ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » MQ: Get large message using JMS

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 MQ: Get large message using JMS « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
ZortHNET
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:06 am    Post subject: MQ: Get large message using JMS Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 4

How can I get large messages using JMS?

Another application send a message of 19 MB to a queue. So the queue support large messages, correct?
But when I can GET I receive this error:

MQJE001: Completion Code 2, Reason 2010
MQJMS2002: failed to get message from MQ queue

How to fix that?

In connection I set only:
hostName, queueManager, channel, port and transportType
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WMBDEV1
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 05 Mar 2009
Posts: 888
Location: UK

Check the max message length on the channel that your application is using to connect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

Quote:
Reason Code 2010 x'7DA'
MQRC_DATA_LENGTH_ERROR

The DataLength parameter is not valid. Either the parameter pointer is not valid, or it points to read-only storage. (It is not always possible to detect parameter pointers that are not valid; if not detected, unpredictable results occur.) This reason can also be returned to an MQ client program on the MQGET, MQPUT, or MQPUT1 call, if the BufferLength parameter exceeds the maximum message size that was negotiated for the client channel.

Corrective action: Correct the parameter. If the error occurs for a WebSphere MQ client program, also check that the maximum message size for the channel is big enough to accommodate the message being sent; if it is not big enough, increase the maximum message size for the channel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZortHNET
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 4

zpat wrote:
Quote:
Reason Code 2010 x'7DA'
MQRC_DATA_LENGTH_ERROR

The DataLength parameter is not valid. Either the parameter pointer is not valid, or it points to read-only storage. (It is not always possible to detect parameter pointers that are not valid; if not detected, unpredictable results occur.) This reason can also be returned to an MQ client program on the MQGET, MQPUT, or MQPUT1 call, if the BufferLength parameter exceeds the maximum message size that was negotiated for the client channel.

Corrective action: Correct the parameter. If the error occurs for a WebSphere MQ client program, also check that the maximum message size for the channel is big enough to accommodate the message being sent; if it is not big enough, increase the maximum message size for the channel.


Zpat, I believe that JMS don't have DataLength and BufferLength parameters. Only MQ Client.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZortHNET
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 4

WMBDEV1 wrote:
Check the max message length on the channel that your application is using to connect.


Ok, but another application already sent a message of 19 MB to the MQ.
Nevertheless MQ settings may not be ok?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

ZortHNET wrote:
WMBDEV1 wrote:
Check the max message length on the channel that your application is using to connect.


Ok, but another application already sent a message of 19 MB to the MQ.
Nevertheless MQ settings may not be ok?


If they're using a different set of objects that have been correctly configured to accept 19MB messages then yes it will work for them. So as my most worthy associate points out, check the max message length you are using.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZortHNET
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 4

How can I check that?
What parameters?

obs: the other application use MQ Client to sent 19 MB to a queue and I must read using JMS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

ZortHNET wrote:
How can I check that?


Use the administration interface, or ask the MQ admin to do it.

ZortHNET wrote:
What parameters?


MaxMessageLength as you've been told before

ZortHNET wrote:
obs: the other application use MQ Client to sent 19 MB to a queue and I must read using JMS.


Is your JMS application using a client connection like the other application? There's no difference between a C application and a Java application using a client connection. Like there's no difference between the 2 languages using a server connection. It's just about coding.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Vitor wrote:
Is your JMS application using a client connection like the other application? There's no difference between a C application and a Java application using a client connection. Like there's no difference between the 2 languages using a server connection. It's just about coding.

Not quite. Java does not use the MQSERVER environment variable.
You specify the channel directly. If you use JMS you may have to use a channel table to get a channel of suitable size.

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

fjb_saper wrote:
Not quite. Java does not use the MQSERVER environment variable.
You specify the channel directly. If you use JMS you may have to use a channel table to get a channel of suitable size.


Granted, but my point was there's no difference to the software. You may have to code differently to obtain the objects.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » MQ: Get large message using JMS
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.