ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Identifier "EmbeddedBitStream" cannot be resolved.

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Identifier "EmbeddedBitStream" cannot be resolved. « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
rekarm01
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 11:12 am    Post subject: Identifier "EmbeddedBitStream" cannot be resolved. Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 1415

In the WMB 8.0.0.1 toolkit, the ASBITSTREAM function call generates a warning: 'Identifier "EmbeddedBitStream" cannot be resolved.'

Code:
... ASBITSTREAM(RootRef.*[<] OPTIONS EmbeddedBitStream) ...

The broker seems to execute the code as expected, but the toolkit issues a warning anyway. This is not a new issue; older versions of the toolkit behave similarly. Short of changing the ASBITSREAM options or turning off warnings for all identifiers, is there a way to fix this in the ESQL, or at least suppress the warning?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

Try moving the order of the OPTIONS clause around.

Tookit is fussy about ESQL syntax in cases where it ideally wouldn't be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rekarm01
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 1415

mqjeff wrote:
Try moving the order of the OPTIONS clause around.

There's only the one clause, which makes it difficult to re-order ...

Using the alternative syntax, where the clauses are positional rather than named, still generates a toolkit warning:

Code:
... ASBITSTREAM(RootRef.*[<],,,,,, EmbeddedBitStream) ...

And moving the "EmbeddedBitStream" outside of ASBITSTREAM():

Code:
DECLARE myOpts INTEGER BITOR(EmbeddedBitStream, ValidateNone);
... ASBITSTREAM(RootRef.*[<] OPTIONS myOpts) ...

just moves the warning to the line with the DECLARE statement. So the issue seems to be with "EmbeddedBitStream" itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447



Well, of course, you can tell Toolkit to only show you warning on a specific project...

You could always try redefining the dang thing yourself if you can figure out the actual byte value.

But, on the other hand.

Does it deploy? If it deploys, why concern yourself with Toolkit errors...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rekarm01
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 1415

mqjeff wrote:
Does it deploy? If it deploys, why concern yourself with Toolkit errors...

"concern" is too strong a word. The message flow deploys, and it does work as expected in the broker, but I just wanted to rule out any obvious problems with my code that I might have overlooked. I'm assuming that it's not just my toolkit that does this, and wondered how (or if) others might have handled it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

A bit of a personal rant here.

Perhaps it is just me but I really don't like to see anything listed in the 'problems' tab in the TK. Sure I can turn off warnings but in many cases they do stop the flow from deploying or executing properly. eg Missing declaration of an ESQL variable. In others it does not affect the operation eg Links to a DB projects for the Table/Object schema.

Most of the time my flows don't have any items in the Problems tab. I just wish that adding the .jar file for the DB Perspective was a bit easier. Only last week, I spent a good hour trying to get the SQLServer .jar file to be recognised by the TK. In the end I gave up as it flatly refused to recognise the jar file even though linking to another that was built with a different JRE produced nice error messages.

Time to go walk the dog methinks.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

I hate to see errors in the Toolkit too.

But, for example in v7, I am *never* going to take the trouble to create a toolkit specific JDBC connection just to get it to shut up about ODBC database access at runtime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

mqjeff wrote:
But, for example in v7, I am *never* going to take the trouble to create a toolkit specific JDBC connection just to get it to shut up about ODBC database access at runtime.


If you have a lot of database access leading to significant numbers of warnings, then yes you are unless you're about to tell me how you can get more "serious" warnings (like missing identifier) to sort to the top.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

rekarm, I would vote for a toolkit enhancement for making warnings more accurate.

In particular, I would like to see false warnings I get about namespaces go away since they are not valid. I'd like the toolkit to warn me about misplaced namespaces but not warn me about valid namespaces.

Today, the toolkit warns me about this:

Code:
InputRoot.SOAP.Body.validnamespace:validSOAPRequest.theInfo.accountNumber


Quote:
"Unresolveable message field reference: "InputRoot.SOAP.Body.validnamespace:validSOAPRequest.theInfo.accountNumber".



The runtime successfully derives this reference, but the toolkit does not. If you submit an : r f e : for your issue, I'll vote for it. I've submitted a PMR a couple of years ago on this issue and so far, nothing has changed in the toolkit.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
kimbert
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 5542
Location: Southampton

FYI, I have opened an internal defect for the original problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rekarm01
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 1415

lancelotlinc wrote:
If you submit an : r f e : for your issue, I'll vote for it.

My issue would be more of a defect, better resolved through a PMR, than an RFE, but thanks anyway. I am debating whether to open an RFE on an unrelated matter, (for making the Environment correlation identifier available to schema-level procedures and functions) ... if I do, you could vote for that instead.

lancelotlinc wrote:
In particular, I would like to see false warnings I get about namespaces go away since they are not valid. I'd like the toolkit to warn me about misplaced namespaces but not warn me about valid namespaces.

You'd know more about this issue than I, so you'd probably be better able to open an RFE yourself. Assuming that the relevant namespaces are in scope, and there's nothing wrong with the schema, if you've already opened a PMR and that didn't help, it's not certain that an RFE would do any better.

kimbert wrote:
FYI, I have opened an internal defect for the original problem.

Thanks for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Identifier "EmbeddedBitStream" cannot be resolved.
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.