Author |
Message
|
jerryz |
Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 2:55 am Post subject: unmanaged subscription with MQv7 JMS |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 Posts: 6
|
The MQ v6 behaviour, when unmanaged subscriptions -
and so user-defined durable subscriptions queues - could be used with
JMS. This has been changed at v7; the JMS spec regarding subscriptions
makes no reference to these queues - this was part of the v6-specific
implementation of this which has now been changed to be more in keeping
with the spec.
I am upgrading MQ6 to MQ7 and want to have my user-defined durable subscriptions queues.
I know PROVIDERVERSION(6) will work, but I'll lose all MQ7 new features.
Anybody knows if there is any other way to address the issue? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:21 am Post subject: Re: unmanaged subscription with MQv7 JMS |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
jerryz wrote: |
The MQ v6 behaviour, when unmanaged subscriptions -
and so user-defined durable subscriptions queues - could be used with
JMS. This has been changed at v7; the JMS spec regarding subscriptions
makes no reference to these queues - this was part of the v6-specific
implementation of this which has now been changed to be more in keeping
with the spec.
I am upgrading MQ6 to MQ7 and want to have my user-defined durable subscriptions queues.
I know PROVIDERVERSION(6) will work, but I'll lose all MQ7 new features.
Anybody knows if there is any other way to address the issue? |
In V6 (like in V7) the user defined durable subscription queue is part of the subscription topic definition.
Experiment with JMS and RFHUtil(c) and you will get a much clearer picture. Remember as well that you might have to define an ALIAS in the form of SYSTEM.JMS....
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jerryz |
Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:05 pm Post subject: unmanaged subscription with MQv7 JMS |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 Posts: 6
|
In MQ6, we used to define JMS subscription like
define t(mq7test-t1) topic(mq7test.t1) brokerdursubq(SYSTEM.JMS.D.mq7test.t1)
In MQ7, it does not honour brokerdursubq(SYSTEM.JMS.D.mq7test.t1). When a subscriber starts subscribing to a topic, MQ7 will automatically assign a dynamic queue to it. This makes us very hard to monitor the queues.
What we want is that we want to manage the queue name ourself for JMS subscription. We tried PROVIDERVERSION(6) in TCF, and it worked, but we lost all MQ7 features.
Appreciate any suggestion here. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashikanth_in |
Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 8:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 26 Feb 2009 Posts: 123
|
You can create durable subscriptions administratively (for example using MQ Explorer) and there you can specify a queue on which you want to receive publications. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jerryz |
Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:30 pm Post subject: unmanaged subscription with MQv7 JMS |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 Posts: 6
|
Thanks for your post.
We tried defining subscriptions using MQ explorer, and noticed that the subscription name must follow the format as below
JMS:Queue Manager:clientID:Subscriber name
Though it works, it incurs extra steps for pub/sub. Can it be done via a script? We are running MQ7 on Solaris.
Is there any other way? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:00 pm Post subject: Re: unmanaged subscription with MQv7 JMS |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
jerryz wrote: |
Thanks for your post.
We tried defining subscriptions using MQ explorer, and noticed that the subscription name must follow the format as below
JMS:Queue Manager:clientID:Subscriber name
Though it works, it incurs extra steps for pub/sub. Can it be done via a script? We are running MQ7 on Solaris.
Is there any other way? |
Have you looked at "DEFINE SUB" using runmqsc ?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jerryz |
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:28 am Post subject: unmanaged subscription with MQv7 JMS |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 Posts: 6
|
Thanks for your suggestion. "DEFINE SUB" using runmqsc works, but it is not a good way to address the issue, because
1) We have to identify each subscriber and have its clientID, subscriber name and topic that it subscribes to. This incurs lots of admin works and risks missing some subscribers. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 6:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
The Infocenter has example code on how to code an app to use an Unmanaged subscription, but its not a JMS sample. Are you saying there doesn't appear to be a way for a JMS app to specify that it wants an Unmanaged MQ 7 subscription where the JMS app passes in the queue name it wants to use? _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
The Infocenter has example code on how to code an app to use an Unmanaged subscription, but its not a JMS sample. Are you saying there doesn't appear to be a way for a JMS app to specify that it wants an Unmanaged MQ 7 subscription where the JMS app passes in the queue name it wants to use? |
I had no problems using RFHUtil(c) to create such a subscription in V7.
In JMS just make sure the topic reflects the destination queue for the subscription. If in doubt, you can stop the broker and examine the subscription message with RFHUtil(c) on the SYSTEM.BROKER.CONTROL.QUEUE...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jerryz |
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:18 pm Post subject: unmanaged subscription with MQv7 JMS |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 Posts: 6
|
We are in the processing of migrating Mq6 to Mq7.
If we don't define subscriptions, Mq7 will assign a dynamatic queue to each subscription;
If we define, we need to have clientID, subscriber name and topic for each existing subscriber in Mq6.
Is there any way for us to have static queue for the subscription without pre-defining it? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jerryz |
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:08 pm Post subject: unmanaged subscription with MQv7 JMS |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 Posts: 6
|
To add on, we don't intend to alter the source code of the subscribers.
Another question:
Is there any command or utility to list out all subscriptions under a mq6 queue manager? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|