Author |
Message
|
Gideon |
Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:51 pm Post subject: Out of Memory |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 18 Aug 2009 Posts: 403
|
I am getting the following error:
Code: |
bash-4.1$ mqsilist
JVMDUMP006I Processing dump event "systhrow", detail "java/lang/OutOfMemoryError" - please wait.
JVMDUMP032I JVM requested Snap dump using '/var/mqsi/common/errors/Snap.20110426.140148.7107.0001.trc' in response to an event
UTE001: Error starting trace thread for "Snap Dump Thread": -1
JVMDUMP010I Snap dump written to /var/mqsi/common/errors/Snap.20110426.140148.7107.0001.trc
JVMDUMP032I JVM requested Heap dump using '/var/mqsi/common/errors/heapdump.20110426.140148.7107.0002.phd' in response to an event
JVMDUMP010I Heap dump written to /var/mqsi/common/errors/heapdump.20110426.140148.7107.0002.phd
JVMDUMP032I JVM requested Java dump using '/var/mqsi/common/errors/javacore.20110426.140148.7107.0003.txt' in response to an event
JVMDUMP010I Java dump written to /var/mqsi/common/errors/javacore.20110426.140148.7107.0003.txt
JVMDUMP013I Processed dump event "systhrow", detail "java/lang/OutOfMemoryError".
BIP8075E: A Java exception was caught from class 'com/ibm/broker/config/util/MQSIList.main'. The text is 'java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Failed to create a thread: retVal -1073741830, errno 11'.
A Java exception was caught via the JNI.
Check preceding messages for related errors and retry the operation |
Apparently I have an out of memory condition, so I checked the heap size
Code: |
bash-4.1$ mqsilist
BIP1285I: Broker 'WQM1' on queue manager 'WQM1' is stopped.
BIP1285I: Broker 'WQM2' on queue manager 'WQM2' is stopped.
BIP8071I: Successful command completion.
bash-4.1$ mqsistart WQM2
WebSphere MQ queue manager 'WQM2' starting.
18 log records accessed on queue manager 'WQM2' during the log replay phase.
Log replay for queue manager 'WQM2' complete.
Transaction manager state recovered for queue manager 'WQM2'.
WebSphere MQ queue manager 'WQM2' started.
BIP8096I: Successful command initiation, check the system log to ensure that the component started without problem and that it continues to run without problem.
bash-4.1$ mqsireportproperties WQM2 -e e1 -o ComIbmJVMManager -a
ComIbmJVMManager
uuid='ComIbmJVMManager'
userTraceLevel='none'
traceLevel='none'
userTraceFilter='none'
traceFilter='none'
resourceStatsReportingOn='inactive'
resourceStatsMeasurements='<ResourceStatsSwitches ResourceType="JVM" version='1'> <Measurement name="InitialMemoryInMB" collect="on" /> <Measurement name="UsedMemoryInMB" collect="on" /> <Measurement name="CommittedMemoryInMB" collect="on" /> <Measurement name="MaxMemoryInMB" collect="on" /> <Measurement name="CumulativeGCTimeInSeconds" collect="on" /> <Measurement name="CumulativeNumberOfGCCollections" collect="on" /> </ResourceStatsSwitches>'
jvmVerboseOption='none'
jvmDisableClassGC='false'
jvmShareClasses='false'
jvmNativeStackSize='-1'
jvmJavaOSStackSize='-1'
jvmMinHeapSize='33554432'
jvmMaxHeapSize='-1'
jvmDebugPort='0'
jvmSystemProperty=''
keystoreType=''
keystoreFile=''
keystorePass='********'
truststoreType=''
truststoreFile=''
truststorePass='********'
BIP8071I: Successful command completion. |
I get -1 on mqx heap size, so I assume it is unlimited
Any ideas what should I do from here ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
WMBDEV1 |
Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:39 pm Post subject: Re: Out of Memory |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 Posts: 888 Location: UK
|
Gideon wrote: |
Any ideas what should I do from here ? |
Provide more details about the scenario when the outofmemory occurs? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gideon |
Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 18 Aug 2009 Posts: 403
|
This only happens under 2 conditions:
1> This only happens with RHEL 6 and WMB 7.0.0.2
2> I configure the qmgr associated with the broker as follows:
Code: |
Channels:
MQIBindType=FASTPATH
MaxChannels=1000
MaxActiveChannels=1000 |
If I use RHEL 6 and WMB 7.0.0.0 2nad use th efollowing
Code: |
Channels:
MQIBindType=FASTPATH
MaxChannels=100
MaxActiveChannels=100 |
The issue does NOT occur
If I use RHEL 5.6 and WMB 7.0.0.0 with the following
Code: |
Channels:
MQIBindType=FASTPATH
MaxChannels=1000
MaxActiveChannels=1000 |
The issue does NOT occur |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gideon |
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 18 Aug 2009 Posts: 403
|
The problems appears to be related to RHEL 6, not WMB 7.0.0.2
However I do not see why channels=1000 would cuase out of memory or process and thread problems (I set processes to 4096)
Nor do I understand why an out of memory condition would occur with the max java heap set to -1 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqwlk |
Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 6:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 04 May 2011 Posts: 2
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
davecrighton |
Posted: Sun May 08, 2011 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 13 Jun 2007 Posts: 12
|
mqwlk is correct your heap with take the default max size, but Im not certain off the top of my head that the ComIbmJvmManager properties are picked up by mqsilist or not (they are set on the EG after all).
You could also try exporting IBM_JAVA_OPTIONS=-Xmx512M in the shell you use to execute the mqsilist command to see if in creasing the heap provides any relief.
The javacore will tell you if the JVM was actually able to allocate its maximum heap size and the phd file can be used to show what objects are leaking using a tool like heaproots http://www.alphaworks.ibm.com/tech/heaproots) or heap analyzer (http://www.alphaworks.ibm.com/tech/heapanalyzer. If these show huge portions of heap held by com.ibm package objects you may well need to open a PMR. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 4:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
You may like to try normal binding mode, rather than FASTPATH. Unless you have a real business requirement to do real-time processing, you will find that normal binding is plenty swift. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matuwe |
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 05 Dec 2007 Posts: 296
|
I am also having this problem... Has anyone managed to fix it. It seems to work fine, except when I start my fourth broker then I get this error.. Tried to increase the heap size, but didn't work..
Please help  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
This problem also occurs when the installation procedure was not followed. Especially chapter 6 of the installation guide. The order of the steps are very important, especially the ones where the Group Id and User Id was created before the installer was run. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|