Author |
Message
|
sonalika |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 1:19 am Post subject: Cluser Sender Channel is not working (RETRYING) |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Feb 2011 Posts: 11
|
Hello,
Need your help to solve below MQ Channel issue :-
I have a MQ cluster with 2 queue managers with each of its own full repository on 2 different AIX machines - MQ Verison 7.0.
Below Queue Managers details are in the MQ cluster :-
CLUSTER NAME - EPSSOS
QMAS1 - CLUSRCVR - 10.81.129.110 (5421)
QMGS1 - CLUSRCVR - 10.81.129.111 (5121)
QMAS1 - CLUSSDR TO QMGS1 - 10.81.129.111
QMGS1 - CLUSSDR TO QMAS1 - 10.81.129.110
My problem is - QMGS1 to QMAS1 - Cluster sender channel is not working. It is searching 1414 port instead of 5421 port.
Error :-
EXPLANATION: The attempt to allocate a conversation using TCP/IP to host 'HMQ01_svc
(10.81.129.110) (1414)' was not successful. However the error may be a
transitory one and it may be possible to successfully allocate a TCP/IP
conversation later.
ACTION:
Try the connection again later. If the failure persists, record the error
values and contact your systems administrator. The return code from TCP/IP is
79 (X'4F'). The reason for the failure may be that this host cannot reach the
destination host. It may also be possible that the listening program at host
'HMQ01_svc (10.81.129.110) (1414)' was not running. If this is the case,
perform the relevant operations to start the TCP/IP listening program, and try
again.
----- amqccita.c : 1290 -------------------------------------------------------
02/24/11 14:28:34 - Process(1450002.52) User(mqm) Program(amqrmppa)
Host(HMQ02)
AMQ9999: Channel program ended abnormally.
EXPLANATION: Channel program 'TO.EPSSOS.QMAS1' ended abnormally.
ACTION: Look at previous error messages for channel program 'TO.EPSSOS.QMAS1' in the
error files to determine the cause of the failure.
_____________________________________________________________
Please find below information :-
Right now my channel status as belows :-
****Queue Manager - QMAS1
dis chstatus(*)
1 : dis chstatus(*)
AMQ8417: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(TO.EPSSOS.QMGS1) CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR)
CONNAME(10.81.129.111(5121)) CURRENT
RQMNAME(QMGS1) STATUS(RUNNING)
SUBSTATE(MQGET) XMITQ(SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE)
****Queue Manager - QMGS1
dis chstatus(*)
2 : dis chstatus(*)
AMQ8417: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(TO.EPSSOS.QMAS1) CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR)
CONNAME(10.87.130.110) CURRENT
RQMNAME( ) STATUS(RETRYING)
SUBSTATE( ) XMITQ(SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE)
AMQ8417: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(TO.EPSSOS.QMGS1) CHLTYPE(CLUSRCVR)
CONNAME(10.81.129.110) CURRENT
RQMNAME(QMAS1) STATUS(RUNNING)
SUBSTATE(RECEIVE)
Can anyone please suggest Why (TO.EPSSOS.QMAS1) cluster sender channel status is "RETRYING" mode.
Below are display channel output from QMGS1 queue manager which has sender channel with QMAS1 queue manager.
dis channel(TO.EPSSOS.QMAS1)
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(TO.EPSSOS.QMAS1) CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR)
ALTDATE(2011-02-24) ALTTIME(12.38.04)
BATCHHB(0) BATCHINT(0)
BATCHSZ(50) CLUSNL( )
CLUSTER(EPSSOS) CLWLPRTY(0)
CLWLRANK(0) CLWLWGHT(50)
COMPHDR(NONE) COMPMSG(NONE)
CONNAME(10.81.129.110(5421)) CONVERT(NO)
Why it is trying to start TO.EPSSOS.QMAS1 - cluster sender channel on port 1414 port as QMAS1 is listen on 5421 port.
Please refer above dis channel information for reference.
Could you please help me to make this channel up and running.
Thanks,
Sonalika |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 1:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
What is wrong with this: CONNAME(10.81.129.110)
What does WMQ do when an IP Port number is not explicitly stated within a CONNAME? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sonalika |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:03 am Post subject: Re : subject: Cluser Sender Channel is not working (RETRYING |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Feb 2011 Posts: 11
|
Trying to figure out why it is not showing port 5421 in dis chstatus.
In display channel it is showing port 5421 properly.
dis channel(TO.EPSSOS.QMAS1)
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(TO.EPSSOS.QMAS1) CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR)
ALTDATE(2011-02-24) ALTTIME(12.38.04)
BATCHHB(0) BATCHINT(0)
BATCHSZ(50) CLUSNL( )
CLUSTER(EPSSOS) CLWLPRTY(0)
CLWLRANK(0) CLWLWGHT(50)
COMPHDR(NONE) COMPMSG(NONE)
CONNAME(10.81.129.110(5421)) CONVERT(NO)
But whenever it is trying to start (TO.EPSSOS.QMAS1) channel it is searching Port 1414 instead of 5421..This is the only information found in the logs...
I tried below steps to resolve this issue :-
1) stop channel
2) remove channel definition from cluster (alter channel)
3) update the "CONNAME(10.81.129.110(5421))"
4) update this definition into cluster (alter channel)
5) start the channel.
But situtation is the same. It is still trying to search port 1414 while starting the channel.
Is there any problem in the repositories? Do I need to REFRESH CLUSTER in the repositories as both are FR.
Looking for your suggeston to resolve the problem.
