Author |
Message
|
sijtom0703 |
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:07 am Post subject: How does the backout requeue queue works |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 28 May 2011 Posts: 84 Location: USA
|
Hi
I have read about backout count, backout threshold and backout requeue queue. I have also read that websphere MQ does not move messages to backout queue automatically. Does this mean that if I have to make sure messages move to backout queue after the backout count exceeds backout threshold I have to configure it programmatically from application code rather than just enable and set these queue properties through MQ explorer. Please advice |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
McueMart |
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Chevalier
Joined: 29 Nov 2011 Posts: 490 Location: UK...somewhere
|
For custom applications backing out messages I think you are right. If you are using something like Message Brokers MQ Input node, this will do the job for you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nathanw |
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 550
|
McueMart wrote: |
For custom applications backing out messages I think you are right. If you are using something like Message Brokers MQ Input node, this will do the job for you. |
but only if the input node / queue is configured to do so _________________ Who is General Failure and why is he reading my hard drive?
Artificial Intelligence stands no chance against Natural Stupidity.
Only the User Trace Speaks The Truth  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sijtom0703 |
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 28 May 2011 Posts: 84 Location: USA
|
Thank you! Yeah My applications are all JMS and .Net based MQ client applications not involving Broker or MQInput node. But I do not understand why I cannot do it administratively when all the configuration settings are provided through MQ Explorer as queue properties |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
sijtom0703 wrote: |
But I do not understand why I cannot do it administratively when all the configuration settings are provided through MQ Explorer as queue properties |
You need to read about this subject in the WMQ Application Programming Reference, and WMQ Application Programming Guide.
Backing out a message to a backout-queue is done by application programs, wither those you write or the Message Broker. Setting queue attributes gives applications information needed to make the decision whether to backout a message, and where to backout the message. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sijtom0703 |
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 28 May 2011 Posts: 84 Location: USA
|
Hi
ok Thank you!. I will go through it. I have less application programming experience in MQ. So is it the same for the SHARECNV Channel Attribute.
I think this can be administratively configured.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
sijtom0703 wrote: |
So is it the same for the SHARECNV Channel Attribute.
I think this can be administratively configured.  |
What does your research here and on google tell you? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:50 am Post subject: Re: How does the backout requeue queue works |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
sijtom0703 wrote: |
Hi
I have read about backout count, backout threshold and backout requeue queue. I have also read that websphere MQ does not move messages to backout queue automatically. Does this mean that if I have to make sure messages move to backout queue after the backout count exceeds backout threshold I have to configure it programmatically from application code rather than just enable and set these queue properties through MQ explorer. Please advice |
Depends on which programming models you use. This capability is part of the JMS implementation. So if you use XMS in .NET programming you should be fine. If on the other hand you choose to use native .NET programming you will have to implement this capability yourself in the .NET code.
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|