ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Can not start channel

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Can not start channel « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Gideon
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:18 am    Post subject: Can not start channel Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 403

I am using WMQ 8 for the first time. I installed it and created a
new queue manager (inelegantly named QM), and tried to connect
the MQ Explorer in non-secure mode (will get to the secure
mode once the non-secure mode is done).

I start the QM and the listener, and try to connect, and I get the
following error:

Code:
Access not permitted.  You are not authorized to perform this operation. (AMQ4036)
Severity 10 (Warning)
Explanation:  The queue manager security mechanism has indicated that the userid associated with this request is not authorized to access the object


I had never gotten this particular error before, but I make sure the
firewall is down. I check to make sure the listener is running, all seems
well, so I do what I rarely do, and check the status of the channel

I get the following:

Code:
    -bash-4.1$ runmqsc QM
    5724-H72 (C) Copyright IBM Corp. 1994, 2014.
    Starting MQSC for queue manager QM.


    display chstatus(system.admin.svrconn)
         1 : display chstatus(system.admin.svrconn)
    AMQ8420: Channel Status not found.


OK, the channel is not active, so I try to start it

Code:
    start channel(system.admin.svrconn)
         2 : start channel(system.admin.svrconn)
    AMQ8018: Start WebSphere MQ channel accepted.


The channel seems happy, so I check the status again

Code:
    display chstatus(system.admin.svrconn)
         3 : display chstatus(system.admin.svrconn)
    AMQ8420: Channel Status not found.


All is not well, so I look at the channel definition

Code:
    display channel(system.admin.svrconn)
         4 : display channel(system.admin.svrconn)
    AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
       CHANNEL(SYSTEM.ADMIN.SVRCONN)           CHLTYPE(SVRCONN)
       ALTDATE(2014-10-07)                     ALTTIME(16.23.27)
       CERTLABL( )                             COMPHDR(NONE)
       COMPMSG(NONE)                           DESCR( )
       DISCINT(0)                              HBINT(300)
       KAINT(AUTO)                             MAXINST(999999999)
       MAXINSTC(999999999)                     MAXMSGL(4194304)
       MCAUSER(mqm)                            MONCHL(QMGR)
       RCVDATA( )                              RCVEXIT( )
       SCYDATA( )                              SCYEXIT( )
       SENDDATA( )                             SENDEXIT( )
       SHARECNV(10)                            SSLCAUTH(REQUIRED)
       SSLCIPH( )                              SSLPEER( )
       TRPTYPE(TCP)


While I am not a great expert, this seems acceptable, so I look
at the CHLAUTH

Code:
DISPLAY QMGR CHLAUTH
     5 : DISPLAY QMGR CHLAUTH
AMQ8408: Display Queue Manager details.
   QMNAME(QM)                              CHLAUTH(DISABLED)



and it is happily disabled, exactly what I wanted

I look at the AMQ???.LOG, but do not see anything

The following thread suggested setting the DISCINT value

http://mqseries.net/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=26981&sid=70316e45fbeef51f94b92a8277e9eb72

... BUT the DISCINT is set to 0, so the channel should run indefinitely

How can I further investigate this issue?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

SVRCONN channels don't start on their own. They only start when a client application tries to connect to them.

Try running amqsputc in another shell, and give it the right information to use the channel.

Then leave it running and check the chlstatus again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

A SVRCONN channel become active when a client-bindings app connects to it.

So, what issue are you facing?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gideon
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 403

I define a queue from runmqsc

Code:
    define qlocal(TEST)
         3 : define qlocal(TEST)
    AMQ8006: WebSphere MQ queue created.


Then I try to amqsput to it

Code:
    su - mqm
    -bash-4.1$ cd /opt/mqm/samp/bin/
    -bash-4.1$ ./amqsput TEST QM
    Sample AMQSPUT0 start
    target queue is TEST
    hellow world

    Sample AMQSPUT0 end


However, the channel still can not be started

(I do not understand why a server side amqsput would activate a channel, I have done this before and never had to amqsput to get a MQ Explorer connection)

bruce2359: To answer your question, the issue I am trying to resolve is that I can not connect
to the QM from a remote Windows Explorer, where I get the following error:

Code:
    Access not permitted.  You are not authorized to perform this operation. (AMQ4036)
    Severity 10 (Warning)
    Explanation:  The queue manager security mechanism has indicated that the userid associated with this request is not authorized to access the object


Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

The channel is only started as long as amqsputC is running.

Note that you ran amqsput, and you quit it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tczielke
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guardian

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 941
Location: Illinois, USA

If a new queue manager was created at v8, Gideon could be being blocked by the default CONNAUTH rules. If my memory serves me correctly from Morag's session at MQTC, the default is REQUIRED for remote connections and OPTIONAL for local bindings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

tczielke wrote:
If a new queue manager was created at v8, Gideon could be being blocked by the default CONNAUTH rules. If my memory serves me correctly from Morag's session at MQTC, the default is REQUIRED for remote connections and OPTIONAL for local bindings.


Indeed there is no indication that the OP ever tried to authenticate the connection. This would effectively prevent him from connecting to the queue manager.

However I believe the default is REQUIRED FOR ADMIN.
I would say that the OP tried to connect as a priviledged user...


_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
tczielke
PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guardian

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 941
Location: Illinois, USA

fjb_saper wrote:
However I believe the default is REQUIRED FOR ADMIN.


I looked at the default settings for CHCKCLNT on a new v8 queue manager, and you are correct.

dis qmgr connauth
CONNAUTH(SYSTEM.DEFAULT.AUTHINFO.IDPWOS)

dis authinfo('SYSTEM.DEFAULT.AUTHINFO.IDPWOS') all
AUTHINFO(SYSTEM.DEFAULT.AUTHINFO.IDPWOS)
AUTHTYPE(IDPWOS) ADOPTCTX(NO)
DESCR( ) CHCKCLNT(REQDADM)
CHCKLOCL(OPTIONAL) FAILDLAY(1)
ALTDATE(2014-10-09) ALTTIME(08.05.04)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gideon
PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 403

I used the following command

define authinfo('SYSTEM.DEFAULT.AUTHINFO.IDPWOS') AUTHTYPE(IDPWOS) CHCKCLNT(OPTIONAL) replace

and then restarted the QM

Now I can successfully connect in from MQExplorer

Thanks for everyone's help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Gideon wrote:
I used the following command

define authinfo('SYSTEM.DEFAULT.AUTHINFO.IDPWOS') AUTHTYPE(IDPWOS) CHCKCLNT(OPTIONAL) replace

and then restarted the QM

Now I can successfully connect in from MQExplorer

Thanks for everyone's help

Gideon, I would not change this SYSTEM object.
Just define an new authinfo object in the user name space and set the qmgr's conninfo pointer to it...

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Can not start channel
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.