Author |
Message
|
ksrini |
Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 11:06 pm Post subject: Wild Card search using correlation Id |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Dec 2013 Posts: 3
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 1:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Seems to me you need to stop doing selective reading:
Quote: |
For output links only, you can use an asterisk (*) as a wildcard character to represent contiguous characters if you set Use wildcard to Yes.
You can use only one wildcard character per property value. If you use more than one wildcard character, only the first usage is interpreted as a wildcard. All subsequent usages are interpreted as actual values, not as wildcard values. |
 _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ksrini |
Posted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 2:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Dec 2013 Posts: 3
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
Seems to me you need to stop doing selective reading:
Quote: |
For output links only, you can use an asterisk (*) as a wildcard character to represent contiguous characters if you set Use wildcard to Yes.
You can use only one wildcard character per property value. If you use more than one wildcard character, only the first usage is interpreted as a wildcard. All subsequent usages are interpreted as actual values, not as wildcard values. |
 |
Is there any other way to pick messages selectively other than this option? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 7:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
ksrini wrote: |
fjb_saper wrote: |
Seems to me you need to stop doing selective reading:
Quote: |
For output links only, you can use an asterisk (*) as a wildcard character to represent contiguous characters if you set Use wildcard to Yes.
You can use only one wildcard character per property value. If you use more than one wildcard character, only the first usage is interpreted as a wildcard. All subsequent usages are interpreted as actual values, not as wildcard values. |
 |
Is there any other way to pick messages selectively other than this option? |
Output only means you cannot pick a message selectively using this option!
What you should do is read back the correl info after the put and then apply the exact info for reading.
If you need to read / select with partial info, I believe you can do that using JMS Selectors.... be aware however that there is a severe performance penalty attached to picking the messages with partial correlid vs full correlid....
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ksrini |
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 10:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Dec 2013 Posts: 3
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
ksrini wrote: |
fjb_saper wrote: |
Seems to me you need to stop doing selective reading:
Quote: |
For output links only, you can use an asterisk (*) as a wildcard character to represent contiguous characters if you set Use wildcard to Yes.
You can use only one wildcard character per property value. If you use more than one wildcard character, only the first usage is interpreted as a wildcard. All subsequent usages are interpreted as actual values, not as wildcard values. |
 |
Is there any other way to pick messages selectively other than this option? |
Output only means you cannot pick a message selectively using this option!
What you should do is read back the correl info after the put and then apply the exact info for reading.
If you need to read / select with partial info, I believe you can do that using JMS Selectors.... be aware however that there is a severe performance penalty attached to picking the messages with partial correlid vs full correlid....
Have fun  |
I tried posting message with MQ Java API, assigning correlation id value say "UAT_12345". I read the message with MQ JMS classes by giving JMS selector as "JMSCORRELATIONID LIKE 'ID:554154%'. Its picking the message now.
554154 - Hex of string "UAT"
I will check for performance impact as well. Thanks for your response. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
ksrini wrote: |
I will check for performance impact as well. Thanks for your response. |
Make sure you load the queue up with a few hundred dummy messages, then your real message. Then do the performance test to see how long it takes before your app receives the message it wants using this method. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Make sure you consider the security implications of putting messages for a UAT environment into the same queue as messages for a SIT environment. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|