Author |
Message
|
smdavies99 |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:40 am Post subject: problem with crtmqm on V7.0.1 |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
I've just upodated a Windows Server 2003 system to V7.0.1.
A script that has worked fine since V5.3 CSD08 now fails miserably. After some testing, it is down to supplying EITHER the -ld or the -md options. For example:-
Code: |
D:\tmp>dspmqver
Name: WebSphere MQ
Version: 7.0.1.0
CMVC level: p000-L090813
BuildType: IKAP - (Production)
D:\wmq\tmp>dspmq
D:\wmq\tmp>set QM=TESTQM1
D:\wmq\tmp>set LFS=2048
D:\wmq\tmp>set mqlogpath=e:\mqlogs
D:\wmq\tmp>if NOT EXIST e:\mqlogs mkdir e:\mqlogs
D:\wmq\tmp>echo "Hello World" 1>e:\mqlogs\hello.txt
D:\wmq\tmp>dir e:\mqlogs
Volume in drive E is ReleaseStuf
Volume Serial Number is E88F-1647
Directory of e:\mqlogs
12/11/2009 11:24 <DIR> .
12/11/2009 11:24 <DIR> ..
12/11/2009 11:25 16 hello.txt
1 File(s) 16 bytes
2 Dir(s) 10,887,094,272 bytes free
D:\wmq\tmp>crtmqm -lc -lp 10 -ls 10 -lf 2048 -ld e:\mqlogs TESTQM1
AMQ6239: Permission denied attempting to access filesystem location 'e:\mqlogs'.
AMQ7077: You are not authorized to perform the requested operation.
D:\wmq\tmp>set QM=TESTQM2
D:\wmq\tmp>set mqqueuepath=e:\mqdata
D:\wmq\tmp>if NOT EXIST e:\mqlogs mkdir e:\mqdata
D:\wmq\tmp>echo "Hello World" 1>e:\mqdata\hello.txt
D:\wmq\tmp>dir e:\mqdata
Volume in drive E is ReleaseStuf
Volume Serial Number is E88F-1647
Directory of e:\mqdata
12/11/2009 11:24 <DIR> .
12/11/2009 11:24 <DIR> ..
12/11/2009 11:25 16 hello.txt
1 File(s) 16 bytes
2 Dir(s) 10,887,094,272 bytes free
D:\wmq\tmp>crtmqm -lc -lp 10 -ls 10 -lf 2048 -md e:\mqdata TESTQM2
AMQ6239: Permission denied attempting to access filesystem location 'e:\mqdata'.
AMQ7077: You are not authorized to perform the requested operation.
D:\wmq\tmp>set QM=TESTQM3
D:\wmq\tmp>crtmqm -ld e:\mqdata TESTQM3
AMQ6239: Permission denied attempting to access filesystem location 'e:\mqdata'.
AMQ7077: You are not authorized to perform the requested operation.
D:\wmq\tmp>set QM=TESTQM4
D:\wmq\tmp>crtmqm TESTQM4
WebSphere MQ queue manager created.
Directory 'D:\IBM\WMQ\qmgrs\TESTQM4' created.
Creating or replacing default objects for TESTQM4.
Default objects statistics : 68 created. 0 replaced. 0 failed.
Completing setup.
Setup completed.
D:\wmq\tmp>dspmq
QMNAME(TESTQM4) STATUS(Ended immediate
ly)
D:\wmq\tmp>
|
Creating a QM with the default locations for the LOGS & Q files works fine. If either or both of these are specified then it fails. As the output show above indicates, I can write to the relevant log or queue directories.
Running the same command (with path changes) works fine on Linux (RHEL 5.4)
Any ideas? _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
have you tried putting quotes around the 'e:\mqdata' or "e:\mqdata" ? _________________ Michael
MQSystems Facebook page |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Michael Dag wrote: |
have you tried putting quotes around the 'e:\mqdata' or "e:\mqdata" ? |
Yep. Makes no difference.
Code: |
crtmqm -ld 'e:\mqlogs' TESTQM3
AMQ6239: Permission denied attempting to access filesystem location 'e:\mqlogs'.
AMQ7077: You are not authorized to perform the requested operation.
|
Double quotes gives the same result. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
It also happens on XP Pro... _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
And you've confirmed that there's no reason you're not actually authorized to that disk store? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
The user I'm running the command under is a local admin, a memeber of the MQM Group (otherwise I couldn't create a QM using the default locs) and the server is not in a doman.
What else have I missed? _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Jeff,
I tried it too (Win XP Pro as stated above), and I'm an administrator - same result.
To check that it wasn't a problem writing to the root of the drive (hey, it's Windows after all) but the same issue arose when a sub-directory was specified.
EDIT: Same issue if done through MQExplorer... _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
It sounds like someone needs to open a PMR.
But there are any number of manky windows reasons why linking to a separate file system could cause this kind of issue even if there's nominally "full permissions".
Try it with a separate location on the same file system as WMQ is installed. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Interestingly, the Info Centre cites this:
Which sort of implies that it shouldn't happen on Windows  _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Quote: |
But there are any number of manky windows reasons |
IMHO, that just about sums up Windows in a nutshell HeHe
The directory e:\mqlogs on this system has been used to hold the logfiles for QM's created with V6 from 6.0.0.0 to 6.0.2.5 without problem. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
mqjeff wrote: |
...Try it with a separate location on the same file system as WMQ is installed. |
I did...works fine when it's within the install path, just not outside of it.
smdavies99, I'm not sure this is Windows issue so much as something that has changed within WMQ. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Last edited by exerk on Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:35 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Right, but particularly with multi-instance qmgrs, the things that are being done with those file systems is a bit different in v7.0.1.
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
exerk wrote: |
mqjeff wrote: |
...Try it with a separate location on the same file system as WMQ is installed. |
I did...works fine when it's within the install path, just not outside of it. |
I'll back that up. using d:\mqlogs (d: is the homedrive for Windows in this config) gives the same errors.
The script I originally used was developed for a customer who ran WMQ (& Broker) in an MSCS configuration. I was just running the script on the new version of WMQ and got a big surprise when it didn't work due to the -ld bit failing.
Then I tried a few more things as shown in my original post. The user can write to the directories used in the -ld & -md command options. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
As a test, I explicitly set permissions on two different folders, and all went swimmingly.
It would appear (speculation), as mqjeff has alluded to, that WMQ V7.0.1 only gives explicit permission to its install path and anywhere else has to be granted manually, and the Info Centre does confirm this.
Quote: |
User ID mqm and group mqm must have full authorities to the log files. If you change the locations of these files, you must give these authorities yourself. This occurs automatically if the log files are in their default locations. |
I'd prefer to see something a bit more explicit, especially as I missed it the first time I glanced over it, and in a Windows context could easily be misinterpreted to apply only to UNIX.
What effect the change of location may have on multi-instance queue managers I have yet to determine, but I would expect no effect provided the conditions required for that type of queue manager are met. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Quote: |
As a test, I explicitly set permissions on two different folders, and all went swimmingly. |
AS the docs seems to be a bit deficient here wrt. Windows what did you do?
I tried giving everyone full access to the e:\mqlogs directory but it didn't work for me. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|