ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » EBCDIC file from Mainfram to AIX (ascii) through MQ

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 EBCDIC file from Mainfram to AIX (ascii) through MQ « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Harshalw
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 4:40 am    Post subject: EBCDIC file from Mainfram to AIX (ascii) through MQ Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 77

Hi , I am getting a EBCDIC file from mainframe on AIX server through MQ. The file should be saved as text(ascii). I have a code which get the data from queue and store it some directory. But when it gets downloaded the files becomes unreadable.

Can you pls let me know the ways/steps for doing so.

I have set gmo.Options != MQGMO_CONVERT; in my code .

and this is what i see when downloaded the file
# more try1.txt
```````````````````````````````````@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ññðôñô@@@@ðôóôðø@ÉÂÔ@ÉäÖ@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@````````

On AIX - CCSID = 819

ON mainframe - MQ format = MQSTR
CCSID = 277 , encoding = 785
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 4:48 am    Post subject: Re: EBCDIC file from Mainfram to AIX (ascii) through MQ Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

Harshalw wrote:
On AIX - CCSID = 819

ON mainframe - MQ format = MQSTR
CCSID = 277 , encoding = 785


What's CCSID 277? Most EBCDIC I've seen is 500 (which is not to say 277 isn't valid) but:

Has the sys admin confirmed the AIX box has a conversion from 277->819? I bet it does for 500->819 but 277->819 might be an optional one that not installed & the box is defaulting to something else.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

It would be helpful if you use a utility to dump (display in hex) the data.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skoobee
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 52

[code]gmo.Options != MQGMO_CONVERT[/code]

That should be

[code]gmo.Options |= MQGMO_CONVERT[/code]

277 is Danish/Norwegian EBCDIC

The WMQ manual (APR, Conversion .. Danish & Norwegian) states that conversion is possible between 277 & 819.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

skoobee wrote:
277 is Danish/Norwegian EBCDIC


This would certainly explain why I've not seen it

skoobee wrote:
The WMQ manual (APR, Conversion .. Danish & Norwegian) states that conversion is possible between 277 & 819.


And (presumably) on a Danish/Norwegian box would be installed as standard
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

Does the MQGET return a non-zero return code?

You may have to enable something called MQ "default data conversion" which is used when specific EBCDIC/ASCII codepage pairs are not available.

It involves editing a file called ccsid.tbl or something like that.

What happens when you browse the AIX queue with MO71 - is the message data readable or not?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shashivarungupta
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 1343
Location: Floating in space on a round rock.

Just a case :
Recently, I have faced similar kind of issue with an application which was sending data from aix to mainframe and they were forcing to change CONVERT property on channels to YES, though I've asked for 'why' !
Code:
http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=43736&sid=7835ad45522fd66eb26eb2811ee40587

http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=49447

These are few of the discussions on CONVERT, in this forum.

Finally, I did set the CONVERT(YES) on cluster receiver channel and also checked the CONVERT On Cluster qmgrs. It worked fine for them. (They had some good reasons to support business to set CONVERT as YES)


_________________
*Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Harshalw
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 77

Its gmo.Options |= MQGMO_CONVERT in Code {sorry my typo}

Mainframe is our client server and they are not ready to change on their side for CONVERT(YES)

Only option is to change on receiving side .

@zpat - I am not sure hoe to browse the AIX queue with MO71. Can you pls give the details on how to do that ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

Download IBM support pac MO71. Configure it to connect to your queue manager. List the queues. Browse one with messages on.

MO71 will by default convert the messages browsed to ASCII before displaying them (but the queued messages are unchanged).

In the browse dialog select the context menu (right button) and try changing the convert option on/off. Refresh the message list each time - watch what happens to the CCSID and message data.

Note - this does not change the messages on the queue, but allows you to see the effect of MQGMO_CONVERT (since that is what MO71 is doing).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Harshalw
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 77

does that work on AIX ?

any other ways , i can check for ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

MO71 runs on Windows, but it can connect to a QM on any platform using the MQ client. Why not try it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Harshalw
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 77

I tried different things ..

MQGMO_CONVERT and also setting up the conversion file on AIX box .

Still .. its not working .. file is getting downloaded and not readable ..

This is file setup on AIX box -
bos.iconv.da_DK 5.3.0.0 COMMITTED EBCDIC & ASCII Language

Anything else i am missing here ? pls suggest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr Butcher
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 23 May 2005
Posts: 1716

maybe you can run amqsbcg sample when one of those messages is in the queue on aix if MO71 is not handsome for you. or (or maybe and) have your mainframe colleagues dump the message header and content when it is on the transmission queue on the mainframe. they should have proper tools at hand.
_________________
Regards, Butcher
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

Did you try enabling the default conversion as I mentioned - this is specifically used for cases where the EBCDIC code page is not explicitly supported (as seems likely in your case)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rekarm01
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 1415

Harshalw wrote:
I tried different things ..

MQGMO_CONVERT and also setting up the conversion file on AIX box .

Still .. its not working .. file is getting downloaded and not readable

Using either amqsbcg0 sample program or MO71 supportpac (display format = hex, ascii column) or similar tool, browse the AIX input queue, and post the MQ header contents, and message contents in hex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Page 1 of 3

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » EBCDIC file from Mainfram to AIX (ascii) through MQ
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.