|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Problem in Debugging VB Applications |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
Andy |
Posted: Sun Jun 08, 2003 11:22 pm Post subject: Problem in Debugging VB Applications |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 14 May 2003 Posts: 122
|
I am developing a standalone application in VB using Active X APIs. While debugging, the VB window just disappears sometimes. I have no problem in debugging any non-workflow VB code.
Also, I remeber one one my friend had same kind of problem using FAT client on Win98 system. The Program Activity were in VB and was running them in debug mode. There, after VB disappears and if he Force-Restarts the workitem and run it again, VB window used to get launched but message comes that the .vbp file is already open. It was not there in Task bar. Only restarting the system allows to debug the code again.
I dont remeber exact details in that case but the problem was not solved and thats why I think its related to Workflow APIs.
It usually happens when run and debug the application many times without closing.
In my case:
OS:Win 2K, SP 3
MQWF 3.3.2, SP 4
Its a standalone setup.
Has anyone faced same problem(and any solution)?
Thanks _________________
Andy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
I am not 100% certain I am following everything you are doing... BUT when you use the debug feature, you MUST close the VB window in order to complete the current activity. The PEA is fireing up VB as the activity, so the activity must be closed to terminate the activity. Now, if during the debugging you wish to re execute the activity, you should first force restart the activity, then close the VB window _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Andy |
Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 12:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 14 May 2003 Posts: 122
|
jmac wrote: |
Now, if during the debugging you wish to re execute the activity, you should first force restart the activity, then close the VB window |
If we do not close the VB window and re-execute the program, it works same as we running it first time and workitem remains in running state until VB window is closed.So no need to force restart if not closing VB window.
I am facing the problem in Standalone application and PEA is not involved here.
Did anybody face same thing? I think only few people use VB APIs
Thanks _________________
Andy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 4:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Andy wrote: |
I am facing the problem in Standalone application and PEA is not involved here.
|
Are you using the FAT client? Based on your orginial statement I believe you are. In which case you are most certainly using a PEA, there is no other way unless you have written your own client to spawn the ActivityImplementations,
Andy wrote: |
If we do not close the VB window and re-execute the program, it works same as we running it first time and workitem remains in running state until VB window is closed. |
.
IF you do not close the VB window, the item stays in a running state, HOW do you re-execute the program? Certainly MQWF would not do this. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Andy |
Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 14 May 2003 Posts: 122
|
jmac wrote: |
Are you using the FAT client? Based on your orginial statement I believe you are. In which case you are most certainly using a PEA, there is no other way unless you have written your own client to spawn the ActivityImplementations,
|
.
Sorry that I didnt explain it clearly.
The first paragraph of the original post is the problem I am facing. It is- I am developing standalone application using MQWF ActiveX APIs and VB window disappears sometimes. I am working on Win2k system and every thing is installed here only.(Should say 1-tier architacture I guess)
In the second paragraph of the original post, I explained my friends problem he faced few months back, and thats the reason why I think this is Workflow APIs related problem(Might be some memory leak but too soon to say anything). His VB window was also disappearing suddenly while debugging program activities. That ofcourse was not a standalone application but launching of the program activities VBPs using FAT client.
jmac wrote: |
IF you do not close the VB window, the item stays in a running state, HOW do you re-execute the program? Certainly MQWF would not do this. |
Yeah, MQWF is in waiting stage for the VB window to get closed. When PEA has launched the VB window and the VBP is open, now I need to execute it to debug using F8 button.
The first time you run the program, read incontainer, do anything,set outcontainer and then END statement of VB program is encountered. Program execution stops but VB window and VBP are still open.
Now if I make changes in code and starts executing the VBP again, I would get same incontainer values as during the first execution, and also ..latest values set in outcontainer would be used by MQWF if I close the VB window after this second execution VBP.
Hope I am clear this time.
Thanks _________________
Andy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
It is my opinion, that you would be better off if you did as I suggested, IF you wish to run the activityimplementation a second time, you should "forceRestart" and then start the activity implementation again. I will admit to not having used the ActiveX api much in the last couple of years (i.e there is not much interest in Fat Clients since the HTML client was rolled into the product), but in the past I did extensive development in the ActiveX environment, and this is how I always worked. Unless you are somehow intimate with the "under the covers" workings of the ActiveX API, I would say that you would be safer always starting the application fresh. Who knows what kind of initialization is being done. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Andy |
Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 6:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 14 May 2003 Posts: 122
|
Thanks John.
Just for the information, I used version 3.2.2 few times and debugging the same way had never been a problem, even re-execute and debug the application 10 times or so.  _________________
Andy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|