|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
MQ Messages compression in sdr / rcvr channel |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
guptavishesh6484 |
Posted: Thu May 13, 2010 12:32 am Post subject: MQ Messages compression in sdr / rcvr channel |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 04 Jun 2009 Posts: 3
|
I need to setup Sender -receiver channel pair between two MQ (V6.0) servers connected by Internet VPN.
As message rate is very high (300-400 per minute), i need to implement Message compression (RLE, ZLIB) as provided in sender / receiver channel configuration. I am tight on Network bandwidth but have moderate enough system (in terms of CPU and memory). Message size would be in the range of 70 to 90 KB and i am expecting to bring it down to 5-6 KB.
Can you please let me know if you have worked in this, or have any detailed documentation (IBM MQ Sys admin guide does not suggest much)? I need to work out
1) Which method (RLE, ZLIBFAST or ZLIBHIGH) would be good for my scenario and in which order.
2) How can i determine the level of compression it has done to the message.
3) How can i determine the increase in message propogation rate.
It would be great if you could mail me (guptavishesh6484@gmail.com) directly.
Regards,
Vishesh Gupta
guptavishesh6484@gmail.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Thu May 13, 2010 2:22 am Post subject: Re: MQ Messages compression in sdr / rcvr channel |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
guptavishesh6484 wrote: |
1) Which method (RLE, ZLIBFAST or ZLIBHIGH) would be good for my scenario and in which order. |
Test it and find out.
Quote: |
2) How can i determine the level of compression it has done to the message. |
Unless each message is the same, this number will differ for each and every message. I suggest you can use your network tools to measure the real numbers of bytes over a period of time (eg. 10 minutes).
Quote: |
3) How can i determine the increase in message propogation rate. |
I suggest you run a representative test, and use your network tools to measure the real numbers over the desired period of time.
In summary, run some tests. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
guptavishesh6484 |
Posted: Thu May 13, 2010 2:39 am Post subject: Re: MQ Messages compression in sdr / rcvr channel |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 04 Jun 2009 Posts: 3
|
mvic wrote: |
guptavishesh6484 wrote: |
1) Which method (RLE, ZLIBFAST or ZLIBHIGH) would be good for my scenario and in which order. |
Test it and find out.
[ReplyQuote_guptavishesh6484]
Thanks for this, "test & see" is always the best thing to do but Do you have any idea which method is preferred in which senario?
[/ReplyQuote_guptavishesh6484]
Quote: |
2) How can i determine the level of compression it has done to the message. |
Unless each message is the same, this number will differ for each and every message. I suggest you can use your network tools to measure the real numbers of bytes over a period of time (eg. 10 minutes).
[ReplyQuote_guptavishesh6484]
Thanks for your reply. Do we have some utility or support pac to monitor these things instead of depending on Network Monitoring tools?
[/ReplyQuote_guptavishesh6484]
Quote: |
3) How can i determine the increase in message propogation rate. |
I suggest you run a representative test, and use your network tools to measure the real numbers over the desired period of time.
[ReplyQuote_guptavishesh6484]
Thanks for your reply. Do we have some utility or support pac to monitor these things instead of depending on Network Monitoring tools?
[/ReplyQuote_guptavishesh6484]
In summary, run some tests. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Thu May 13, 2010 2:49 am Post subject: Re: MQ Messages compression in sdr / rcvr channel |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
Since you are new to the site, I would recommend using the "Preview" button to check that your post will look OK. The quoting has gone wrong in your post, and the Preview would help you get that correct.
guptavishesh6484 wrote: |
Thanks for this, "test & see" is always the best thing to do but Do you have any idea which method is preferred in which senario? |
Not for your scenario, no. Why not spend a couple of days, code and run the test, and you will then know for sure. No-one on this site knows your data, your hardware, your software, your requirements, and anyway any suggestion we might make, you would have to code and test in order to verify it was really correct.
Quote: |
Thanks for your reply. Do we have some utility or support pac to monitor these things instead of depending on Network Monitoring tools? |
None that I know of, but your network tools will be independent of MQ, so will give a more independent view. Others might know of a tool, though. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu May 13, 2010 5:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Search Mr. Google for data compression algorythms. Each offers different benefits.
The effective compression rate (percentage) varies dramatically on the conten of the data to be compressed; so we can't definitively tell you one is better (more effective) than the other.
There is a substantial trade-off between data compression and cpu utilization - at both ends of the channel. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu May 13, 2010 2:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
If you are on MQ V 6.0.2.6 or V 6.0.2.7 you might want to apply maintenance or ask for the APAR as there was a bug in msg compression. (It manifested itself on our cluster channels on AIX)  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JosephGramig |
Posted: Tue May 18, 2010 12:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 Posts: 1244 Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA
|
Recently, I came across the TCP_NODELYACK setting in reference to channels.
You need to set this to 1 and it is done different ways for different platforms. It will burn more memory and CPU but the channels will go faster. It must be set at both ends.
For Windows, it is a registry setting (wapos).
For AIX, no -p -o tcp_nodelayack=1
For System Z,
The TCP_NODELAYACK setting can be set at two levels:
1) TCPIPCONFIG statement:
NODELAYAcks (This will set NODELAYACKS for the whole TCPIP stack (all connections))
2) PORT statement for WMQ CHIN
PORT 1414 TCP xxxxCHIN NODELAYAcks (this will set nodelayacks only for port number associated with CHIN)
Have fun! I came across this working with WebSphere DataPower. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JosephGramig |
Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2021 6:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 Posts: 1244 Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA
|
Seems this can be set in the qm.ini as seen at the bottom of this page |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|