Author |
Message
|
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:31 am Post subject: IIB9 Console Logger |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
Is there a way to enable logging on the input and outputs in IIB9 without having to add Trace nodes?
I would like to capture the InputRoot and OutputRoot on specific nodes preferably in a console log (which i dont think exists in IIB9). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
You mean, like the ability to Record and Replay messages? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
mqjeff wrote: |
You mean, like the ability to Record and Replay messages? |
Sort of, not exactly.
Basically I need a way to print the OutputRoot simply to a stdout (e.g. console) logger for inspection. No need to record it or replay it back. I can use Trace nodes but adding these everywhere pollutes the design of the message flows.
This gets me wondering, does IIB9 have a stdout logging feature at all?
Once again this is something I had when using other integration frameworks and ESBs like Apache Camel / ServiceMix, so I'm trying to find an equivalent tool in IIB9. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
IIB does have console output.
It doesn't, and really won't, include message content.
The right way to do this is record/replay.
or you could write your own handler/interceptor for Monitoring events that dumps data to a dumb, poorly searchable unsortable file. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
sleepyjamie wrote: |
This gets me wondering, does IIB9 have a stdout logging feature at all? |
Not the way you mean.
sleepyjamie wrote: |
Once again this is something I had when using other integration frameworks and ESBs like Apache Camel / ServiceMix, so I'm trying to find an equivalent tool in IIB9. |
How do your audit / data security people feel about message content being dumped in the clear to a plain text file?
How do your storage people feel about the size of file this sort of thing yields? What's the archiving strategy? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqjeff wrote: |
you could write your own handler/interceptor for Monitoring events that dumps data to a dumb, poorly searchable unsortable file. |
This is the fastest and easiest way to produce a huge text file full of sensitive data. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
Vitor wrote: |
sleepyjamie wrote: |
This gets me wondering, does IIB9 have a stdout logging feature at all? |
Not the way you mean.
sleepyjamie wrote: |
Once again this is something I had when using other integration frameworks and ESBs like Apache Camel / ServiceMix, so I'm trying to find an equivalent tool in IIB9. |
How do your audit / data security people feel about message content being dumped in the clear to a plain text file?
How do your storage people feel about the size of file this sort of thing yields? What's the archiving strategy? |
This is simply for development purposes only. I'm not trying to enable this in a production environment.
Being a software developer I've always had the ability to spit information out to a console logger during development. Which in some cases it is the most primitive and easiest way to perform debugging. I am just trying to find an equivalent option in IIB9.
Jamie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
sleepyjamie wrote: |
I am just trying to find an equivalent option in IIB9. |
Trace Nodes.
Or User Trace. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
akil |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 27 May 2014 Posts: 338 Location: Mumbai
|
I think there are just 2 options :
1. Trace nodes :
2. Trace : if you see the mapping node, you can see the element traversal, and may not need to see the full Root ..
I've seen the mention of Log4J in the forum, but never tried it .
R&R is really an overkill for development, and for HTTP, there's no replay too.. _________________ Regards |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
thanks!
i'll keep using trace nodes for now as it seems the simplest option. just makes the message flows ugly and difficult to separate logic between dev and prod. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
sleepyjamie wrote: |
thanks!
i'll keep using trace nodes for now as it seems the simplest option. just makes the message flows ugly and difficult to separate logic between dev and prod. |
You can configure prod to turn off trace nodes. So they basically execute as no-ops. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
mqjeff wrote: |
sleepyjamie wrote: |
thanks!
i'll keep using trace nodes for now as it seems the simplest option. just makes the message flows ugly and difficult to separate logic between dev and prod. |
You can configure prod to turn off trace nodes. So they basically execute as no-ops. |
even better. thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ruimadaleno |
Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 08 May 2014 Posts: 274
|
Using a monitoring profile you can force message flows to "throw" the outputroot to the record and replay infrastructure (a database) that you can search (using SQL). Pay attention to the potencial growth of the record and replay tables (you can have a database job cleaning the tables periodically)
If you go for trace node please check, at execution group level, what is the default config for trace nodes. Is it enabled by default ? if so , be careful, your system log (check you environment) can quickly became full. _________________ Best regards
Rui Madaleno |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|