Author |
Message
|
mqceries |
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:32 pm Post subject: Exceeded Simultaneous Sessions_Per_User_Limit |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 02 Dec 2011 Posts: 70
|
We are getting the following error on our production servers (Event Viewers), Searched a bit on it and found the only solutions are either to reduce the instances or increase session in Oracle. Can you please advice me how to calculate how many sessions being opened by WMB at a given point. We use Oracle SQL developer and dont know how to use "Session Browser".
Code: |
*****.XT Database error: SQL State ''HY000''; Native Error Code '2391'; Error Text ''[IBM][ODBC Oracle driver][Oracle]ORA-02391: exceeded simultaneous SESSIONS_PER_USER limit ''.
The error has the following diagnostic information: SQL State ''HY000'' SQL Native Error Code '2391' SQL Error Text ''[IBM][ODBC Oracle driver][Oracle]ORA-02391: exceeded simultaneous SESSIONS_PER_USER limit ''
This message may be accompanied by other messages describing the effect on the message broker itself. Use the reason identified in this message with the accompanying messages to determine the cause of the error.
|
Thanks.
Last edited by mqceries on Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:15 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 5:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
And read in the info center about User Database Connections. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqceries |
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 02 Dec 2011 Posts: 70
|
i got the following reply from my DBA, please guide me how to do this
"You can reduce your sessions and connections which would equate to threads on your side." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 1:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
mqceries wrote: |
please guide me how to do this |
mqjeff wrote: |
And read in the info center about User Database Connections. |
mqceries wrote: |
"You can reduce your sessions and connections which would equate to threads on your side." |
Tell him his job is to support your application, not the other way around. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqceries |
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 8:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 02 Dec 2011 Posts: 70
|
will restarting broker help the problem...will it releases connections. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
mqceries wrote: |
will restarting broker help the problem...will it releases connections. |
Have you found the part in the info center about User Database Connections yet?
I bet if you find that part and read it, it will be very helpful to this problem! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqceries |
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 02 Dec 2011 Posts: 70
|
yes i found and read it, it talks about restarting broker.
Quote: |
The broker makes the connections when it needs to use them, and they remain open until one of the following events occurs:
The message flow has been idle for one minute
The message flow is stopped
The broker is stopped
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
mqceries wrote: |
yes i found and read it, it talks about restarting broker.
Quote: |
The broker makes the connections when it needs to use them, and they remain open until one of the following events occurs:
The message flow has been idle for one minute
The message flow is stopped
The broker is stopped
|
|
That says that it will close them when the broker is restarted, yes.
It also says it will close them when the message flow is stopped.
It also says it will close them after one minute of inactivity.
That page also provides you with information about figuring out how many connections are in use at any given time. Or at least at figuring out how many can be in use at any one time. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Does this not tell you something?
Quote: |
The message flow has been idle for one minute
|
The connection gets dropped if there have been no messages passing through the flow for 60 seconds.
Therefore, your broker is BUSY enough for this idle timeout not to happen.
Please tell your DBA's that the broker is working as it says on the tin. The need to increase the resources at the DB end.
Ask your self what happens when some more flows get deployed to the broker and even more DB resources are going to be needed. Who is going to stop what flow and when in order to conserve the DB connections? What if this happens at 03:00 on a Monday Morning? Are you going to get called out just to restart the broker simply because the DBA's are not doing their job?
Did you do any load testing for this enviroenment? That should have shown up the lack of DB connection resources. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqceries |
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 02 Dec 2011 Posts: 70
|
thank you very much for your replies, and appreciate a lot. I am going to talk with them shortly and update you guys.. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqceries |
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 02 Dec 2011 Posts: 70
|
following is the reply from dba, anythoughts and guidance how to start.
Quote: |
The connection limit is set to 30 and out of the 30 connections all are inactive with the exception of 1. You need to make sure your code is using connection pooling and that you are closing your pooled connections after so long.
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqceries wrote: |
following is the reply from dba, anythoughts and guidance how to start.
Quote: |
The connection limit is set to 30 and out of the 30 connections all are inactive with the exception of 1. You need to make sure your code is using connection pooling and that you are closing your pooled connections after so long.
|
|
Get another DBA?
Make sure you can't exceed 30 connections in your configuration to matter how hard the broker is loaded? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Last edited by Vitor on Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:18 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Are you using the DataDirect driver that comes with broker? what's in your odbc.ini file for the DSN in question? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
If you have 200 threads, 30 connections will never be enough. Yes, one may be active at any given time, and you will need 200 max conx. Push back on the DBA again.
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmbhelp/v7r0m0/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.etools.mft.doc%2Fbj13600_.htm
Quote: |
You can achieve this by setting the maxConnectionPoolSize property of the JDBCProviders configurable service to a non zero integer value.
This property acts at the execution group level to specify the maximum number of connection threads that can be used. A value of zero defaults to the standard WebSphere® Message Broker Version 7.0 behavior, where one JDBC connection is created for each message flow thread.
|
_________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|