|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Leave the MQ Admins out of it |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
dw.worker.bee |
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:18 pm Post subject: Leave the MQ Admins out of it |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 13 Feb 2012 Posts: 3
|
Hello, I’m fairly new to MQ but have some background with Tuxedo and Webmethods in the way of messaging tech.
The MQ administrators are part of a team and it seems like I get different answers depending on who I talk to each day. Some days this info is correct, some days, it is not. I want to be as self sufficient as possible. I know you all will put me in my place if you think I should RTFM or am in the wrong forum but, I have done my research. I don’t really have much of a client manual to go by so I mostly try stuff from the web. Could I have missed THE document I’m looking for? Yes, point me to it, admonish me and let me get though my project; I’m beaten. <smile>
We are starting to use MQs for more projects. The most common use of them is going to be with Informatica. I got a single one to work. I would like to write some perl or shell wrappers/scripts to quickly tell me, is the queue available? Are they all up? Can I write to it? Read from it? List the queues under a queue manager, depth, etc. I'd like to test it at the command line before I go mucking around in the Application or the environment.
So, we have MQ servers and my ETL nodes have the MQ client installed; version 7.0.1.3
I’d like to be able to log on to the target server. Run a ps for runmqlsr [ps -fu mqm|grep runmqlsr] that provides me the port number and the mq manager name. Right? On the client machine I would like to use the samp/bin commands to query the MQ manager to get information like Comm Channel names, queue names under the Manager, depth, configuration info. Any and all information that an admin would get through an Admin Console. I may run in to permission issues but I’ll handle that when I get there.
So, is there a samp/bin executable that I can run to get a list of available queues under a queue manager? How about one that says what comm. channel name they are using? I found a document that suggested using amqsinqc but I don’t see how to use it. It just lists the command.
I can write perl and shell and hope to use the API reference or Perl mod, once I get over this hump. Or, I might use a third-party app if one is suggested. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Have you looked at the capabilities of Eclipse MQ Explorer?
There are plenty of MQ monitoring and operational tools available from ISVs. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Your shop likely has one or more large scale monitoring solutions in place. These solutions likely have MQ monitoring capabilities.
Don't reinvent this wheel. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dw.worker.bee |
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 8:32 am Post subject: thanks? |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 13 Feb 2012 Posts: 3
|
Ok, so while I appreciate the responses I have gotten, one person is suggesting that I use a GUI and the other missed the part about self-sufficiency. S’all good I guess, the answers are in line with the silo’d MQ admins I deal with.
Ok, is there anyone else who has tried to code (shell, C+#, perl) some basic tools that work at the command line? I'm working on the PERL mods now so I may already be on the right track, I guess I was hoping for a head-start. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 8:44 am Post subject: Re: thanks? |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
dw.worker.bee wrote: |
Ok, so while I appreciate the responses I have gotten, one person is suggesting that I use a GUI and the other missed the part about self-sufficiency. S’all good I guess, the answers are in line with the silo’d MQ admins I deal with. |
What I don't get is why you (as an end user of WMQ) care about any of this. It's the job of the WMQ administrators to ensure that queue managers are running, connections are available and all that good stuff. They're probably using one of the methods mentioned by my most worthy associates to do it. So if you sit there with Infomatica, try and use WMQ & watch an WMQ exception fly past why not just raise a ticket with the admins then sit back fat & happy until they fix it?
Most importantly, if you do use / develop a tool to determine availablilty what will you do with the information? Most resolutions require admin access.
dw.worker.bee wrote: |
Ok, is there anyone else who has tried to code (shell, C+#, perl) some basic tools that work at the command line? I'm working on the PERL mods now so I may already be on the right track, I guess I was hoping for a head-start. |
Many people have. Most have given up & bought a 3rd party tool to keep down TCO and because their wheel squeaked. Or have used one of the support pacs for the limited queue viewing / queue depth kind of stuff so they can point their admins at less well monitored test environments.
I don't see why you're going for complete self sufficientcy, and not leveraging one of the developer centric tools available.
Our forum Perl expert will be along in a moment with more technical advice. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
The perl mods are halfway designed and built explicitly for the purpose you're looking at using them for. So there's that.
But if you don't have logon access to the queue manager servers, it's not going to do any good.
And all you'll really end up doing is duplicating all of the same information that your MQ admins already have in place. Or at least, duplicating the information that they should have in place.
It does indeed make some sense to have a basic connectivity/access check tool available, to ensure that any errors you see while performing a new application configuration are due to the configuration and not the application itself. But there's a bunch of supportpacs and the sample code that ships with the client for that, so it's not clear what value you'll get from reinventing the wheel.
but we're clearly not going to convince you to take another tact. So, yes, indeed, you can do most of what you're trying to do, provided you have OS level access to the servers hosting the queue managers. And yes, indeed, particularly with the perl mods, most of it is SMOP. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Look through the free support pacs before coding anything.
MO71 has many features including a certain amount of monitoring ability.
The capitalware open source programs are also worth looking at. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dw.worker.bee |
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 2:21 pm Post subject: Thanks! |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 13 Feb 2012 Posts: 3
|
You guys are solid with helping.
I apologize if my response was curt, I'm not really like that and hope to ask further questions.
One thing I wanted to address was that someone asked why I would care, and just open a ticket and sit back. I work for a very big company and the MQ Admins are outsourced. I'm the Infa admin and all around EM guy for a really big EDW. On some days I feel like they are purposly giving me bad information just for a good laugh. Some of them just don't care, they will roll off in a few weeks and become PeopleSoft Admins on their next rotation, JK, IDK
I'll give the GUIs more of a look but I can't schedule an hourly check in our corporate scheduler with one. For that, an "MQ-Ping" type script would be what I would want to do. I will keep working on my perl script/mods and see what that gets me.
I think I got my answer, so thanks all.
DWB |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|