Author |
Message
|
abhijit_mishra |
Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 7:48 am Post subject: A web based MQ Explorer |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Aug 2009 Posts: 35 Location: India
|
Hi guys,
I have created a small (~1000k) java based tool which when run on a Win/Unix based MQ server, provides a web based GUI to browse/view MQ details on that server.
It can show status of the QMGRs, queues/channels/clusters/listeners/OS processes running on that server.
All an end user need is to open the server address in their browser.
(ex. http://server1:1096)
I thought it might help the app team/testers who always keep mq admins to check queue depth/status, chl/process status + many more.
Best thing in this is it doesn't use a client conn. It runs as a demon on the server acting as a HTTP server interacting with the end user's browser.
I have attached the main page's screen shot.
Please let me know if it's a good approach and if it can be shared with IBM.
http://s2.postimg.org/5vsnit1p5/index_Page.jpg
Cheers,
Abhijit Mishra
[img][/img][img][/img] _________________ All well that ends well. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
abhijit_mishra |
Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 8:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Aug 2009 Posts: 35 Location: India
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 9:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
If you want to share it, why don't you create a project on SourceForge and then post the details here? _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
abhijit_mishra |
Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 9:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Aug 2009 Posts: 35 Location: India
|
Yes, of course I can do that. But I need yours opinion if it's good to be used by others. _________________ All well that ends well. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ramires |
Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 1:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 24 Jun 2001 Posts: 523 Location: Portugal - Lisboa
|
Good work! Did you check the last MO71 version? It can be configured to provide access from a web browser.
"MO71 can be configured to listen for connections from browsers and is capable of returning the information about the configured queue managers as web pages" _________________ Obrigado / Thanks you |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 3:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
MQ Web Explore? Not a good name IMHO. Too close to MQ Explorer.
You need to provide access controls and authentication, otherwise it exposes MQ internals and makes it prone to accidental damage and attack. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 11:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
IBM need to provide at least a read-only browser interface as standard in the MQ product.
This should work without any need to install WAS etc - or come bundled with JBOSS etc, so no extra installation work is needed.
Security should be checked using the standard MQ techniques - something that would be easy for IBM to implement (and hard for anyone else).
I've always thought the lack of a browser interface to MQ to be a giant omission (and when I have asked at Hursley they have mentioned Tivoli - but that is simply a non-starter for such a simple requirement). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
abhijit_mishra |
Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 1:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Aug 2009 Posts: 35 Location: India
|
@ramires : Thanks. I had already checked MO71. But it's only runs on windows and if you want to connect to a remote qmgr it will need a client conn which i dont want to use. This tool is just a single .jar file. Just run and forget. No more conf reqrired.
@gbaddeley : Yea, that was just a lame name I had give, will think of a better name. Thanks for bringing that out.
@zpat: This tool would do exactly what you need.
It has these features.
- Provides "Read-Only" view of MQ objects.
- Totally Web based. Any web browser can be used.
- It does not use any APP server (WAS/JBOSS etc).
It internally has a multi-threaded class which runs as a HTTP server on port 1096
So no web server is needed.
- No Server/Agent concept like Tivoli
- No MQ knowledge required to run this application
Cheers,
Abhijit
 _________________ All well that ends well. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
abhijit_mishra |
Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 1:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Aug 2009 Posts: 35 Location: India
|
Also it works seamlessly on Windows (XP/2003/Win7/2008), Unix(Solaris 9,10), RHEL 5.
And it only need a JRE 1.5 or above. So if we dont have a separate JRE, it still can use the JRE which comes with MQ server installation. _________________ All well that ends well. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
abhijit_mishra |
Posted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Aug 2009 Posts: 35 Location: India
|
Guys,
Please comment and let me know if I can take it to IBM. Also how do I approach IBM to have a look into this tool? _________________ All well that ends well. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 3:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
abhijit_mishra wrote: |
@ramires : Thanks. I had already checked MO71. But it's only runs on windows and if you want to connect to a remote qmgr it will need a client conn which i dont want to use. This tool is just a single .jar file. Just run and forget. No more conf reqrired. |
How does your single .jar file connect to a remote queue manager if you don't want to use a client-conn?
Cheers
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
abhijit_mishra |
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Aug 2009 Posts: 35 Location: India
|
@Morag : This actually runs locally on the MQ server. So no clntconn is required. _________________ All well that ends well. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
abhijit_mishra wrote: |
@Morag : This actually runs locally on the MQ server. So no clntconn is required. |
Understand. You must run one of these next to each queue manager you wish to view through the Web Interface, rather than the MO71 approach where you run one program to serve up the web pages for multiple queue managers. Just a different approach.
Given that approach, I guess that means there is no view of all your queue managers on one web page then?
Cheers
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
abhijit_mishra wrote: |
@Morag : This actually runs locally on the MQ server. So no clntconn is required. |
So it's just a server side app listening on 1096? No other code or installation required?
Two observations for what they're worth:
- more granular security is needed. The "Read Only" view is all fine and well, but I have 15 project teams bouncing up and down on my queue managers & I'd like to offer differential security so they can work on their own queues without bothering me, but only their own queues.
- As a test tool it's fine. But my QA environment has 4 queue managers in it (clustered) and it's both inconvienient to have 4 tabs open in the web browser for each queue manager's details & also beyond the technical capabilities of some of my target customers (some of whom would struggle with the concept of "browser tabs", others with the concept of "four"). If your tool could be arranged in a hub/spoke with one app connecting to it's peers on other queue managers and assembling the data into a single view, that would resolve this.
Just my view, no more or less valid than any other.
WARNING: Commerical content!
Also if you've not reviewed the IR360 product from not allowed Software you should. It's a queue manager admn & view tool that runs server side for which you only need a web browser to use.
DISCLAIMER: I am not now nor have I ever been associated with not allowed Software nor any other software retailer, the views expressed are my own, no comparison express or implied between any products is being made, no assertions as to the fitness or otherwise of any product to any situation is being made and no warrenty express or implied is given for any loss or damage occuring directly or indirectly from the contents of this post.
I'm just sayin' _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|