ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » Putting Message Onto Queue From Workflow

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Putting Message Onto Queue From Workflow « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
gowdy
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2001 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 17 Jul 2001
Posts: 29
Location: Bournemouth, UK

Hi

Again, sorry for the "stupid" question, but I am still relatively new to the MQSeries family. I want to model a process in Workflow that will take a message from a specific MQQueue, do some processing within Workflow and then output it to another MQQueue. The plan is to then have MQSI v2.0.1 pick up the message and do some reformatting and validation on it.
I have created a new Program Execution Server detailing the Queue name and Queue Manager name, but this is as far as I have gotten. I am okay on the input queue to Workflow.

Any assistance would be gratefully appreciated.

Kind regards

Mark Gowdy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jmac
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2001 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Mark:

The basics are as follows:

1) To get into MQWF you will need to have some program format a "CreateAndStartInstance" XML message and put it to the proper MQWF queue. By default this would be QM=FMCQM, Q=EXEXMLINPUTQ. Your QM name could be different

2) then your MQWF process would do it's thing and most likely the LAST activity would put out the message that you want onto a the QM/Q of your choice.

There is one other possibility which would be possible, IF your MQWF process was going to complete quickly (i.e. under 60 seconds). This normally would mean that all of the activities would have to be automatic (i.e. no humans involved). If this is the case it is possible to used the ExecuteProcessInstance xml message, and WAIT for a response. The problem with this method is that if the message does not come back in a timely fashion, it will time out.

Good Luck.

_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
gowdy
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2001 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 17 Jul 2001
Posts: 29
Location: Bournemouth, UK

Thanks John

I have managed to get the input message sorted out, but it is the output that is getting me stumped. Do I need to create some application to post it onto an MQ queue, or can I just set some parameters to do it. I have looked at the documentation and looked at the help files, but cannot find what I am looking for. Some of the samples use a dll to put the message onto a queue, but I don't want to go there at this stage. All I want to do is post a small XML message onto an MQ queue. Again, any help is much appreciated.

Rgds

Mark Gowdy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jmac
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2001 5:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Mark:

Each UPES Activity will most likely be Synchronous. In which case, it will receive its imput message (in xml format); parse it to access the input container data; perform its required processing; and finally build an xml output message that it will write to the Reply Queue. Be sure that you copy the correlation ID from the input message to the output message.

I agree that the doc is not the best. Do you have the MQSeries TXN pack that has the Workflow samples? There are several of them out on the MQSeries TNX pack site. They are all numbered WAxx I believe, and the descriptions will tell you which ones contain sample code.

Hope this helps

_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
gowdy
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2001 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 17 Jul 2001
Posts: 29
Location: Bournemouth, UK

Hi

In case anyone is interested, I finally managed to put a message onto an MQ queue, after processing it through MQSI and Workflow. I am not sure if the procedure I followed is the best practice, but this is what I did.
On the properties for the last Program Activity node in my flow, I unchecked the User Program Execution box and selected the Program Execution Server to be one I had created. This new PES was set to use a specific MQ queue and queue manager.
It all seems a bit too easy, and also a bit slapdash, but did not want to call a program that posted on to a queue.
If anyone has any comments on the validity or otherwise of this approach, I would love to hear from them.

Thanks and regards

Mark Gowdy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
yoscop
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2001 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 17 Dec 2001
Posts: 13




I am trying to place an WFMessage onto the queue.Everytime i try i get a
"FMC00010E Unknown user ID" Error

I have checked the fdl file and PERSON is set to WFADMIN.In my whole installation i have only two users, ADMIN and WFADMIN. I tried both, but no use.


ANy help would be appreciated.



Regards
yoscop

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
jmac
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2001 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

I would expect that this is because the logged on user does not have the proper Authority. You will probably need code like the following:

String DEFAULT_MQUSERID = "ADMIN";

MQMessage mqMessage = new MQMessage();

if ( m_strMQUserID == null )
mqMessage.userId = DEFAULT_MQUSERID;
else
mqMessage.userId = m_strMQUserID;

MQPutMessageOptions pmo = new MQPutMessageOptions( );
// The SET_IDENTITY_CONTEXT allows you to specify a userid other than
// the logged on user
pmo.options = MQC.MQPMO_SET_IDENTITY_CONTEXT

Good luck

_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » Putting Message Onto Queue From Workflow
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.