|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
MQCB to Browse messages ? |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
yasaboy |
Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 10:06 pm Post subject: MQCB to Browse messages ? |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 23 Jun 2014 Posts: 90
|
Hi,
Can we use the MQCB function to browse and display messages rather than getting them from the queue.
MQCB :
Code: |
MQCB(Hcon, MQOP_REGISTER, &cbd, Hobj, &md, &gmo, &CompCode, &Reason);
|
Is there any latency related improvement in browse than get ? Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PaulClarke |
Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 11:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 1002 Location: New Zealand
|
Yes you can use MQCB to browse a message.
In terms of latency I would expect browse and get to be very similar. To improve latency, over a client anyway, ensure that read-ahead is enabled.
Cheers,
Paul. _________________ Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
yasaboy |
Posted: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 23 Jun 2014 Posts: 90
|
@PaulClarke thank you for the reply. We tried using MQOO_READ_AHEAD as a output option and anyway it didn't give any significant amount of improvement. Anyway it is between 150-160 microseconds per message in read-ahead , browse and get options.
Code: |
O_options = MQOO_INPUT_AS_Q_DEF |MQOO_READ_AHEAD| MQOO_FAIL_IF_QUIESCING; |
I'm curious to know why you say there is no significant effect in browse and get functions ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PaulClarke |
Posted: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 1002 Location: New Zealand
|
MOO_READ_AHEAD is an open option, not an output option. And it does make a very significant difference over a client. So, either you have always had it on or, for some reason, you are not allowing it because of client version/threading etc.
I'm curious to know why you think there would be a significant difference in the browse and get functions. Clearly I would expect get to be slow since it has more work to do but I would expect the latency over a client to be determined by the round-trip time which should be about the same.
Cheers,
Paul. _________________ Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|