ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » File Read Node record number update

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 File Read Node record number update « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
dogorsy
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 13 Mar 2013
Posts: 553
Location: Home Office

dogorsy wrote:
mqjeff wrote:
It's recommended practice to construct loops in good ways.

You can't just say "don't use loops". that's like saying "Don't use integers".


or even: "use loops with integer counters, but do not increment them"


Anyway, it is all academic, as the OP has not bothered to answer. I am sure you all know how to code a loop to exercise a file read node and retrieve all records, not so sure about the raiser.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
visasimbu
PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 1:44 pm    Post subject: Re: File Read Node record number update Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 06 Nov 2009
Posts: 171

Apologies for late reply!

I am not using a loop to get the records.

I have file read node which will read a file by chunk. It means reading (chunk by chunk)5MB of bytes from 250MB of file. By setting below properties in file read node

Under Records and Elements.
Record detection : Fixed lenght
Lenght : 5242880

There is no loop to fetch each 5MB data. It will automatically fetches next 5MB of data once the previews 5MB got processed in the file.

Actually for FileInput Node , we have below properties which will intimate whether the record is first record

Code:
IF InputLocalEnvironment.File.Record = 1
 THEN
   SET OutputRoot.XMLNSC.Dept.(XMLNSC.Attribute)Date = CURRENT_DATE;
END IF;


So, I am checking any property from fileRead node will intimate the record is first record.
But I could not find any property like that.
So I have resolved it by declaring and incrementing a integer (in compute node2) by manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
kash3338
PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:52 pm    Post subject: Re: File Read Node record number update Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 08 Feb 2009
Posts: 709
Location: Chennai, India

visasimbu wrote:
There is no loop to fetch each 5MB data. It will automatically fetches next 5MB of data once the previews 5MB got processed in the file.


How do you achieve this in FileRead node with out loop's? AFAIK FileRead node reads only one record and using the property "Record Selection Expression" you can specify which record you want to read from the file. By default, this property is set to true which will give you the first record always and hence the value of "LocalEnvironment.File.Read.RecordNumber" is always "1" for you.

But still I dont think it is possible to read all the records from the file by the way you have mentioned unless you use a loop in the flow (say for example a PROPAGATE before the FileRead node).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
visasimbu
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:26 am    Post subject: Re: File Read Node record number update Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 06 Nov 2009
Posts: 171

kash3338 wrote:

But still I dont think it is possible to read all the records from the file by the way you have mentioned unless you use a loop in the flow (say for example a PROPAGATE before the FileRead node).


Kashyap,
I have achived it by below steps.

Properties of file Read node -> Records and Elements -> Record Detection->Fixed Length.
Lenght-> NoOfBytes. (No of bytes I like to read as a record).

Hence it will read the data by bytes as a record without any loop in the flow. We can achieve same in the fileInput node as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:38 am    Post subject: Re: File Read Node record number update Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

visasimbu wrote:
kash3338 wrote:

But still I dont think it is possible to read all the records from the file by the way you have mentioned unless you use a loop in the flow (say for example a PROPAGATE before the FileRead node).


Kashyap,
I have achived it by below steps.

Properties of file Read node -> Records and Elements -> Record Detection->Fixed Length.
Lenght-> NoOfBytes. (No of bytes I like to read as a record).

Hence it will read the data by bytes as a record without any loop in the flow. We can achieve same in the fileInput node as well.


That reads a single record, or more accurately a single block of bytes.

It does not read more than one block of bytes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dogorsy
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:24 pm    Post subject: Re: File Read Node record number update Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 13 Mar 2013
Posts: 553
Location: Home Office

visasimbu wrote:

I have achived it by below steps.

Properties of file Read node -> Records and Elements -> Record Detection->Fixed Length.
Lenght-> NoOfBytes. (No of bytes I like to read as a record).

Hence it will read the data by bytes as a record without any loop in the flow. We can achieve same in the fileInput node as well.


So you are only getting one chunk of data, with the length NoOfBytes, YOU ARE NOT READING ALL THE RECORDS, and that is why I was asking how did you manage to read all the records.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paustin_ours
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 667
Location: columbus,oh

Fileread only reads one record. In my case i am using a loop in a preceding compute node to propagate to get consecutive records from file and sending each record out as an individual output.

you guys have mentioned that there is an alternative to looping? Can you pls shed some light on that? Can't think of any other way besides looping.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
dogorsy
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 13 Mar 2013
Posts: 553
Location: Home Office

paustin_ours wrote:
Fileread only reads one record.

are you sure ?!
Quote:

you guys have mentioned that there is an alternative to looping?

A good alternative would be to read the fileRead node parameters and possible values.


Last edited by dogorsy on Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paustin_ours
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 667
Location: columbus,oh

Yes I am sure. And forgive me, not sure what you are trying to say in your
Second statement. I am splitting a file into individual records using fileread
. This I am doing through a loop and propagate. Wanted to see if there was a
Better way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
dogorsy
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 13 Mar 2013
Posts: 553
Location: Home Office

paustin_ours wrote:
Yes I am sure.

well, you are wrong
Quote:


And forgive me, not sure what you are trying to say in your Second statement.

I am trying to say the the fileRead node is documented in the infocentre. If you read the properties, you will find there is one that gives you alternatives on how to read a file. As to whether there is a better way, that is for you to decide, depending on file size, format, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paustin_ours
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 667
Location: columbus,oh

well i don't think i am wrong. I have tested it. When i set the fileread to look for a record that is delimited, It finds it and send it to the output. It doesnt go back and send me consecutive records it finds and outputs them as well until the end of the file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
paustin_ours
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 667
Location: columbus,oh

I also looked at the infocenter and there is no setting that would allow that. I hope you know what you are talking about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
dogorsy
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 13 Mar 2013
Posts: 553
Location: Home Office

paustin_ours wrote:
I also looked at the infocenter and there is no setting that would allow that. I hope you know what you are talking about.

Yes, I know what I am talking about. If you set the right parameter, you can read the whole file, which means what you said before
Quote:

Fileread only reads one record

is wrong, and YOU don't know what you are talking about. You control how to read the file by setting different options, so, go back and read again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paustin_ours
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 667
Location: columbus,oh

I suggest you read the question asked before jumping in with useless comments and answers. I wasn't even asking about reading the whole file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
dogorsy
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 13 Mar 2013
Posts: 553
Location: Home Office

paustin_ours wrote:
I suggest you read the question asked before jumping in with useless comments and answers. I wasn't even asking about reading the whole file.


you asked for alternatives, and you said the fileRead node reads one record at a time, WHICH IS WRONG, only if you configure it that way.
So before telling me about useless comments, please learn to express yourself in English, not only ignorant but also arrogant you are.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Page 2 of 3

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » File Read Node record number update
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.