Author |
Message
|
SandiSan |
Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 6:05 am Post subject: Cobol Unicode Message Issue on MQ |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 01 Apr 2006 Posts: 57 Location: Pune/India
|
Hi,
We are receiving cobol Unicode message with CCSID 1200. When I stop the message flow and browse the message received on MQ queue I find that some of the data is missing.
I cross checked with Cobol team they say that they are passing everything. So, I am assuming that data might be getting lost while traversing through MQ which is strange to believe.
Does anyone faced such issue. Any pointer on this would be very helpful. In case any additional information pls let me know.
Thanks
Sandisan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 6:10 am Post subject: Re: Cobol Unicode Message Issue on MQ |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
SandiSan wrote: |
data might be getting lost while traversing through MQ |
NOT
Push back on your application team. Data does not disappear from MQ messages. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 7:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
CCSID 1200 is a double byte character set. You wouldn't be missing half the data by any chance?
Is the message length set correctly by whatever puts the message? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
SandiSan |
Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 01 Apr 2006 Posts: 57 Location: Pune/India
|
Issue was not with MQ we were able to read the data.However, now issue is sending it back. Scenario is we receive Unicode data from mainframe system over MQ from WMB message flow we read the unicode data call a webservice get a response and the again create a unicode response for cobol.
Now the issue is in response nothing is there but, we can see the data in debug. We are setting the properties & mqmd what we recieved originally from mainframe before sending back response. Following were the CCSID & Encoding received and we are using the same while sending the response
CodedCharSetId:1200
Encoding:785
Even when I see the data in RFHUTIL nothing is there.
Please let me know you thoughts
Thanks
Sandisan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
You don't have a parser properly associated with your logical message tree.
Or the wrong thing is the last child of OutputRoot. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
SandiSan |
Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 4:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 01 Apr 2006 Posts: 57 Location: Pune/India
|
When I pass the response message through RCD node it doesn't give any parse error.However, most of the text data vanishes and I see 00000 for some of the fields.
Is it anything to do with encoding & CCSID. Or setting in Message Set for Unicode Cobol Data.
Thanks
Sandisan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 5:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
SandiSan wrote: |
When I pass the response message through RCD node it doesn't give any parse error.However, most of the text data vanishes and I see 00000 for some of the fields. |
Are you looking in the debugger or through a user trace? Also why are you using an RCD?
SandiSan wrote: |
Is it anything to do with encoding & CCSID. Or setting in Message Set for Unicode Cobol Data. |
It sounds a lot more like the previous posters suggestion - the message tree is badly formed and/or you're trying to form a message tree with an RCD node (which often isn't a good idea). _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 5:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
The RCD node will do nothing to serialize your message tree.
You are having an issue serializing your message tree.
Either you have a logical message tree that is not associated with a parser, perhaps you built something under Environment without CREATE FIELD ... DOMAIN..., or you have put something other than your message as the last child of OutputRoot.
At a bare minimum, use a TRACE node right before your Output node. Have it produce ${Root}. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|