ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Mainframe, CICS, TXSeries » JCL error to run MO03 support pack pgm - QLOAD

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 JCL error to run MO03 support pack pgm - QLOAD « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
flytang1
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2011 8:26 pm    Post subject: JCL error to run MO03 support pack pgm - QLOAD Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 20 Apr 2011
Posts: 9

Hi all, i uploaded the MO03 support pack to z/OS , and try to run JCL provided with the pack but error throwed. I am not familiar with the JCL. Could anyone help me to figure out what the error is, and how to write the JCL. ? i don't know how to pass the long parameter to the PGM invoking. Many thanks!!!!!!!!!



************************* TOP OF DATA **********************************
1 //QMGRQLOD JOB (CC),'DEF OBJECTS',
// CLASS=A,MSGCLASS=X, MSGLEVEL=(1,1),
// NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//*
//******************************************************************
//* DEFINE MQ OBJECTS
//******************************************************************
2 //JOBLIB DD DSN=FLYTANG1.QLOAD.LOAD,DISP=SHR
3 // DD DSN=MQM.QMGR.SCSQAUTH,DISP=SHR
4 // DD DSN=MQM.QMGR.SCSQANLE,DISP=SHR
//********************************************************************
//* EXAMPLES OF HOW TO PASS PARMS TO QLOAD IN BATCH *
//********************************************************************
//*Q1 EXEC PGM=QLOAD,PARM=('-MMQ23 -IQ1 -ETEXT -FSTDOUT')
5 //Q2 EXEC PGM=QLOAD,PARM=('-m QMGR -i PEDT.ESH.ANZ.OUT.QL
6 // -f"//''FLYTANG1.MY.PDS(onerecord)''" -r#1')
//*OFILE DD DISP=SHR,DSN=MY.DSN
************************ BOTTOM OF DATA



Error msg:

STMT NO. MESSAGE
5 IEFC621I EXPECTED CONTINUATION NOT RECEIVED
6 IEFC605I UNIDENTIFIED OPERATION FIELD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

I don't have a z/OS machine to hand to try this, but I seem to remember a non-space character in col 72 is a continuation mark.

You may get more luck posting this in a z/OS forum - this is a JCL question not a WMQ one and you may find more JCL users in there than you will in here.

Dying breed we are.

And I echo the comments of my most worthy associate here. Don't double post, and especially not because no-one's answered you immediately. We're all volunteers in here, with day jobs, and answer on an "as available" basis.

If you're got an urgent problem, raise a PMR with IBM who have people who's day job is actually to answer questions like this quickly.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flytang1
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 20 Apr 2011
Posts: 9

Vitor wrote:
I don't have a z/OS machine to hand to try this, but I seem to remember a non-space character in col 72 is a continuation mark.

You may get more luck posting this in a z/OS forum - this is a JCL question not a WMQ one and you may find more JCL users in there than you will in here.

Dying breed we are.

And I echo the comments of my most worthy associate here. Don't double post, and especially not because no-one's answered you immediately. We're all volunteers in here, with day jobs, and answer on an "as available" basis.

If you're got an urgent problem, raise a PMR with IBM who have people who's day job is actually to answer questions like this quickly.


Thanks Votor. It is solved now, syntax issue. thank you very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cicsprog
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 27 Jan 2002
Posts: 347

Making your job an instream PROC will help you not having these type of errors and having to count how long your parm string is:

// Jobcard
//*
//***************************************
//*** JCL is (case sensative)
//***************************************
//*** IBM Supportpac MA01
//*** This utility does many things.
//*** But, this example shows moving
//*** messages from Q1 to Q2 while Q2
//*** has open IPROCs
//***************************************
//*** -m"MQM Name" -I"Input Queue"
//*** -O"Output Queue" -L"# msgs to do"
//***************************************
//*** This is a destructive MQGET
//***************************************
//MQUTIL PROC MQM='MQ??',
// QUE1='?????',
// QUE2='?????',
// NMSG='#####'
//*
//QTOQ EXEC PGM=Q,
// PARM=('-m&MQM -I&QUE1 -O&QUE2 -L&NMSG')
//STEPLIB DD DISP=SHR,DSN=HUGHSON.Q.LOAD
// DD DISP=SHR,DSN=MQLIB.SCSQAUTH
// DD DISP=SHR,DSN=MQLIB.SCSQANLE
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
// PEND
//************************************************
//STEP1 EXEC MQUTIL,
// MQM='MQD0',
// QUE1='SYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUEUE',
// QUE2='SYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUEUE2',
// NMSG='10000'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

cicsprog wrote:
Making your job an instream PROC will help you not having these type of errors and having to count how long your parm string is:

