Author |
Message
|
orman |
Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 10:34 pm Post subject: Git repo and IIB projects |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 Posts: 40
|
Hello guys
Lately we decided to change our version control from SVN to GIT
We learned how to work with egit in toolkit and it works well
Now the last think we have to deal with it is the repository exchange
We got some choices
1. One big repo that includes all the project, flow, lib, MS(we have like 200 projects abd this number increase every day)
2. Make it sperate by content world and reference, what mean some of repo will have have broken reference by it self so need the other repositorys
3. Make repo for every project of flow, MS, and lib - it is an option but can that us to he'll with a lot of repository
But maybe if we were using Applications it was a better choice
*we can't make the exchange by eg because the flows cross eg
**Working with broker development is different from an applicative development because in broker we deploy some resource and not all the system besides application that deploy all of it's code
So what is your opinion? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu May 28, 2015 5:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Your repository unit should match your versioning unit...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
orman |
Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 12:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 Posts: 40
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
Your repository unit should match your versioning unit...  |
hi , thanks.
well, I see us using this method because every install at Prod is quite different and including other projects
any other suggestions guys ? ^^ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 1:36 pm Post subject: Re: Git repo and IIB projects |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
orman wrote: |
**Working with broker development is different from an applicative development because in broker we deploy some resource and not all the system besides application that deploy all of it's code
|
So where is the soucre contol system for that 'other' stuff?
If it is in SVN or another type of repo, what haven't you considered moving it into GIT?
If it isn held in SVN, GIT etc then ask yourself why not and what happend when that fileshare/PC on someone's desk/other non backed up location goes belly-up?
{rant on}
You have dependencies that are outside your source control system. Therefor you might as well not even bother with SVN let alone GIT because your weakest link somewhere in the company (or even outside who knows) and .... {censored}
{rant off} _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 4:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Even in versions of Broker that support Applications (I don't know about v10, but I doubt this has changed), you have to share individual Eclipse projects in source control. You can't share the Application itself. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
orman |
Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 Posts: 40
|
ok I give a little example
Those are my projects:
project_a
project_b (ref to project_a)
project_c (ref to project_a)
project1_a
project1_b (ref to project1_a)
project1_c (ref to project1_a)
project1_c (ref to project_a)
let say we separate it into 2 repos (method #2) there are some cross references
so think that we got more projects and references
so if we do it like this we just have to decide what includes very repo |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 4:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Are you expecting systems/bar files to need different versions of each set of projects?
Or are you expecting them to always need the same versions?
You also don't need more than one repository - merely more than one git project. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
orman |
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 Posts: 40
|
mqjeff wrote: |
Are you expecting systems/bar files to need different versions of each set of projects?
Or are you expecting them to always need the same versions?
You also don't need more than one repository - merely more than one git project. |
I think one repo is too big ..
About the common projects
at runtime EG can contain flows of some repos ..
but in control version I maintain just one copy in one repo
what means if I deploy project at run-time it affects all the other project in other repos .. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|