Author |
Message
|
ivanachukapawn |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 6:02 am Post subject: get rid of BINDING CLUSSDR |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 561
|
I have some BINDING cluster sender channels which were auto-created (result of attempt to PUT message to cluster queue). dis chs (*) shows these BINDING channels for hours. At some point, they may stop and/or disappear. Is there a way to get rid of these Binding/Retrying channels? I want to re-run some tests which result in these CLUSSDRs being created and going into BINDING state, but I need to get rid of them first. The REPOS and receiving hosts for these CLUSSDR are on the other side of a firewall and I do not have access to them for login or MQ admin. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 6:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 6:11 am Post subject: Re: get rid of BINDING CLUSSDR |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
ivanachukapawn wrote: |
I have some BINDING cluster sender channels ... |
What is the SUBSTATE of the STATUS(BINDING) channels? Some things that get stuck in BINDING are hard to kick out. _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ivanachukapawn |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 6:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 561
|
MQJeff,
I have no problem stopping the channel. But then it still shows up as stopped.
Channel Sub Status = Name Server |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 6:28 am Post subject: Re: get rid of BINDING CLUSSDR |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ivanachukapawn |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 6:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 561
|
Peter! Thanks a lot. The web page at that link is great - and the SUBSTATE(NAME SERVER) definitely points me to what I had suspected anyway - which is DNS. But I need to know how to get rid of these channels. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 6:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
ivanachukapawn wrote: |
But I need to know how to get rid of these channels. |
How do you get rid of any channel or object? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 6:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
ivanachukapawn wrote: |
I need to know how to get rid of these channels. |
If you want to remove channel status, issue:-
Code: |
STOP CHANNEL(name) STATUS(INACTIVE) |
That will remove the STOPPED status and leave the channel in a state ready to be automatically started by clustering when it is needed.
If you want to remove the cluster channel altogether you should follow the instructions in the Information Center for removing the queue manager from the cluster.
Cheers
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ivanachukapawn |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 6:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 561
|
Bruce, to get rid of "any" MQ object, I normally try DELETE. However, in this case DELETE doesn't work because this channel is not defined (it is AUTO created when needed )
Hughson, Thanks for that suggestion (forcing to INACTIVE). Maybe I will now be in a position to detect which PUT to a CLUSTER QUEUE is causing a channel to attempt connection. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 7:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
You should be able to delete auto-def'd channels, provided you specify the right chltype (which is something like CLUSSDRA or CLUSSDRB and not actually CLUSSDR).
MQSC or MQExplorer will show this chltype to you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 7:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
mqjeff wrote: |
You should be able to delete auto-def'd channels, provided you specify the right chltype (which is something like CLUSSDRA or CLUSSDRB and not actually CLUSSDR).
MQSC or MQExplorer will show this chltype to you. |
Err... No, I don't think so.
You can issue START/STOP commands against them, but DELETE commands are not available to you.
To remove a CLUSSDR-Auto, you must DELETE the CLUSRCVR it was modeled on, on another queue manager and have that information flow around the cluster.
Cheers
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ivanachukapawn |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 7:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 561
|
I tried STOP CHANNEL(CHLNAME) STATUS(INACTIVE) - the status changed to stopping, and then the channel disappeared. end of problem. Thanks so much all for the suggestions and help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 7:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
hughson wrote: |
mqjeff wrote: |
You should be able to delete auto-def'd channels, provided you specify the right chltype (which is something like CLUSSDRA or CLUSSDRB and not actually CLUSSDR).
MQSC or MQExplorer will show this chltype to you. |
Err... No, I don't think so.
You can issue START/STOP commands against them, but DELETE commands are not available to you.
To remove a CLUSSDR-Auto, you must DELETE the CLUSRCVR it was modeled on, on another queue manager and have that information flow around the cluster.
Cheers
Morag |
Ah, ok. Been a while since I've dealt with this problem. The side effect of proper incentives to mq admins setting up clusters... I defer mentioning if these are positive or negative incentives...
If the CLUSSDR to the full repository is stopped, and the qmgr is restarted, will it still attempt to start the auto-def'd clussdrs it knows about?
If the qmgr is SUSPENDED from the cluster, and restarted, will it still attempt to start the auto-def clussdrs it knows about? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ivanachukapawn |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 7:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 561
|
Quote: |
If the CLUSSDR to the full repository is stopped, and the qmgr is restarted, will it still attempt to start the auto-def'd clussdrs it knows about?
If the qmgr is SUSPENDED from the cluster, and restarted, will it still attempt to start the auto-def clussdrs it knows about? |
YES to both questions. I suspended from clusters and stopped the qmgr and upon startup and cluster resumption, the binding auto cluster senders were back.
I also stopped the cluster sender andrecycled the queue manager - and the binding cluster sender was back.
So far, only solution is stop channel (name) STATUS(INACTIVE) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 7:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
ivanachukapawn wrote: |
Quote: |
If the CLUSSDR to the full repository is stopped, and the qmgr is restarted, will it still attempt to start the auto-def'd clussdrs it knows about?
If the qmgr is SUSPENDED from the cluster, and restarted, will it still attempt to start the auto-def clussdrs it knows about? |
YES to both questions. I suspended from clusters and stopped the qmgr and upon startup and cluster resumption, the binding auto cluster senders were back.
I also stopped the cluster sender andrecycled the queue manager - and the binding cluster sender was back.
So far, only solution is stop channel (name) STATUS(INACTIVE) |
Well, honestly, that's a good and proper and easy solution. No reason to restart the QM....  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|