ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » WMB Headless Build with projects in sub folders

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 WMB Headless Build with projects in sub folders « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
gareth.trott
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 8:58 am    Post subject: WMB Headless Build with projects in sub folders Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 26 Mar 2015
Posts: 1

Hello All,

I have been trying to setup an automated build for WMB using Jenkins and Ant with GitHub as a source repository. I am coming to this with a mature code base that has a few quirks, specifically the Git repository has related WMB projects stored in sub-folders. e.g.

Code:
c:\Workspace
          |_  .metadata
          |_  projects
                    |_  project1
                              |_  .project
                              |_  project1.msgflow
                              |_  etc
                    |_  project2
                              |_  .project
                              |_  project2.msgflow
                              |_  etc
          |_  common
                    |_ common1
                              |_  .project
                              |_  common1.msgflow
                              |_  etc
                    |_  etc
          |_  etc

This is something that I have inherited an due to the size of the code base may not be something that can change easily.

The problem that I have is that the mqsicreatebar command can not find any of the projects because the project folders are not in the root of the workspace. The toolkit gets round this by importing the projects but the build server that I have been given is Linux and does not have a GUI installed. As a result I can not start the toolkit to create the workspace and import the projects.

I have been able to write an Ant script within a test workspace that can import projects using the built in eclipse ant tasks. However I can only get this to work by setting the ant build to run with the Toolkit JRE. I have found no way to make this work externally i.e. called from Jenkins. Once the projects are imported the mqsicreatebar script works without issue.

I realise that moving projects around in my repository is a way to sort this out but I was hoping I could minimise the amount of change required.

Hopefully someone out there has had some experience with getting internal eclipse ant tasks to work externally. Any help would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

You don't actually need to create a workspace. mqsicreatebar will do that for you...

You just need to do something to arrange all of the project folders you want in a single directory. Perhaps something using ln -s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mapa
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 09 Aug 2001
Posts: 257
Location: Malmö, Sweden

When we build with jenkins the build job copies all required wmb-projects into a single directory where the build command runs. Then running the mqsicreatebar in that directory, hence the "-data ." in the example below.

(We use Groovyscript with AntBuilder exec tasks on Windows)

Code:

mqsicreatebar -skipWSErrorCheck -data . -b barFileName.bar -p projectDependency1 messageSetProject1 projectToBuild -o projectToBuild\message1FlowToBuild.msgflow projectToBuild\message2FlowToBuild.msgflow \messageSetProject1\messageSetName\messageSet.mset


If I remember correctly we had problems when using "-data /somepath/workspacedir"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » WMB Headless Build with projects in sub folders
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.