Sonalika......... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Tear down your cluster and start again, it will be good practice for you to get it right next time. The problem is obvious to me but see if you can spot it:
Code: |
QMAS1 - CLUSRCVR - 10.81.129.110 (5421)
QMGS1 - CLUSRCVR - 10.81.129.111 (5121)
QMAS1 - CLUSSDR TO QMGS1 - 10.81.129.111
QMGS1 - CLUSSDR TO QMAS1 - 10.81.129.110 |
Remember, a queue manager will try and communicate to the address it's told to, and with cluster channels if that initial information is incorrect it can be a pain to change it - as you are finding out. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sonalika |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Feb 2011 Posts: 11
|
Do you mean I have to stop entire cluster and re-start it again OR suspend the queue managers from cluster then make the changes and again resume the same in the cluster?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
You cannot 'stop' a cluster. If these two queue managers are your FR's, and they can't communicate, you have no cluster, so remove all references to your current 'cluster' and start again. And I stress, most strongly, that you examine my last post and identify where you went wrong before proceeding. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
The WMQ Cluster Queue Managers manual describes the steps necessary to successfully add, change and delete, a cluster object. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 6:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Presumably the OP is making random changes to the channels as indicated here. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
You need to read the cluster manual and follow procedure to change the cluster channels.
If the change does not take right away you can try to stop and start the cluster sender chls manually after the change on the cluster receiver...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 1:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
...after the change on the cluster receiver... |
I think the problem is more with the CLUSSDRs  _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
exerk wrote: |
fjb_saper wrote: |
...after the change on the cluster receiver... |
I think the problem is more with the CLUSSDRs  |
Of course it is. The clussdr never stopped so it could not pick up the change done on the clusrcvr. You may need to manually stop and restart it (runmqsc or mo72).
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sonalika |
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Feb 2011 Posts: 11
|
Hi,
Thanks for your support. Now both FR's are working fine and communicated each other.
I have add a new queue manager ('QMZP1') in this cluster as per the steps provided in QMGR Cluster manual.
1) Define CLUSRCVR channel on queue manager "QMZP1"
DEFINE CHANNEL(TO.EPSSOS.QMZP1) CHLTYPE(CLUSRCVR) CONNAME('10.81.129.112(5221)') CLUSTER('EPSSOS')
2) Define CLUSSDR channel in QMZP1 to "QMGP1" - (FR)
DEFINE CHANNEL(TO.EPSSOS.QMGP1) CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR) CONNAME('10.81.129.111(5121)') CLUSTER('EPSSOS')
Started the listener on QMZP1 (5221) and started the channels.
CLUSRCVR Channel is working fine but CLUSSDR channel is showing "RETRYING" mode.
dis channel (TO.EPSSOS.QMGP1)
2 : dis channel(TO.EPSSOS.QMGP1)
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(TO.EPSSOS.QMGP1) CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR)
ALTDATE(2011-02-26) ALTTIME(21.27.15)
BATCHHB(0) BATCHINT(0)
BATCHSZ(50) CLUSNL( )
CLUSTER(EPSSOS) CLWLPRTY(0)
CLWLRANK(0) CLWLWGHT(50)
COMPHDR(NONE) COMPMSG(NONE)
CONNAME(10.81.129.111(5121)) CONVERT(NO)
dis chstatus (TO.EPSSOS.QMGP1)
AMQ8417: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(TO.EPSSOS.QMGP1) CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR)
CONNAME(10.81.129.111) CURRENT
RQMNAME( ) STATUS(RETRYING)
SUBSTATE( ) XMITQ (SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE)
It is throwing below exception in /var/mqm/qmgrs/QMZP1/errors :-
02/26/11 21:58:34 - Process(1159174.52) User(ebpp) Program(amqrmppa)
AMQ9202: Remote host '10 (10.81.129.111) (1414)' not available, retry later.
EXPLANATION:
The attempt to allocate a conversation using TCP/IP to host '10 (10.81.129.111)
(1414)' was not successful. However the error may be a transitory one and it
may be possible to successfully allocate a TCP/IP conversation later.
ACTION:
Try the connection again later. If the failure persists, record the error
values and contact your systems administrator. The return code from TCP/IP is
79 (X'4F'). The reason for the failure may be that this host cannot reach the
destination host. It may also be possible that the listening program at host
'10 (10.81.129.111) (1414)' was not running. If this is the case, perform the
relevant operations to start the TCP/IP listening program, and try again.
Why it is trying to start "TO.EPSSOS.QMGP1" - cluster sender channel on port 1414 port as QMGP1 is listen on 5121 port.
Please refer above dis channel information for reference.
I tried to stop and start cluster receiver and sender channel but same error in sender channel. Cluster receiver is fine.
Could you please help me to make this sender channel up and running.
Sonalika. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
The automatic defined cluster sender channel is in retry mode.
As such it will not pick up any changes on the cluster receiver.
You are showing this as status:
Code: |
dis chstatus (TO.EPSSOS.QMGP1)
AMQ8417: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(TO.EPSSOS.QMGP1) CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR)
CONNAME(10.81.129.111) CURRENT
RQMNAME( ) STATUS(RETRYING)
SUBSTATE( ) XMITQ (SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE) |
What matters is not your definition of the cluster sender on the same box...
What matters is the definition of the cluster receiver on QMGP1...
If the cluster receiver on QMGP1 is not using port 1414, you should manually stop the cluster sender for which you are showing the status above and then restart it. Once you have done that check the status and you might see that the conname changed.
Also please don't use IP in a cluster. It is better practice to use a DNS name. This way there is no problem if the IP changes or is subjected to NAT traversal rules... as the DNS name can be setup to fit the new IP.
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
sonalika wrote: |
...Started the listener on QMZP1 (5221) and started the channels... |
Why? The listener should have been running already, and which channels, because the CLUSSDR should have started automatically as soon as it was defined, and the CLUSRCVR when the FR 'replied'? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|