Author |
Message
|
satya2481 |
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 9:08 pm Post subject: Tandem Message Parsing |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 170 Location: Bengaluru
|
Hi All,
We have to create a message definition which can be used to parse message sent from Tandem application. However we are not able to recognise the message itself sent from Tandem.
Can someone give some basic information on how to interpret message format for Tandem applications. Which Physical format is best suited for modelling the message set - CWF or TDS.
Any other information which is useful to read Tandem message is of helpful.
Regards
Satya |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
you really need to provide a whole lot more detail of your message in order for people like Kimbert to help you make you choice between CWF & TDS.
What are you doing to try to recognise the messages coming from the Tandem System?
What transport are you using to receive the messages?
I'd start with the CCSID of the message. Again some bits of the message posted here would really help.
As a general point, we really do struggle to help if you ask specific questions that require detailed answers if you don't supply any detail to back up your question
If I were to meet you in the street and see a piece of string poking out of your pocket and asked,
"How long is that piece of string?
Until you pull the whole piece of string from your pocket, neither of us would know for certain. Share the data with us and you will get a better class of answer. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dogorsy |
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 13 Mar 2013 Posts: 553 Location: Home Office
|
If you are in WMB 8 or higher, use DFDL. If you are not, it is a good time to migrate.
Quote: |
Can someone give some basic information on how to interpret message format for Tandem applications |
The sending application should know the format of the message and should tell you. If they don't, then your guess is as good as anyone else's |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kimbert |
Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 12:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 5542 Location: Southampton
|
Please post some ( small ) example messages, with an explanation of how the data needs to be parsed. _________________ Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way you're a mile away, and you have their shoes too. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Tibor |
Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 12:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 20 May 2001 Posts: 1033 Location: Hungary
|
There is no such a thing "Tandem message format". There are some typical programming languages on Tandem (TAL, COBOL), but you should grab a proper message definition - as it was said by others. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
satya2481 |
Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 9:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 170 Location: Bengaluru
|
First of all thank you all for your replies....
1. Yes, agree that there is no "Tandem Message Format"...
2. I am not authorized to share the sample message here. I don't know how to manipulate the data in a correct way in order to post here. But I will try ho best I can explain.
3. We are using WMB V7.0.4
4. We are using MQ Protocol to read the message - MQ Input Node
5. We have asked to share a sample message in a Queue, but the application is not yet ready it seems.
I agree with all of you that I have not provided enough information here. I was under an impression that someone will help like if I ask "How to create message set for CobolCopy Book".
Ofcourse I will try to provide some more details...If I get the details...
Regards
Satish |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 9:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
You create a message from a cobol copybook by creating a message definition from the cobol copy book and then writing broker transformation code to populate a logical message tree using the message definition. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 9:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
satya2481 wrote: |
I was under an impression that someone will help like if I ask "How to create message set for CobolCopy Book". |
We will, and are likely to reply with "use the create a message set from a Cobol Copy Book feature built into the Toolkit", as that designed specifically for the task you describe.
We might also point out that this link is the second hit you get if you type "How to create message set for CobolCopy Book" into the InfoCenter search feature so you could have answered your own question there rather than posting here & waiting for us. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kimbert |
Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 5542 Location: Southampton
|
Quote: |
I agree with all of you that I have not provided enough information here. I was under an impression that someone will help like if I ask "How to create message set for CobolCopy Book". |
I think mqjeff and Vitor have assumed that your format is a COBOL format. Is that true, or were you just using that question as an example?
In your first post, you said:
Quote: |
However we are not able to recognise the message itself sent from Tandem. |
What exactly did you try, and what happened? _________________ Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way you're a mile away, and you have their shoes too. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
satya2481 |
Posted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 12:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 170 Location: Bengaluru
|
Hi All,
We are able to proceed with this issue. We agree a common format between the application and Message broker in order to represent the Data format. So we decided to create Copy book and share it with the aplication team. We have received Sign off from the team, and going ahead to create the definition from Copybook.
Below I have mentioned a field defined in CopyBook about which we were not sure. Here COMP means Computation data type (came to know from Application team, as they guided us on how to define the data types).
TransactionIDLength PIC S9(9) COMP VALUE 477.
When a real testing happens we may encounter issues, but our development is progressing.
If anyone would like to bring more points here can share the information. Which will be definitely helpful during integration testing.
Regards
Satya _________________ IBM Certified Solution Developer WebSphere Message Broker V6.0
IBM Certified System Administrator WebSphere MQ V6.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
satya2481 wrote: |
Below I have mentioned a field defined in CopyBook about which we were not sure. Here COMP means Computation data type (came to know from Application team, as they guided us on how to define the data types).
TransactionIDLength PIC S9(9) COMP VALUE 477. |
If you've got a copybook, why are you defining the data types? Why not get the Toolkit to do it for you, which is very sure on what a COMP COBOL type is & how it differs from (for example a COMP-3)?
IBM have put a lot of time into the COBOL copybook importer, and you're paying a lot of money for the license to use it. It does seem slightly redundant to be defining types yourselves. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
satya2481 |
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 170 Location: Bengaluru
|
Victor,
Copybook is not provided by the Service consumer. Instead we have discussed with the team and created the Copybook then shared with the consumer application team to get Sign-off.
Now we have created the message definition based on the agreed Copybook. However application is not ready with the MQ interface.
We tried to capture the message from Consumer application in a notepad and used to test it using Rfhutil tool. As expected its not getting parsed, I am expecting it is due to CCSID and Encoding.
We are trying to identify how to test the message flow.
Will keep you all posted. Meantime if any hints or clues will be of great help.
Regards
Satya |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
satya2481 wrote: |
We tried to capture the message from Consumer application in a notepad and used to test it using Rfhutil tool. As expected its not getting parsed, I am expecting it is due to CCSID and Encoding. |
Given that you've put it through 2 tools, one of which will corrupt embedded binary data, and your grasp of CCSID is so poor you can't even spell my name correctly I'd guess you're right.  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
satya2481 |
Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 170 Location: Bengaluru
|
Hey, Sorry Vitor.. This time spelled it correctly
We are some how trying to work on this and get a valid message Or else we will have to wait till Consumer application enabled with WMQ Protocol. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
satya2481 |
Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 170 Location: Bengaluru
|
Latest update is that we are waiting for Consumer application to be ready with WMQ Interface. Once that is ready we will continue with testing by cross checking MQMD header details. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|