ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » Problem with Arrays

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Problem with Arrays « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Ratan
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2002 9:44 am    Post subject: Problem with Arrays Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

Hi,

I have a problem handling arrays with workflow.

I have datastructures with arrays defined. When I specify only one element for array specified in the XML input I get an FMC01104E exception. When I have atleast 2 elements I dont have any problem. Does anyone have a solution for such problem. I am working around that problem by including a null element so that the count becomes atleast 2.

<test>
<abc>1<abc>
</test>
This fails if test is defined to have an array of abc.

<test>
<abc>1 </abc>
<abc</abc>
</test>
this works fine.

-thanks Laze.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jmac
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2002 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

I am unaware of any way around this.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Ratan
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2002 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

Did you ever come across a problem like this?

-Thanx Laze
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jmac
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2002 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Sure. The only way to know that an item is an array simply by looking at xml is to have at least 2 items specified. If you look in the doc you will see that they indicate an empty array item as <null/>. Different from what you do, so it is possible to parse correctly. Arrays in MQWF aren not rendered in XML in the best way (IMO). Have a look at an Array of Structures if you want to see it get really ugyl
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
manoj
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 30 Jan 2002
Posts: 237
Location: Virgina

Hi,
We are also using the workaround only (adding an extra element in xml for nested datastructure array if there's single element in the response xml). Probably MQWorkflow XML interface doesn't differentiate between nested datastructure which is an array and nested datastructure(simple). In the xml it all looks the same.
If somebody knows some other way to get around this problem please post.

cheers
_________________
-manoj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Ratan
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

Ok, My mistake. Workflow mandates to use an empty element in case of arrays with one element to differentiate that it is an array. I found that in Programming Guide - XML interface.

-Laze.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
kriersd
PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2003 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Jul 2002
Posts: 209
Location: IA, USA

Has anyone ever come accross this error "FMC01104E" on an automatic JOIN / FORK setp. I have a strange problem.

I have one data structure called "MY_Data" and within the "MY_Data" data structure have reference another data structure called "indices" that contains an element called "Name". The "indices" data structure is referenced as a 5 element array within the "MY_Data" data structure. Looks like this:

MY_Data.indices[0].name
MY_Data.indices[1].name
MY_Data.indices[2].name
MY_Data.indices[3].name
MY_Data.indices[4].name

I sometimes get an "FMC01104E Data Memember indices.name of data structure MY_Data not found" Looking at the data structure this is true. The memeber indices.name is not a valid element in the data structrue. It should have referenced this as indices[0].name.

Has anyone else found this to be a problem. I know this problem exist when your sending xml in to create and start the instance, but I have never seen this happen in the mapping form one activity to another activity.
_________________
Dave Krier

IBM WebSphere MQ Workflow V3.4 Solution Designer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ratan
PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2003 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

Are you using the XML interface? My guess is you are getting this when there is only one indices element sent in.

Can you explain in detail how your process is setup and when and where you are getting this problem.
_________________
-Ratan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jmac
PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2003 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Dave:

I agree with Ratan. The most likely cause of this is use of the XML interface and you are only specifying a single value for the nested array.

The solution would be to make sure that you always have XML that looks like this:
Code:
<MyData>
  <indicies>
    <name>Dave</name>
  </indicies>
  <indicies></indicies>
</MyData>

If you are not using the XML interface, I would think you may have found a bug... post some more detail here and I will see if I can reproduce.

GOOD LUCK
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
kriersd
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Jul 2002
Posts: 209
Location: IA, USA

Jmac
Ratan

Thanks for the reply. I too have found this problem using when using the XML interface to start a process instance, however, this is a little different. In this case I am seeing the problem after the process is started and moving from activity to activity. I am guessing that it's a problem when we map data to only one of the elements of the array. This is rather strang and a little hard to explain. Let me know if you still have any questions.

Dave
_________________
Dave Krier

IBM WebSphere MQ Workflow V3.4 Solution Designer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ratan
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

it need not be only when you start a process instance. This can also happen when you are sending in a ActivityImplInvokeResponse message. Always make sure you are sending atleast two array elements.
_________________
-Ratan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jmac
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Dave:

Again I agree with what Ratan has to say... If your errors are occurring after a UPES activity I would suspect the cause to be that you only have one array element set.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » Problem with Arrays
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.