Author |
Message
|
goffinf |
Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:16 am Post subject: libgcc_s.so.1 must be installed for pthread_cancel to work |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 05 Nov 2005 Posts: 401
|
Platform: SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 (x86_64), VERSION = 11, PATCHLEVEL = 2
MB version: 8
Attempting to install MB v8 on SUSE Linux :-
- using the root user
- running this command
Code: |
./setuplinuxx64 -i console -DLICENSE_ACCEPTED=TRUE
|
- from this directory ;-
Code: |
mbdev01:/tmp/mbv8_install/messagebroker_ia_runtime1 # ls -al
drwxr-xr-x 7 wbimbv8 mqbrkrs 4096 Jul 3 16:01 .
drwxrwxrwx 8 azureuser users 4096 Jul 3 13:35 ..
drwxr-xr-x 2 wbimbv8 mqbrkrs 4096 Aug 9 2012 IE02
drwxr-xr-x 2 wbimbv8 mqbrkrs 4096 Aug 9 2012 MBExplorer
-rw-r--r-- 1 wbimbv8 mqbrkrs 79 Aug 9 2012 install.ini
drwxr-xr-x 2 wbimbv8 mqbrkrs 4096 Aug 9 2012 license
drwxr-xr-x 12 wbimbv8 mqbrkrs 4096 Aug 9 2012 readmes
drwxr-xr-x 2 wbimbv8 mqbrkrs 4096 Jun 27 11:36 sample-scripts
-rwxr-xr-x 1 wbimbv8 mqbrkrs 4387 Aug 9 2012 setuplinuxx64
-rwxr-xr-x 1 wbimbv8 mqbrkrs 500341998 Aug 9 2012 setuplinuxx64.bin
|
... and getting the error :-
Code: |
libgcc_s.so.1 must be installed for pthread_cancel to work
|
MQ (v7.1) is already installed and working correctly.
I am pretty sure I carefully and succesfully completed all the steps described in the InfoCentre under 'Security on Linux and UNIX systems'
I read elsewhere that this may have something to do with the LD_LIBRARY_PATH. Initially when I echo'd its value using :-
Code: |
echo "$LD_LIBRARY_PATH"
|
There was no value. So I then, searched for libgcc_s.so.1 (and found it in /lib64) and then ran :-
Code: |
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/lib64
|
echo "$LD_LIBRARY_PATH" now returns /lib64
Also checked /etc/ld.so.conf and it has :-
Code: |
/usr/X11R6/lib64/Xaw3d
/usr/X11R6/lib64
/usr/lib64/Xaw3d
/usr/X11R6/lib/Xaw3d
/usr/X11R6/lib
/usr/lib/Xaw3d
/usr/x86_64-suse-linux/lib
/usr/local/lib
/opt/kde3/lib
/usr/local/lib64
/opt/kde3/lib64
/lib64
/lib
/usr/lib64
/usr/lib
|
Re-ran the install, but gives me the same error.
Anyone got any ideas what to do (or what I have missed) ?
Thanks
Fraser. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 12:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
This problem has been covered before.
Use the search button on the upper right of the page.
Hint,
What came before 64 bit versions of Linux and are those versions of the missing linrary in the Repository for SUSE? _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
goffinf |
Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 05 Nov 2005 Posts: 401
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
This problem has been covered before.
Use the search button on the upper right of the page.
Hint,
What came before 64 bit versions of Linux and are those versions of the missing linrary in the Repository for SUSE? |
Well I did search this forum and lots of other places before posting and trawled many posts. Can't say I found anything definitive. I did wonder however whether the 32 bit gcc library might be needed as well as the 64 bit (if that's what you are hinting at). Am going to try that tomorrow, but thought it was worth a question here overnight to see if anyone had any direct experience.
Fraser. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
try looking through smdavies99 past posts, I believe he's referring to previous difficulties he experienced.
to whit, you need to install a bunch of 32bit packages as well as 64bit packages. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
goffinf |
Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 05 Nov 2005 Posts: 401
|
mqjeff wrote: |
try looking through smdavies99 past posts, I believe he's referring to previous difficulties he experienced.
to whit, you need to install a bunch of 32bit packages as well as 64bit packages. |
Ah OK, now I see some posts that are in the right area (previously I was looking for posts that specifically mentiond libgcc), although nothing that states exactly which packages are needed.
I don't actually need to install either the toolkit or explorer on this particular m/c, only the run-time, but it would appear that the installer itself might need some 32 bit packages ? Would I be better off modifying the sample script ?
