Author |
Message
|
vinodsasidharan |
Posted: Mon May 12, 2003 12:28 pm Post subject: delete vs terminate vs finished vs force finished |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 25 Apr 2003 Posts: 47 Location: Norwich
|
Hi :
1)if the admin server is down will checkin work . my guess is yes . can any body tell me what is exactly happening behind checkin .
while checkin is done will any logoff happen (i mean whether admin server needs to function).
--->
2)
Whats is the state " terminate " .( in a work _ item table .
when can a terminate happen . what i want to know is whats is the exact technical difference between .
a)delete
b)terminate
c)force finish
d)finish
hope u can give me answer in depth(technically) the difference . _________________ Vinod sasidharan
Ibm Certfied MQ Admin 5.3
Ibm Certfied MQ Admin 6.0
Ibm Certfied WAS Admin 6.0
Ibm Certfied WMB Admin 5.0
Ibm Certfied Db2 Specialist.
Sun certified Java Programmer.
"Ai carte, ai parte ....................." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Mon May 12, 2003 12:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
Quote: |
1)if the admin server is down will checkin work . my guess is yes . can any body tell me what is exactly happening behind checkin .
|
As long as Execution Server is running you should be able to Checkin. When a workitem is checked-in, the workitem depending on its Exit condition is finished.
I think if you want to know what happens in between, you should post on IBM forum.
For terminate, finished,forcefinished, deleted, you should probably take a look at fig 25, page 660, Programming guide v332. It is a state diagram showing all the states of workitems. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Mon May 12, 2003 12:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
1) The only thing you can not do when the Admin server is down is Login.
2) Terminate - the terminate() api call was issued.
ForceFinished - the forceFinish() api call was issued.
Finished - NORMAL completion.
DELETE is not a state.
Normal Completion
Finished An item reaches the finished state when the program or UPES Service returns control to MQWF and the activity was marked for Automatic Exit. Once MQWF has control it will evaluate the Exit Condition and decide whether or not the activity needs to be re-run (i.e. fails exit condition) or that navigation to the next activity can continue
Executed An item reaches the executed state when the program or UPES Service returns control to MQWF and the activity was marked for Manual Exit. At this point MQWF has not yet evaluated the exit condition. The only way to complete the activity at this point is to use the Finish() or ForceFinish() API calls. Either of these will cause the navigation to continue
Abnormal Completion
Force-Finished An item can only be put into the ForceFinished state using an API call. Once an item is ForceFinished, MQWF will continue navigation to the next activity. An item which is ForceFinished will not fail it's exit condition. Navigation in the model may be difficult if you do not use the ForceFinishWithContainer API call. No further processing can be done against this workitem
Terminated An item can only be put into the Terminated state using an API call. An item in the Terminated state has not yet had its Exit condition examined. From the Terminated state you could put the item back into the Ready state (ForceRestart() API) or the ForceFinished state (ForceFinish() API). It is my opinion, that the Terminated state is the state that we should put an item into, IF we want to attempt to continue normal navigation. This is possible since we can use the Container Repair APIs to set any Input/Output container items we wish
InError An item can only be put into the InError state by MQWF. Generally, the cause of this is that the executable associated with the item can not be found. An item in the InError state can be ForceFinished or ForceRestarted to get normal navigation to resume. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Mon May 12, 2003 12:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
Quote: |
InError An item can only be put into the InError state by MQWF. Generally, the cause of this is that the executable associated with the item can not be found. An item in the InError state can be ForceFinished or ForceRestarted to get normal navigation to resume.
|
John,
We put(our UPES) an Exception XML Message to EXEXMLINPUTQ, when the program that needs to be invoked raises an exception(e.g, because of bad data, etc) and the activity in turn is put into InError State. Isn't how it is supposed to be used? _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Mon May 12, 2003 1:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Ratan wrote: |
We put(our UPES) an Exception XML Message to EXEXMLINPUTQ, when the program that needs to be invoked raises an exception(e.g, because of bad data, etc) and the activity in turn is put into InError State. Isn't how it is supposed to be used? |
You put an Excepton message to EXEXMLINPUTQ? Or you put a message which is BAD that causes an exception?
You will need to give me a little more background here as I am not familiar with what you are doing.
There are other reasons for an activity to be InError than I stated above, that is just the most common. (Or at least it WAS the most common in the Fat client days). _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Mon May 12, 2003 2:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
We put a message similar to the below one in our ActivityImplInvokeResponse message
Code: |
<ActivityImplInvokeResponse>
<Exception>
<RC>1107</RC>
<Parameters>
<Parameter>ABC </Parameter>
</Parameters>
<MessageText>
FMC01107E The MQMD format field value 'ABC 'of the XML document is
incorrect.\n
</MessageText>
<Origin>p:\v322 \src \fmcmmsg.cxx(113)</Origin>
</Exception>
</ActivityimplInvokeResponse>
|
_________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Mon May 12, 2003 2:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Is this documented someplace? Perhaps I need to do a closer reading of the Doc. I was unaware you could do this. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Mon May 12, 2003 2:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
In the Programming guide, XML interface section. For XML DTDs you can see the <ActivityImplInvokeResponse> containing <Exception>.
I was always concerned if we were doing it right. Looks like reasonable to do it, when your Activity Program implementation returns an Exception. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Mon May 12, 2003 2:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
I agree, (NOTE that I have not read the doc yet) but how did you know how to structure the message? I mean the exception code to use the parameters etc.
THANKS _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Mon May 12, 2003 2:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
It is in the DTD, Programming Guide v332 page 254. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|