Author |
Message
|
kash3338 |
Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:01 pm Post subject: Stop/Start Message flows |
|
|
Shaman
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 Posts: 709 Location: Chennai, India
|
Hi,
I have a requirement wherein i have stop the message flow for sometime during runtime based on a condition.
How do i acheive this during runtime??? Can i do it from ESQL?? The process should be automated and not like running separate scripts for it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
Well, it is not as easy as one might think... Start and stop of flows is an admin activity and enabling dev team to handle this, might prove risky... there's no direct way to achieve it... as such
but before discussing the various ways.. may i ask why do u want to start and stop the flows like this... what exactly is the requirement.... _________________ Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
au@kosa |
Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 04 Jan 2007 Posts: 103 Location: pune
|
I rememeber in our of our project i have started and stopped the message flow from with in the flow. The logic was incorporated in the exception handling and method used in Configuration manager Proxy Api invoked from Java compute node. _________________ Regards,
au@kosa
IBM Certified SOA Solution Designer/Associate |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
the_one |
Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:01 pm Post subject: Config Mgr Proxy |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 16 Dec 2008 Posts: 22 Location: PHX, AZ
|
Thats correct. I had a similar requirement and implemnted it via Config Mgr proxy and trigger monitor. (though on a test env.)
But as Akansh said ... stopping and starting of flows automatically is a bit tricky thing and should be justified with a proper requirement.
my two cents. _________________ See the marbles of the world, but never forget the drops of oil on the spoon. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqmatt |
Posted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:30 pm Post subject: Re: Config Mgr Proxy |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 04 Aug 2004 Posts: 1213 Location: Hursley, UK
|
the_one wrote: |
Thats correct. I had a similar requirement and implemnted it via Config Mgr proxy and trigger monitor. (though on a test env.)
But as Akansh said ... stopping and starting of flows automatically is a bit tricky thing and should be justified with a proper requirement.
my two cents. |
Good response.
Technically, the approach you suggest is the way to go. Incidentally, V7 more formally supports using the CMP inside a JavaCompute node, and adds some new methods to help you do it. See topic be43050_ in the v7 infocenter. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paustin_ours |
Posted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 1:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 667 Location: columbus,oh
|
using config proxy and trigger monitor to stop start flows is the best way to do it? Can you please explain?
We have used crontab in our environment to invoke flow stop starts. Do you think this is a bad approach?
we are also looking into timer nodes to achieve the same thing but not sure yet. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqmatt |
Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 04 Aug 2004 Posts: 1213 Location: Hursley, UK
|
TimeoutControl wired to a JavaCompute node containing a CMP app will do the trick. Crontab in conjunction with mqsistartmsgflows is fine too.
This said, message flows are designed to run continually so I'd echo the suggestion to look at what you're actually trying to achieve before jumping in to such a solution.
BTW, message flow triggering/throttling etc. is quite high on our TODO list for future items, so really interested in your feedback/requirements on this. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paustin_ours |
Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 667 Location: columbus,oh
|
Application wants their business traffic stopped for a particular period of time. Is it bad practice to do this at the message broker level? Should we look into other areas where we can do this? If so, do you have any patterns documentation that would supoort that? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
I've done this by properly configuring the underlying WMQ architecture.
Using multiple Queue Managers and separate channels between the source QM and the Broker QM. Then it is easy to stop the channel thus stopping the flow of data to a particular flow. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
I seem to remember that this is a simple XML message sent to the broker from the CM, just capture one and emulate it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
zpat wrote: |
I seem to remember that this is a simple XML message sent to the broker from the CM, just capture one and emulate it. |
I don't remember it being that simple, and why emulate it when you can get the CMP to generate a "real" one for you?
Though I remain unconvinced this is necessary, and this sort of requirement is better met elsewhere in the infrastructure. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
the_one |
Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 16 Dec 2008 Posts: 22 Location: PHX, AZ
|
Sorry to switch gears here....
mqmatt wrote: |
BTW, message flow triggering/throttling etc. is quite high on our TODO list for future items, so really interested in your feedback/requirements on this. |
Just a thought....
We have Backout Qs associated with each input node. Once in a while, due to DB/network issues, the messages are errored out and accumulate in the BO Queues. In these cases, it was desired to stop the flow (at some threshold) to avoid further BO.
I implemented it via triggers. (we are at MQ Server V6.0.2.4 and MQSI 6.0.0. .
(Note that we have our monitoring solution in place and the error handler will raise an incident at first BO, so some one will eventually look into it.
So a stopped flow in our environment will never go unnoticed.) _________________ See the marbles of the world, but never forget the drops of oil on the spoon. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
WMBDEV1 |
Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 Posts: 888 Location: UK
|
the_one wrote: |
So a stopped flow in our environment will never go unnoticed.) |
This quote has the potential to come back and bite you I feel!  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqmatt |
Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 04 Aug 2004 Posts: 1213 Location: Hursley, UK
|
zpat wrote: |
I seem to remember that this is a simple XML message sent to the broker from the CM, just capture one and emulate it. |
Do not do this; use the CMP or one of the supplied commands instead.
Anything involving putting XML to administration queues has the potential to break your broker - either there and then, or when you apply future service. And you certainly won't be supported by IBM in doing this. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|