Author |
Message
|
NotMe |
Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 7:41 am Post subject: Doing something wrong with amqspub/amqssub |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 25 Nov 2009 Posts: 26
|
I'm using MQ 7.0 on linux with the below configuration...
DEFINE TOPIC('FOOD') +
TOPICSTR('FOOD/') +
REPLACE
DEFINE TOPIC('MEAT') +
TOPICSTR('FOOD/MEAT/') +
REPLACE
DEFINE QL('FOOD') +
REPLACE
DEFINE QL('MEAT') +
REPLACE
DEFINE SUB('FOOD') +
DEST('FOOD') +
TOPICSTR('FOOD/') +
REPLACE
DEFINE SUB('MEAT') +
DEST('MEAT') +
TOPICSTR('FOOD/MEAT/') +
REPLACE
then I run /opt/mqm/samp/bin/amqspub...
./amqspub FOOD/MEAT/ QM1
Sample AMQSPUBA start
target topic is FOOD/MEAT/
TEST#20
TEST#21
TEST#22
Sample AMQSPUBA end
but when I run /opt/mqm/samp/bin/amqssub I get no data back. Is it something I am missing? What could I be doing wrong?
./amqssub FOOD/MEAT/ QM1
Sample AMQSSUBA start
Calling MQGET : 30 seconds wait time
no more messages
Sample AMQSSUBA end |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NotMe |
Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 25 Nov 2009 Posts: 26
|
Anyone, Anyone, Anyone, Bueller, Bueller, Bueller... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 5:56 pm Post subject: Re: Doing something wrong with amqspub/amqssub |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
NotMe wrote: |
but when I run /opt/mqm/samp/bin/amqssub I get no data back. Is it something I am missing? What could I be doing wrong? |
Publish gives a message to any subscribed subscribers.
The way you described this, it looks like your subscriber starts as a non-durable subscriber after the publish was done.
The publish therefore was done when this subscriber was not subscribed.
Result: the queue manager did not know about this subscriber at the time of the publish so could not deliver a message to it.
I don't know what opinions others hold on this, but this question is not related to WMB so should probably be moved to a different forum. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 6:16 pm Post subject: Re: Doing something wrong with amqspub/amqssub |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mvic wrote: |
I don't know what opinions others hold on this, but this question is not related to WMB so should probably be moved to a different forum. |
 _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
manicminer |
Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2009 1:14 am Post subject: Re: Doing something wrong with amqspub/amqssub |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 11 Jul 2007 Posts: 177
|
Vitor wrote: |
mvic wrote: |
I don't know what opinions others hold on this, but this question is not related to WMB so should probably be moved to a different forum. |
 |
I agree 3
Run your subscriber in a separate window. Then as you put you will see the messages arrive. _________________ Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nathanw |
Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2009 1:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 550
|
try doing the sample exercises like the soccer application this will help in the understanding of what is required and where _________________ Who is General Failure and why is he reading my hard drive?
Artificial Intelligence stands no chance against Natural Stupidity.
Only the User Trace Speaks The Truth  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NotMe |
Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2009 5:25 am Post subject: Re: Doing something wrong with amqspub/amqssub |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 25 Nov 2009 Posts: 26
|
manicminer wrote: |
Run your subscriber in a separate window. Then as you put you will see the messages arrive. |
Thanks. I ran the subscriber in a separate window and it worked... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|