ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » MRM and unitialized fields

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 MRM and unitialized fields « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
sclarke
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2002 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 05 Jan 2002
Posts: 39

I have data coming from a legacy mainframe system which contains comp-3 fields. MQSI handles these just fine - they are defined as float in the MRM. I have a problem that some of these fields are initialized to spaces on the input. As mqsi parses this data, it fails because it is an invalid packed field. If I define these as string and then try to cast back as float I get an error as well. Is there any way to handle this?

Thanks for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mpuetz
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2002 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 05 Jul 2001
Posts: 149
Location: IBM/Central WebSphere Services

Hi,

COMP-3 means 3 byte length packed decimal encoding, allowing for 4 decimal digits, right ?
That means you are truly at a somewhat lost
position in this case since your trick parsing as string first and then recasting
to decimal o float won't work because you have a *packed* decimal encoding and MQSI can only do casts from an unpacked decimal encoded string.
If at all possible try to fix this
at the message generation level, so you will
have a valid COMP-3 compliant value in your message. Sigh, I know this is not always possible, so here is a tricky, but possible
route to solve this problem purely within
MQSI.

Basically you have to parsre your message
twice, first parse the fields with COMP-3
as BINARY type (available in MQSI 2.0.2)
then set all COMP-3 fields which are
all blanks to something meaning i.e.
0x00000F (for a 4 digit COMP-3 variable)
which means +0 in COMP-3 encoding.
Then you would reparse the message the
message with a ResetContentDescriptor node
with a slightly modified message type which
now parses the COMP-3 fields as floats in
3-byte packed decimal representation.
That should do the trick.

Note, that haven't tested this explicitly
but it worked for me in very similar situations. You should also be aware, that
reparsing the message is quite costly
in terms of performance (hence my suggestion
to fix this if possible at the source level).



_________________
Mathias Puetz

IBM/Central WebSphere Services
WebSphere Business Integration Specialist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rdw
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2003 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 16 Jan 2003
Posts: 3

Does anyone know if WMQI 2.1 CSDx has provided a more elegant way to deal with this problem?

It seems it is common for COBOL programs to INITIALIZE segments in their copybooks and if there is no information available in the database for these segments they will not be populated with valid COMP-3 values but rather spaces.

thanks
_________________
rdw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » MRM and unitialized fields
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.