I confess that I'm not a Linux expert so I might be getting out of my depth here. Interestingly I did install MQ and MBv8 on RHEL 6 x86_64 recently and there were no issues whatsoever. I guess I was just lucky that the base OS install for that one came with everything needed, whereas this one (SUSE 11 in an Azure cloud) didn't.
I noted that one of the respondee's suggested install the 'Developer Tools' package as a quick way of getting everything required. Does that sound like its worth trying ?
Fraser. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
mqjeff hit it right on the nail.
You were probably luck with the RHEL install whereas, as you rightly say the SUSE install was missing few bits.
I only ever use RHEL/CentOS (I'm a RHCE for my sins) for my Linux servers so I can't help with the exact SUSE Package name that you need.
On RHEL you can find out what package provides what file (it helps to have a local VM where you can install/remove anything you want here). Perhaps SUSE has the same ability.
Also, if SUSE has the same sort of thing as a RHEL Kickstart then it may be worth setting one sorted out so that you don't have this problem in the future. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
goffinf |
Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 1:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 05 Nov 2005 Posts: 401
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
... I can't help with the exact SUSE Package name that you need.
|
OK, I'll fire a PMR at IBM and see if they can tell me. If I get anything of worth I'll post it back here.
Thanks for your help
Fraser. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 2:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Why not create s small VM and install everything (32bit and 64bit) then try to find out from the SUSE Package manager what package contains the missing library. It will take you a lot less time than waiting for IBM to answer your PMR. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
goffinf |
Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 3:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 05 Nov 2005 Posts: 401
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
Why not create s small VM and install everything (32bit and 64bit) then try to find out from the SUSE Package manager what package contains the missing library. It will take you a lot less time than waiting for IBM to answer your PMR. |
I sort of have that in the sense that I have a third party provided SUSE Linux server in an Azure cloud. I have asked them to create an image of this VM as it is now (before I start experimenting) so that it can be quickly recovered to that point if things go wrong (or if they go right after a few attempts and I want to do it again more cleanly).
While I'm waiting for IBM I had intended to install the 32bit version of the GNU C compiler (and its dependencies - can I get those with ldd ?), and take it from there (i.e. re-run the MBv8 install and see how far it gets).
Do you think it would be easier to install *more* than that before re-attempting the install, if so, what do you suggest (sorry I'm at the outer boundaries of my Linux knowledge and my boss wants me to continue with this for now - no SME available - but I am willing to give it a go !) ?
Fraser. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 3:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Yes, starting with the 32bit developer stuff is probably ok. You won't break anything if it isn't right.
As I said, I really don't know how SUSE packages its 'stuff' these days.
Perhaps it might be quicker asking the question on a SUSE forum? _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
goffinf |
Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 05 Nov 2005 Posts: 401
|
I'm still have problems with getting a functioning v8.0.0.2 install.
I *am* pursuing with IBM under a PMR, but just in case anyone else had had a similar experience ...
I resolved the title of this thread my installing the 32bit libgcc package first.
However, when creating the broker using mqsicreatebroker I observe the following :-
- Running under the MB admin account (wbimbv8) which has a primary group of mqbrkrs and a secondary of mqm.
mqsicreatebroker MB8BROKER -q MB8QMGR
- First the MQ queue manager *does* get created and starts successfully ..
Websphere MQ queue manager MB8QMGR started using V7.1.0.2
- then there is a VERY long pause (about 30 mins) and eventually my session times out.
- When I log back on I can see that the MB8BROKER file system structures under /var/mqsi/components and /var/mqsi/registry
- I *am* able to issue an mqsistart and I see a bipservice process
- When I run mqsicvp, all *seems* OK :-
Code: |
mqsicvp MB8BROKER
BIP8873I: Starting the component verification for component 'MB8BROKER'.
BIP8876I: Starting the environment verification for component 'MB8BROKER'.
BIP8894I: Verification passed for 'Registry'.
BIP8894I: Verification passed for 'MQSI_REGISTRY'.
BIP8894I: Verification passed for 'Java Version - 1.6.0 IBM Linux build pxa6460sr12-20121025_01 (SR12)"
BIP8894I: Verification passed for 'MQSI_FILEPATH'.
BIP8878I: The environment verification for component 'MB8BROKER' has finished successfully.
BIP8882I: Starting the WebSphere MQ verification for component 'MB8BROKER2'.
