347E: Database error: SQL State ''IM002''; Native Error Code '0'; Error Text 'System information file not found. Please check the ODBCINI and the ODBCSYSINI environment variables are correctly set.' |
As mqsicvp is working correctly for me, I do not know why the flow isn't working.
Do I need to make any changes in the mqsiprofile file? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
maurito |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 6:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 17 Apr 2014 Posts: 358
|
deecee wrote: |
Hi mqjeff,
I did usertrace and I get the following error.
Quote: |
DatabaseException BIP2347E: Database error: SQL State ''IM002''; Native Error Code '0'; Error Text 'System information file not found. Please check the ODBCINI and the ODBCSYSINI environment variables are correctly set.' |
As mqsicvp is working correctly for me, I do not know why the flow isn't working.
Do I need to make any changes in the mqsiprofile file? |
No. What does the error message say ?
Check the ODBCINI , does it have an ODBC stanza ? are the values the correct ones ?
is the OSBCSYSINI pointing to the right place ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 6:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
deecee wrote: |
As mqsicvp is working correctly for me, I do not know why the flow isn't working. |
What happens when you issue:
mqsicvp <brokername> -n <data source>
Are you issuing this from the same command shell that broker is running in?
What are the values of ODBCINI and ODBCSYSINI in that shell? Not what you think they're set to, what does the shell actually say that they are?
deecee wrote: |
Do I need to make any changes in the mqsiprofile file? |
Maybe, but it's not likely if mqsicvp is working. It's much more likely that your flow isn't running in the right shell. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deecee |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 7:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Sep 2014 Posts: 51
|
when i do the printenv command, these are my values:
ODBCSYSINI=/var/mqsi/odbc
ODBCINI=/var/mqsi/odbc/odbc.ini
IE02_PATH=/opt/ibm/IE02/2.0.1
when i run mqsicvp, this is my output
Quote: |
mqsicvp BDPBRKQLX01 -n CORNERSTONE
BIP8290I: Verification passed for the ODBC environment.
BIP8270I: Connected to Datasource 'CORNERSTONE' as user 'ITS'. The datasource platform is 'Oracle', version '11.02.0000 Oracle 11.2.0.4.0'.
|
The odbc.ini is filled correctly and so is the ODBC stanza in both odbc.ini and odbcsys.ini
The broker is running in the same shell.
I also use sudo -u mqm to run mqsicvp, is it possible for it to be a broker access issue? Do I need to check anything here? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 7:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
deecee wrote: |
The broker is running in the same shell.
I also use sudo -u mqm to run mqsicvp, is it possible for it to be a broker access issue? |
So you're saying that you have your broker running as the mqm user? Even if this is not the cause of this problem, it's not a best practice as it's like to cause some problems.
Also if your broker is not running as mqm then it's not running in the same shell as you're running the msicvp command, the test is valueless, and you probably have a typo somewhere.
Also as a general hint, you should never edit mqsiprofile but should put ODBC paths in the .profile; when you apply a fix pack mqsiprofile will be overwritten by the new IBM supplied one and your changes will be lost & need to be reapplied. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 8:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Is there a way to run the broker as an id other than mqm, when using multi-instance broker (i.e. when it runs as a MQ service)?
Because I agree that it would be unwise to use mqm. _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 9:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
zpat wrote: |
Is there a way to run the broker as an id other than mqm, when using multi-instance broker (i.e. when it runs as a MQ service)?
Because I agree that it would be unwise to use mqm. |
Yes there is. From memory it is much like you do on Windows.
- Setup an account with mqm and mqbrkrs membership
- create the broker specifying that user account/password in the mqsicreatebroker command _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deecee |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 9:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Sep 2014 Posts: 51
|
Vitor,
You're right, the broker is running under a different userID iibusr.
How do I make this user access my mqm commands.?
Other than adding iibusr into the mqm group, what else do I need to do? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
deecee wrote: |
You're right, the broker is running under a different userID iibusr. |
Then check to see if mqsicvp still shows that data source working under that user. If not (as I suspect) then fix it.
deecee wrote: |
How do I make this user access my mqm commands.?
Other than adding iibusr into the mqm group, what else do I need to do? |
Nothing. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deecee |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 12:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Sep 2014 Posts: 51
|
iibusr is a part of mqm
Quote: |
uid=503(iibusr) gid=506(mqbrkrs) groups=506(mqbrkrs),505(mqm)
|
And also I am able to run mqsicvp with this user.
But still the error persists. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 12:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
deecee wrote: |
iibusr is a part of mqm
Code: |
uid=503(iibusr) gid=506(mqbrkrs) groups=506(mqbrkrs),505(mqm)
|
|
This is what you get for using "iibusr" rather than the traditional "mqbrkrs" (!)
deecee wrote: |
And also I am able to run mqsicvp with this user. |
So you can:
Code: |
sudo su - iibusr
mqsicvp <broker name> -n <data source name>
|
and it works fine? With the same error text? And while sudo'd to that user, printenv shows the environment variables set? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deecee |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Sep 2014 Posts: 51
|
yes, i logged in as iibusr
Quote: |
[iibusr@luspb2bsiqan03 ~]$ mqsicvp -n CORNERSTONE -u ITS -p Qits65a
BIP8290I: Verification passed for the ODBC environment.
BIP8270I: Connected to Datasource 'CORNERSTONE' as user 'ITS'. The datasource pl atform is 'Oracle', version '11.02.0000 Oracle 11.2.0.4.0'.
|
It's all getting connected. What now? :/ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
deecee wrote: |
yes, i logged in as iibusr
Quote: |
[iibusr@luspb2bsiqan03 ~]$ mqsicvp -n CORNERSTONE -u ITS -p Qits65a
BIP8290I: Verification passed for the ODBC environment.
BIP8270I: Connected to Datasource 'CORNERSTONE' as user 'ITS'. The datasource pl atform is 'Oracle', version '11.02.0000 Oracle 11.2.0.4.0'.
|
It's all getting connected. What now? :/ |
Deploy as iibuser?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|