Author |
Message
|
yalmasri |
Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 6:52 am Post subject: Varying load on cluster members without CLWLWGHT |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 18 Jun 2008 Posts: 110
|
All the applications we have are OK with the default round-robin clustering algorithm except one, which needs special handling. Is there away to control traffic for this application only? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
What does this one app want? _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
yalmasri |
Posted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 5:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 18 Jun 2008 Posts: 110
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
What does this one app want? |
A client of ours have a mesh of applications distributed across a couple of servers under a cluster. The indicated app is contending with other apps on certain resource available in unknown pattern per machine, so in some machines you may see abundance of this resource and it's scarce on others.
What I want to do is just varying the message load arriving to our app in a way that's proportional to the availability of that resource (the resource availability can be interrogated). Changing channel weight will not do, because it's only this application we need to manage load on not all applications in the node. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
yalmasri |
Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 11:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 18 Jun 2008 Posts: 110
|
Is this a bad time of the year to ask? No thoughts? Message groups? Split cluster XmitQ? CCDT? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 3:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
have you thought about setting the queue to put inhibited with a monitoring tool when the resource is low? And again put enable them once the resource becomes available again.  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 3:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Does the indicated app with this mysterious resource issue have its own clustered queues?
If yes, consider looking at the AMQSCLM program that ships with MQ.
http://www-01.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSFKSJ_7.5.0/com.ibm.mq.dev.doc/q024620_.htm
You can modify it to check the availability of this resource instead of the Input Count of a cluster queue which is does by default.
If you can meet your requirements by checking the q depth versus the mysterious resource you may have an easier time implementing this and it will be easier to understand for the MQ Admins that have to support it. After all, if the resource is getting low but the rate of messages arriving is low or zero, and thus the input queue is staying at zero, why alter anything?
Or you could write your own cluster workload exit that inspects each message and alters the workload distribution as you see fit, but that's a serious undertaking with a high probability of your QM going Boom! if you don't know what you are doing with Exits (like 99% of us). _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 3:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
fjb_saper's response came while I was typing. His is a simpler solution which should work just fine.
You could use AMQSCLM as well in this scenario to reroute messages from the queue you inhibit if the lack of this resource makes it so messages may be stranded on the queue if they were delivered there before you stopped routing messages to that one queue. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
yalmasri |
Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 18 Jun 2008 Posts: 110
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
Does the indicated app with this mysterious resource issue have its own clustered queues?
If yes, consider looking at the AMQSCLM program that ships with MQ.
|
I thought I could play with some built-in feature, but seems after all we have to revert to an external help like the program you mentioned.
I finally decided to implement some logic internal to the consuming application where upon low resource, resubmission of some messages will occur, skipping the local queue of course.
Thanks anyway. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|