ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Move messages from one queue to another

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Move messages from one queue to another « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
wmquser
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 3:09 am    Post subject: Move messages from one queue to another Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 32

Hi,
I have a java application which reads from the queue and process the message. For large message the application fails, in spite of increasing the heap size. I would like to know if there is a way to move the message from one queue to another thru the java application without reading the message. Please advise.

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

No, only MQGET and MQPUT can move a message.

There are plenty of utilities that can do this, MO71 for one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr Butcher
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 23 May 2005
Posts: 1716

on z/OS, there is a "move qlocal" command which then is performed by the queuemanager.
_________________
Regards, Butcher
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmquser
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 32

we are running the application on AIX, so we cant use that option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

wmquser wrote:
we are running the application on AIX, so we cant use that option.


Time for a support pac then?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:45 am    Post subject: Re: Move messages from one queue to another Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2080

wmquser wrote:
For large message the application fails, in spite of increasing the heap size.

How big is the message?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmquser
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 32

the message is 300MB which is segmented into 50MBs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2080

wmquser wrote:
the message is 300MB which is segmented into 50MBs.

OK. And what is the failure you mentioned?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmquser
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 32

i am getting out of memory error. I have increased the java heap size to 2048 also, but the same error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2080

wmquser wrote:
i am getting out of memory error.

Then I guess your app is out of memory.

One has to assume there is more detail than this.. did you go digging for more information?

For example, a full exception printout, entries in MQ error logs (look in /var/mqm/errors for example), system event logs, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmquser
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 32

Below is the exception logged when the application tries to get a message of 300mb (segmented into 50mb each) size. There is no MQ error log found for this error, as this is a application error.

JVMDUMP006I Processing Dump Event "systhrow", detail "java/lang/OutOfMemoryError" - Please Wait.
JVMDUMP007I JVM Requesting Snap Dump using '/Code/Snap0001.20100805.091919.1073274.trc'
JVMDUMP010I Snap Dump written to /Code/Snap0001.20100805.091919.1073274.trc
JVMDUMP007I JVM Requesting Heap Dump using '/Code/heapdump.20100805.091919.1073274.phd'
JVMDUMP010I Heap Dump written to /Code/heapdump.20100805.091919.1073274.phd
JVMDUMP007I JVM Requesting Java Dump using '/Code/javacore.20100805.091919.1073274.txt'
JVMDUMP010I Java Dump written to /Code/javacore.20100805.091919.1073274.txt
JVMDUMP013I Processed Dump Event "systhrow", detail "java/lang/OutOfMemoryError".
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:79)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:618)
at com.simontuffs.onejar.Boot.run(Boot.java:251)
at com.simontuffs.onejar.Boot.main(Boot.java:108)
Caused by: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError
at java.lang.StringCoding.decode(StringCoding.java:510)
at java.lang.StringCoding.decode(StringCoding.java:579)
at java.lang.String.<init>(String.java:165)
at java.lang.String.<init>(String.java:114)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2080

There is no mention of "mq" in the exception stack, so no direct evidence of a problem inside MQ, or anything related to MQ. My guess would be a memory leak somewhere, possibly in your main routine. Do you ensure all data is freed when it has been processed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmquser
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 32

I could able to complete this, I am doing a get and checking the data length and without reading the data I am moving the message into backout queue. I could able to process large message now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Move messages from one queue to another
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.