ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Client vs Bindings

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Client vs Bindings « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
vandana
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2001 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 01 Dec 2001
Posts: 74

I'm working on MQSeries on java(Windows NT 4.0)

I initially worked with the client mode
giving the hostname,portno and the channel name.the appliction did put the message the queue.
Now I added the following
MQEnvironment.properties.put(MQC.TRANSPORT_PROPERTY, MQC.TRANSPORT_MQSERIES_BINDINGS);
and commented out the details specifying
the hostname,portno and the channel name.
I got a runtime error of a missing dll
named mqjbnd02.dll.so i copied the dll into the path where i was working.the application
did work and i could out the message on the
queue.
The problem is even when i comment out
MQEnvironment.properties.put(MQC.TRANSPORT_PROPERTY, MQC.TRANSPORT_MQSERIES_BINDINGS);

the message is put in the queue when the specified dll is in the path.


The docs state
MQC.TRANSPORT_MQSERIES is the default, which selects bindings or client based on the value of "hostname".

If i did not speficy bindings and
no details of hostname are given
why does it not give a runtime error ??




Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vandana
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2001 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 01 Dec 2001
Posts: 74


i have another problem.
using the client connections mode
i can connect to a qm on a diff mac
specifying the hostname,portno,svrconn channel name,qmname and the q name of the other mach.
using the bindings mode i cannot do so.

can i connect only to a qm created on my mac using the bindings mode?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ewan_withers
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2001 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Dec 2001
Posts: 3

An MQSeries Java Bindings Connection to a queue manager can only be made if the application is running on the same physical machine as the queue manager. This method of connection uses the mqjbnd02.dll, hence you need it. It is also the default setting in the MQSeries Java environment. A bindings connection makes no use of hostname, port or channelname - it is a direct connection to the queue manager.

An MQSeries Java Client Connection to a queue manager can be made from either the same machine or a different machine to that where the queue manager exists. It does not need the mqjbnd02.dll. You need to alter either your MQEnvironment directly or set hostname, port and channelname (and then they'll get picked up by the default Environment setting of MQC.TRANSPORT_MQSERIES).

Setting the Environment to BINDINGS or CLIENT will force that type of connection - so if you choose BINDINGS from another machine to that where the queue manager is it will fail, and likewise if you choose CLIENT and then don't set the hostname, port and channelname.

So to answer your questions:

1. BINDINGS not specified and no hostname does not give a runtime error because the default Environment setting chooses bindings because you've not set the hostname.

2. Correct. You can only connect with bindings to a queue manager on the same machine as your application.

Hope this helps,

Ewan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vandana
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2001 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 01 Dec 2001
Posts: 74


Thanks !!
i think i've understood.
in which cases would u use a client connection or a bindings mode.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Client vs Bindings
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.