Author |
Message
|
dance1234 |
Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 12:30 am Post subject: explicitlySetPortNumber |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 May 2013 Posts: 4
|
I set the httplistener to listen on a port but now want to the httpslistener to listen on this port.
How do I disable the httplistener on the port? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mapa |
Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 2:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 09 Aug 2001 Posts: 257 Location: Malmö, Sweden
|
Depending upon if you are using the broker wide listeners or a EG specific one you have these options:
First reconfigure the broker wide httplistener to another port then configure the httpslistener to use it instead.
Note that you effect the whole broker setup this way!
If you used an EG httplistener you can switch it back to use the broker wide listener as an alternative.
Another (as in most cases better) approach is to put a http proxy in front of the broker so that you don't need to expose explicit port numbers to the consumers.
Last edited by mapa on Mon May 20, 2013 2:11 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 2:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
It's probably more sensible to use different ports for http and https. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dance1234 |
Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 2:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 May 2013 Posts: 4
|
I am using embedded EG listener and I plan to use use separate ports for http and https.
I started testing with httplistener on port 14201 and now I want to stop httplistener on port 14201 and start listening with httpslistener on port 14201.
So I want to know how to disable httplistener on port 14201. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mapa |
Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 2:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 09 Aug 2001 Posts: 257 Location: Malmö, Sweden
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dance1234 |
Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 2:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 May 2013 Posts: 4
|
I don't want any broker wide listeners. What if I configured EG httplistener to listen on port 0? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 3:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Use different port numbers - one number for http and a different one for https.
Why make life hard? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dance1234 |
Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 3:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 May 2013 Posts: 4
|
If I have previously assigned the httplistener to port 14201, how do I stop httplistener on port 14201? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mapa |
Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 7:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 09 Aug 2001 Posts: 257 Location: Malmö, Sweden
|
As I have stated before, assign it to another port or to the broker wide httplistener. That is your options, and setting the port to 0 is not an option.
On Unix ports up to 1024 are privileged ports and only available to services running as superuser.
In your case maybe a good enough solution is to make sure the HTTPConnector only listens to the LOopback interface (yes, localhost).
Then the port will not be accessible to the network.
Talk to your sysadmin. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue May 21, 2013 5:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
In later levels of v8, you can instruct the HTTP nodes to use the EG level HTTP listener.
This should allow you to disable the broker level HTTP listener - I believe one of the properties involved in switching the HTTP nodes includes the properties to stop the biphttplistener.
Can is not the same as should, however.
Also, you *always* *have* to use separate ports for HTTP and HTTPS, in any domain using any HTTP server at all. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|