ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » Disable the default MQ channels

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Disable the default MQ channels « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
asterix20
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:19 pm    Post subject: Disable the default MQ channels Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Mar 2011
Posts: 6

Good day!
Our internal control requires that default mq channels must be disabled

>> A number of default MQ channels had not been disabled to prevent accidental and malicious use.
>> Review and disable the default MQ channels.

As I'm new with MQ, I searched - how possible to disable channels. How I understand, there is no enable/disable attribute for it.
For application connections we have separate SVRCONN channels.

I found only solution with:
- CHAD(DISABLE) parameter on queue manager. But as I understand this is only prevent auto-definition connection channels.
- set MCAUSER for default channels. But for that I need create specified user in system, am I right?

May be I missed something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fatherjack
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:29 am    Post subject: Re: Disable the default MQ channels Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 522
Location: Craggy Island

asterix20 wrote:
- set MCAUSER for default channels. But for that I need create specified user in system, am I right?


Just set the MCAUSER to a non-existent user e.g. 'nobody'.
_________________
Never let the facts get in the way of a good theory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:40 am    Post subject: Re: Disable the default MQ channels Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

fatherjack wrote:
asterix20 wrote:
- set MCAUSER for default channels. But for that I need create specified user in system, am I right?


Just set the MCAUSER to a non-existent user e.g. 'nobody'.


I would add to that with make it a user that cannot exist on the OS, i.e. a string of illegal characters or a length that exceeds the allowed etc., just in case someone thinks it a good idea to create that user (seen it done). Also you can set MAXMSGL to 1 and TRPTYPE to something not used on your system.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Melbourne, Australia

mcauser('nobody') is the defacto industry standard for disabling all the well-known 'inbound' channels. eg.
Code:
ALTER CHANNEL('SYSTEM.AUTO.RECEIVER') CHLTYPE(RCVR)     +
      MCAUSER('nobody') MAXMSGL(0)
ALTER CHANNEL('SYSTEM.DEF.CLUSRCVR')  CHLTYPE(CLUSRCVR) +
      MCAUSER('nobody') MAXMSGL(0)
ALTER CHANNEL('SYSTEM.DEF.RECEIVER')  CHLTYPE(RCVR)     +
      MCAUSER('nobody') MAXMSGL(0)
ALTER CHANNEL('SYSTEM.DEF.SERVER')    CHLTYPE(SVR)      +
      MCAUSER('nobody') MAXMSGL(0)
ALTER CHANNEL('SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN')   CHLTYPE(SVRCONN)  +
      MCAUSER('nobody') MAXMSGL(0)
ALTER CHANNEL('SYSTEM.AUTO.SVRCONN')  CHLTYPE(SVRCONN)  +
      MCAUSER('nobody') MAXMSGL(0)


You may have also defined CHANNEL('SYSTEM.ADMIN.SVRCONN') CHLTYPE(SVRCONN), watch out for this one.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cicsprog
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 27 Jan 2002
Posts: 347

Maybe I'm missing something - DELETE THEM????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

NO, NO. Do not delete SYSTEM.anything. These are templates for creation of other objects.

What is the problem now? Why do you want to delete them?

The next time you create a new channel, it will have the MCAUSER('nobody').
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cicsprog
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 27 Jan 2002
Posts: 347

Sorry Bruce...don't agree for any SYSTEM.DEF.*. They are easily recreateable. Not sure why I would ever recreate them however. If they want to secure and have no one use them, then remove them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asterix20
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Mar 2011
Posts: 6

Thanks for your answers.
With setting MACUSER I worried about same user in system, like exerk described.
As I understand with 'nobody' I need create same user on OS, with minimal privileges (so none could connect under it).

gbaddeley, thanks! I almost missed channels SYSTEM.AUTO.*

cicsprog, as bruce said we use default channels as templates to create other objects. That's why I need disable or restrict access to them (well as I understand).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

asterix20 wrote:
As I understand with 'nobody' I need create same user on OS, with minimal privileges (so none could connect under it).


No need. If the user nobody exists neither in the system, nor in your LDAP it works just as well. Don't assign any privileges, or if you have to, make sure you remove them all.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
asterix20
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Mar 2011
Posts: 6

ok, I got it
Thanks a lot for help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Melbourne, Australia

bruce2359 wrote:
NO, NO. Do not delete SYSTEM.anything. These are templates for creation of other objects.

What is the problem now? Why do you want to delete them?

The next time you create a new channel, it will have the MCAUSER('nobody').


Agree. Do not delete them. Be sure to remember to set MCAUSER('xxxxxxxxx') MAXMSGL(nnnnnnn) whenever you define a new channel of these types.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

You can change the system default objects to have the desired attributes for the new objects.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » Disable the default MQ channels
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.