BIP8886I: Verification passed for queue 'SYSTEM.BROKER.ADMIN.QUEUE' on queue manager 'MB8QMGR2'.
BIP8886I: Verification passed for queue 'SYSTEM.BROKER.EXECUTIONGROUP.QUEUE' on queue manager 'MB8QMGR'.
BIP8886I: Verification passed for queue 'SYSTEM.BROKER.EXECUTIONGROUP.REPLY' on queue manager 'MB8QMGR'.
BIP8884I: The WebSphere MQ verification for component 'MB8BROKER' has finished successfully.
BIP8874I: The component verification for 'MB8BROKER' has finished successfully.
BIP8071I: Successful command completion.
|
- NOW the problem. When I try to run mqsicreateexecutiongroup it FAILS.
when I look in /var/log/messages I see a lot of these errors which indicate that queue has not been created (in a previous install attempt it was this queue which was missing SYSTEM.BROKER.ADMIN.QUEUE, but it seems to vary !) :-
Code: |
Jul 8 09:43:56 mbdev01 WebSphere Broker v8002[3817]: (MB8BROKER)[12]
BIP2070E: A problem was detected with WebSphere MQ while issuing MQOPEN
for WebSphere MQ queue 'SYSTEM.BROKER.DEPLOY.QUEUE
', WebSphere MQ queue manager 'MB8QMGR1'. MQCC=2, MQRC=2085. :
MB8BROKER.agent: /build/slot1/S800_P/src/AdminAgent/ImbQueue.cpp: 249:
ImbQueue::open: :
Jul 8 09:43:58 mbdev01 WebSphere Broker v8002[3817]: (MB8BROKER)[13]
BIP2070E: A problem was detected with WebSphere MQ while issuing MQOPEN
for WebSphere MQ queue 'SYSTEM.BROKER.DEPLOY.QUEUE
', WebSphere MQ queue manager 'MB8QMGR1'. MQCC=2, MQRC=2085. :
MB8BROKER.agent: /build/slot1/S800_P/src/AdminAgent/ImbQueue.cpp: 249:
ImbQueue::open: :
|
Any ideas
Regards
Fraser.
Last edited by goffinf on Tue Jul 09, 2013 4:17 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 4:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Personally, I never rely on mqsicreatebroker to create a queue manager.
I always create it first and do little things like setting up a listener on a port and starting it.
Naturally, I have a load of scripts that do things like set all the queue defaults, QMGR CCSID etc.
Only then do I try to create the broker. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
goffinf |
Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 4:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 05 Nov 2005 Posts: 401
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
Personally, I never rely on mqsicreatebroker to create a queue manager.
I always create it first and do little things like setting up a listener on a port and starting it.
Naturally, I have a load of scripts that do things like set all the queue defaults, QMGR CCSID etc.
Only then do I try to create the broker. |
Agreed, that's the way I did it first time around, but with the same result. I did something like :-
crtmqm - q MB8QMGR
strmqm
DEFINE LISTENER('LISTENER.TCP') TRTYPE(TCP) PORT(1416) CONTROL(QMGR)
START LISTENER('LISTENER.TCP')
setenv ...
But as I said, this doesn't seem to have effected the outcome.
I really don't know if its anything to do with more missing 32 bit libraries or the MQ install, permissions or what. Completely stumped, and so are IBM at the moment.
Fraser. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 7:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
you did not specify if your broker service id was part of the mqm group.
When the broker gets created a number of queues get created via runmqsc. If the broker service user id does not have the permissions to do so you may see some of the symptoms you are seeing now. The same applies for creation of execution groups depending on your broker security settings.
The 2085 code tells me that no such object exists... You might have to create it manually, or try the procedure described in the next paragraph...
Delete the broker. Make sure the broker id has the right permissions (or is part of the mqm group, you can always remove that later) and try to create the broker again.
Let us know how whether that worked.
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
I did a trial SUSE Install yesterday.
I did it a VMWare VM and used the smart install process. Once done I installed the compatibility libraries and that was that.
Then I Installed WMQ 7.5.0.1 without major issue (the problems were my unfamiliariaty with SUSE/AppArmour)
Then I installed broker 8.0.0.1 and upgraded to 8.0.0.2 and created a broker.
It ran but it seems likely that AppArmour gets in the way of any connections to it. for example, mqsicreateexectiongroup fails miserably saying that it can't find the broker. Sigh. But in general it seemed to work and only my lack of experience with SUSE was stopping me from getting a working config. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|