// Jobcard
//*
//***************************************
//*** JCL is (case sensative)
//***************************************
//*** IBM Supportpac MA01
//*** This utility does many things.
//*** But, this example shows moving
//*** messages from Q1 to Q2 while Q2
//*** has open IPROCs
//***************************************
//*** -m"MQM Name" -I"Input Queue"
//*** -O"Output Queue" -L"# msgs to do"
//***************************************
//*** This is a destructive MQGET
//***************************************
//MQUTIL PROC MQM='MQ??',
// QUE1='?????',
// QUE2='?????',
// NMSG='#####'
//*
//QTOQ EXEC PGM=Q,
// PARM=('-m&MQM -I&QUE1 -O&QUE2 -L&NMSG')
//STEPLIB DD DISP=SHR,DSN=HUGHSON.Q.LOAD
// DD DISP=SHR,DSN=MQLIB.SCSQAUTH
// DD DISP=SHR,DSN=MQLIB.SCSQANLE
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
// PEND
//************************************************
//STEP1 EXEC MQUTIL,
// MQM='MQD0',
// QUE1='SYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUEUE',
// QUE2='SYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUEUE2',
// NMSG='10000'

This is basic z/OS MVS stuff, and not magic. If you type a non-blank character in 72, the JCL parser assumes that the next line is a continuation of the current line.

The ISPF editor has a cols line command that will insert a non-data line that will show you where continuation column 72 is.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cicsprog
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 27 Jan 2002
Posts: 347

Using the instream PROC makes it much easier. Example:

Code:

//* X in COL 72 but still JCL's off since continuation is COL 4
//QTOQ EXEC PGM=Q,                                                     
// PARM=('-mMQD0 -I&SYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUEUE-OSYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUX
// EUE2 -L10000')                                           
//SYSOUT   DD SYSOUT=*                                                 
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*       

//* X in COL 72 but continuation needs to start in COL 16 to work
//QTOQ EXEC PGM=Q,                                                     
// PARM=('-mMQD0 -I&SYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUEUE-OSYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUX
//             EUE2 -L10000')                                           
//SYSOUT   DD SYSOUT=*                                                 
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*   


Really some poor parsing syntax checking design by IBM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Melbourne, Australia

cicsprog wrote:
Really some poor parsing syntax checking design by IBM

for punch cards in the mid 1960's
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cicsprog
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 27 Jan 2002
Posts: 347

gbaddeley wrote:
cicsprog wrote:
Really some poor parsing syntax checking design by IBM

for punch cards in the mid 1960's


LOL I guess I should come them some slack since they have provided me income for 32 years.

It's probably been APAR'd since then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

cicsprog wrote:
gbaddeley wrote:
cicsprog wrote:
Really some poor parsing syntax checking design by IBM

for punch cards in the mid 1960's


LOL I guess I should come them some slack since they have provided me income for 32 years.

It's probably been APAR'd since then.

1960's?? You're off by a few decades.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Melbourne, Australia

cicsprog wrote:
LOL I guess I should come them some slack since they have provided me income for 32 years.
It's probably been APAR'd since then.

My first exposure to JCL was in 1980. I had to write a JCL syntax validator in the SNOBOL4 language ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SNOBOL ) on a DEC-20 as an assignment at uni. I thought JCL was a dinosaur back then!
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

gbaddeley wrote:
I thought JCL was a dinosaur back then!

While watching a 1940's vintage black-and-white movie (Casablanca) on tv, my 7 year old granddaughter asked me incredulously why would anyone invent black-and-white, since color is so much better?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Mainframe, CICS, TXSeries » JCL error to run MO03 support pack pgm - QLOAD
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.