Author |
Message
|
Empeterson |
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 7:27 am Post subject: Question about how WMQI interacts with MQ... |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 14 Apr 2003 Posts: 125 Location: Foxboro, MA
|
When I deploy a message flow to a broker, does the broker detect all queues that the flow might use and open them all and keep them open for as long as the flow is started? Or does it just keep the input queue open and do a PUT1 to any output queue's? _________________ IBM Certified Specialist: MQSeries
IBM Certified Specalist: Websphere MQ Integrator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 8:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
It does on open on the Input Queues when deployed, and on the Output Queue the first time it is used. It then appears to leave the Output Queue open.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
inder |
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 24 Mar 2003 Posts: 49 Location: USA
|
for the output queue it does a PUT1 but for the input queue the broker keeps the connection open even if you stop the message flow after successfully deploying it.
regards
Inder |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 10:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
inder wrote: |
for the output queue it does a PUT1 but for the input queue the broker keeps the connection open even if you stop the message flow after successfully deploying it.
|
I believe MQOutput node calls MQPUT not MQPUT1. _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 10:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
kirani wrote: |
inder wrote: |
for the output queue it does a PUT1 but for the input queue the broker keeps the connection open even if you stop the message flow after successfully deploying it.
|
I believe MQOutput node calls MQPUT not MQPUT1. |
The output queue is definately open between invocations, as reflected in the Open Output Count, as EddieA said.
I've never bothered to trace the call itself, but it's not an MQPUT1. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Empeterson |
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2003 7:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 14 Apr 2003 Posts: 125 Location: Foxboro, MA
|
When it does the open, does it specify BIND_ON_OPEN, BIND_NOT_FIXED, or does it use the default as defined on the queue? _________________ IBM Certified Specialist: MQSeries
IBM Certified Specalist: Websphere MQ Integrator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2003 7:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Empeterson wrote: |
When it does the open, does it specify BIND_ON_OPEN, BIND_NOT_FIXED, or does it use the default as defined on the queue? |
From the current Introduction and Planning guide
Quote: |
For message flow output queues:
WebSphere MQ Integrator Broker always specifies
MQOO_BIND_AS_Q_DEF when it opens a queue for output. If you
expect segmented messages to be put to an output queue, or want a
series of messages to be handled by the same process, you must specify
DEFBIND(OPEN) when you define that queue. This ensures that all
segments of a single message, or all messages within a sequence, are put
to the same target queue and are processed by the same instance of the
receiving application.
If you create your own output nodes, you are recommended to specify
MQOO_BIND_AS_Q_DEF when you open the output queue, and
DEFBIND(OPEN) when you define the queue, if you need to guarantee
message order, or ensure a single target for segmented messages. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Empeterson |
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2003 11:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 14 Apr 2003 Posts: 125 Location: Foxboro, MA
|
Thank you. I probably should read those manuals more in depth.
Ok, that being said, is there any way to load balance groups of messages going out in WMQI? Since it appears that once a message goes through the flow and the flow opens up the queue, it never seems to close the queue until you either stop the flow (and it doesnt even appear to close the queue then), or remove the flow from the broker, therefore all messages will be put to the same instance of the queue. _________________ IBM Certified Specialist: MQSeries
IBM Certified Specalist: Websphere MQ Integrator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Empeterson |
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 14 Apr 2003 Posts: 125 Location: Foxboro, MA
|
I should elaborate on that. If you create the queue's to have a default bind of ON_OPEN, then all your messages will go to the same instance of the queue anyway, therefore negating the effect of clustering, and if you specify a default bind of NOT_FIXED, then all your messages will round robin and you will have one message in a group go to one instance, and another message in the same group going to another instance, which isnt good. Is there anyway around this? _________________ IBM Certified Specialist: MQSeries
IBM Certified Specalist: Websphere MQ Integrator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Sat Jul 26, 2003 7:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
If I'm understanding your question correctly, you have 'Groups' of messages coming into a single instance of WMQI, that you may, or may not, use 'All Mesages Available'. But you want the ability to bind each 'Group' to a single output Queue Manager in a Cluster, but 'Round Robin' across different Queue Managers, in the same Cluster, for different groups.
The only way I can think that you could do that is by keeping track of the 'Groups' and the avaialable Queues/Queue Managers in an external database and then use Destination Lists in the Output Node. Bottom line, extremely messy, and a nightmare to administer.
You can't do it using 'standard' WMQI.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|